Reviews for River Inn Resort

Brownville, Nebraska

50 Reviews for River Inn Resort
Average rating
Write a review for River Inn Resort

 Great experience

Review by Gary on 5/12/24, 9:19 AM

This is our 4th time staying at River Inn. The most relaxing, peaceful place! The rooms are so clean and comfortable. Food is amazing and the staff is wonderful . If you haven't checked it out, you should. We will be going again, this time taking some family with us!

 Riverboat Inn

Review by BNL on 4/29/24, 11:21 AM

My first murder mystery dinner and the cast was awesome, the food was outstanding, the staff was the best you could hope for, the rooms beautiful and comfortable, and the entire experience was so great, we booked two more stays for this year!

 Murder Mystery/Room

Review by Kim on 4/28/24, 6:53 AM

1st time, staff are very nice, friendly. Rooms clean. Beds comfortable

 So Peaceful

Review by Rubyred on 4/20/24, 9:54 AM

I loved staying at the River Inn Resort at Brownville Nebraska. It is so peaceful to just be able to sit and watch the river flow by. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. So enjoyed watching the sunrise over the river out my window. Breakfast was great. And the employees are wonderfully friendly. Enjoyed breakfast with a couple that was going to Indian cave state park for the first time and also touring Brownville for the first time. Love both those places I'm glad so many others are enjoying them.

 Felt like home

Review by KC on 3/16/24, 6:03 AM

It felt like home... If we lived on the river! Room was clean and comfortable. The highlight was the unique location and the friendly staff! We will stay again!

 Fantastic

Review by Experience  on 3/10/24, 12:36 PM

This was our guest time enjoying the Mystery dinner theater. I can't wait for the next one! We had an exceptional time. The Inn is so cozy and comfortable. I was in love with the food. That cook has got the roast beef DOWN!! 😋😋😋😋😋 I was just in awe of all the extras. Thank you for an amazing time.

 Fantastic

Review by Experience  on 3/10/24, 12:36 PM

This was our guest time enjoying the Mystery dinner theater. I can't wait for the next one! We had an exceptional time. The Inn is so cozy and comfortable. I was in love with the food. That cook has got the roast beef DOWN!! 😋😋😋😋😋 I was just in awe of all the extras. Thank you for an amazing time.

 A gem

Review by Lori on 3/10/24, 9:33 AM

We had wanted to stay at the River Inn Resort and at the advise of the Inn keeper we decided to stay the night of the murder mystery show. Great time! The interior of the hotel and rooms are well maintained, clean and very comfortable. The hotel manager was welcoming and accommodating. We are looking forward to a future stay!!!

 Overnight Escape

Review by George on 11/19/23, 10:48 PM

We had a very nice experience, again. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Our room was very clean. Breakfast was good. It makes a perfect quiet getaway when visiting friends in the area. Thank you for making it such an enjoyable stay.

 Mr

Review by Perry on 11/11/23, 6:07 PM

Fun place to stay after a show in town. Good breakfast and super friendly staff.

 Unique Experience

Review by Shirley  on 11/11/23, 8:11 AM

Truly unique and enjoyable experience! Our room was very clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly and knowledgeable. Plan to visit again when the dinner cruise is available. Highly recommend visiting Brownville and the River Inn!

  fall break of relax

Review by Boots and Mike on 11/6/23, 8:30 PM

We have had a full and challenging few weeks. So a night away and some fall touring was in order We were able to enjoy the river, the reconnecting with the family of a client. Thanks

Response From River Inn Resort on 11/7/23, 10:53 PM

Just what the Dr ordered! Thank you for coming to the River Inn!

 Great place for a get away

Review by Jessica on 11/5/23, 10:05 AM

We took our 13 year old for her birthday, at her request. The stay was awesome. The owners were so sweet to our kid. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast is still being talked about as one of the best meals away from home we have ever had. They had bacon, eggs, sausage, biscuits, potatoes, coffee, juice and fruit. We were about 15 mins from home, but we felt worlds away. The inn was so relaxing and just what we needed. We will be back.

Response From River Inn Resort on 11/5/23, 10:23 AM

We are so glad that your daughter chose us for her 13th Birthday! And you know that you can come over anytime for breakfast! Just call us the day before and we will be happy to make you breakfast!

 Great place for a get away

Review by Jessica on 11/5/23, 10:05 AM

We took our 13 year old for her birthday, at her request. The stay was awesome. The owners were so sweet to our kid. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast is still being talked about as one of the best meals away from home we have ever had. They had bacon, eggs, sausage, biscuits, potatoes, coffee, juice and fruit. We were about 15 mins from home, but we felt worlds away. The inn was so relaxing and just what we needed. We will be back.

 Wonderfully relaxing experience

Review by John on 10/31/23, 10:19 AM

This was a wonderful Birthday celebration spot. Not only was the staff friendly and helpful, the room was beautiful and the evening was relaxing. When we woke up in the morning the scenery was exquisite and the river gave us first hand views of the beauty of Nebraska. The breakfast that was served was very generous and delicious. It offered a variety to options for any appetite. I look forward to visiting again in the future.

Response From River Inn Resort on 11/2/23, 4:37 PM

So glad you stayed with us to celebrate your birthday..!!

 Enjoyment

Review by Chuck on 10/21/23, 11:07 AM

Great night's sleep and breakfast. The breakfast server was the same person we saw in the Brownville Theater play the night before. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Response From River Inn Resort on 10/22/23, 12:07 PM

Mrs. Pierson says hello!!!!!! That was me Chuck! So glad you had a good time!!!

 Stay at River Resort

Review by Roster Ron  on 10/5/23, 1:36 PM

It’s the third time my wife and I have stayed there. We enjoyed it every time and the breakfast was delicious as usual.We just loved sitting on the deck watching the river float by at night and morning before and after breakfast.

Response From River Inn Resort on 10/6/23, 8:39 AM

River is so calming, isn't it? Nothing better to relax from life's day to day hustle and Bussel!

 Relaxing Stay In Brownville (Part II)

Review by Brad on 10/1/23, 3:49 PM

Per my Part I review entitled the same, we rated our stay 4 Stars -- unsure of why it defaulted to 5-Stars? Regardless, very worth a visit.

Response From River Inn Resort on 10/3/23, 7:01 PM

4 stars are highlighted. Not 5. So it did give the correct rate. Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!

 Relaxing Stay In Brownville

Review by Brad on 10/1/23, 3:45 PM

Thanks to a very late cancellation, my wife and I secured a guestroom at the River Inn Resort en route to a family function in Omaha, NE -- and we were thankful we did! Suffice it to say, that few places we have stayed at over the years were as relaxing as the river boat! While the boat remains in need of additional work on the top deck (great views as the sun sets and rises), the dining deck and the guestroom deck had been totally reworked. Of note, the guestrooms were stylish, cozy, and comfortable! Our guestroom was on the river side of the boat -- as such, we took full advantage of the adirondack chairs immediately outside our guestroom to just sit and relax and watch the river go by! Aside of the sound of the river, the starlit sky, and an occasional coyote howling in the distance, so, so relaxing! To cap off our stay, the breakfast of biscuits & gravy was tasty and filling. The only two minor issues we encountered on our stay was low water pressure in the shower and, when turning on the heat to take the chill out of the air, a foul hot odor that set off the smoke detector (we were visited in the morning by staff to address this issue). Overall, great, relaxing stay at a unique inn found by happenchance on the internet and at which we were thankful for the recent cancellation!

 Stay

Review by Millers on 9/17/23, 10:16 AM

James, Lisa, their kids and staff are amazing. My family and I had a great time. My youngest still talks about James taking him on the boat and showing him all the controls on the boat. Breakfast was outstanding. Lisa did an amazing job. If you left hungry, that's your own fault. I was stuffed after breakfast. The dinner buffet on the dinner cruise was outstanding as well. The dinner cruise staff was all amazing. They take care of their customers. We look forward to going back up there and staying again.

Response From River Inn Resort on 9/17/23, 1:29 PM

Thank you so much!!! We try very hard to treat all of our guests like family!!! Our staff is WONDERFUL !!! So blessed to have them with us!

 Wonderful view!

Review by Virginia Travelers on 9/15/23, 7:42 PM

This was one of the more interesting places we have stayed. The inn is actually a former floating casino which is anchored along the Missouri River. Our room was very clean. The view from our room was beautiful. The breakfast was outstanding. The owners were very friendly and knowledgeable.

Response From River Inn Resort on 9/16/23, 11:02 AM

So glad you had a good time! I must correct you though... The inn was a casino docking barge. Not a casino. But we love her just the same.. Hope to see you again soon!

 Still disappointed

Review by CB on 9/2/23, 9:40 AM

The stars on my review reverted to 5. This was not a 5 star experience

 Disappointed

Review by CB on 9/2/23, 9:38 AM

We have stayed at the River Inn before and had a great experience. This time, we reserved the executive suite and my parents reserved the handicapped suite. It was our wedding anniversary and wanted to do something with family. When checking in, we were both told that the air conditioning was not working in either of these rooms. So we were moved to rooms that were over 85 degrees because the air was just turned on 20 minutes prior to our arrival. My parents are in their 80’s and with the heat index as high as it was that day, all rooms should have had the air conditioning on whether or not someone was staying in there, just in case of what happened. By the time we retired for the night, it was still over 80 degrees in our room. Paying $230 for our stay including the river cruise, we should have at least had a comfortable room.

Response From River Inn Resort on 9/2/23, 10:59 AM

We are so sorry that that you were disappointed. With the VERY high heat wave that we all here in Nebraska had to endure during your stay, it made it very difficult to cool down the rooms. The air conditioning was working in overdrive. Just as in all hotels sometimes systems break down. Turning on air conditioning in EMPTY rooms would just drain the systems even more and sadly we did have to move you to different rooms. Addressing the STARS on your post it did rate at 3 stars not 5. We would hope that you would give us the opportunity to make things right with you. We never want to have our wonderful customers feel disappointed with our hotel or Riverboat dinner cruise. Again, we are very sorry.

 Riverboat stay

Review by Linda on 8/27/23, 8:24 AM

Great adventure. We really enjoyed our stay & breakfast.

 Fantastic Experience

Review by Steve on 8/20/23, 8:03 AM

Fantastic stay👏 The room was great as were the dinner cruise and breakfast! The employees were friendly and helpful. The UNL AstroTurf carpet was really cool too! Brownville is wonderful little town to visit. We are planning a return visit in the future👍 Thank you

Response From River Inn Resort on 8/20/23, 11:09 AM

Well Thank You Steve! So glad you were able to stay with us!!! See you soon!!!

 Kick back and relax

Review by DLH on 8/14/23, 1:49 PM

We celebrated my friend's birthday on the river with a lovely dinner cruise and spent a relaxing night on the boat at River Inn Resort. We gathered on the upper deck that evening for games until it started to sprinkle rain, then we moved our game to the lounge on the 2nd floor. The dinner cruise was so peaceful, and the food was very good! Breakfast the next morning was quite hardy and delicious, too! The hosts made sure we felt welcome and had everything we needed during our stay. They shared some of the history and recommended places to see and events to enjoy in the community of Brownville. I highly recommend the theatre in Brownville. Although I didn't get to the theatre this time, we were privileged to have some of the cast members, dressed in costume (for the Murder in Downton show) on the dinner cruise with us, which also added to our experience! My sleeping quarters on the boat were so comfy, quiet, and clean. I enjoyed sitting on the deck outside my room, listening to nature. The whole experience was magical. I am looking forward to coming back in the very near future. This would be a wonderful venue for a larger group as well and I am proposing to my family that we book our next family reunion at the River Inn Resort.

Response From River Inn Resort on 8/15/23, 11:10 AM

We love having family reunions here! Give us a call and we can plan it together!!!!

 Kick back and relax

Review by DLH on 8/14/23, 1:48 PM

We celebrated my friend's birthday on the river with a lovely dinner cruise and spent a relaxing night on the boat at River Inn Resort. We gathered on the upper deck that evening for games until it started to sprinkle rain, then we moved our game to the lounge on the 2nd floor. The dinner cruise was so peaceful, and the food was very good! Breakfast the next morning was quite hardy and delicious, too! The hosts made sure we felt welcome and had everything we needed during our stay. They shared some of the history and recommended places to see and events to enjoy in the community of Brownville. I highly recommend the theatre in Brownville. Although I didn't get to the theatre this time, we were privileged to have some of the cast members, dressed in costume (for the Murder in Downton show) on the dinner cruise with us, which also added to our experience! My sleeping quarters on the boat were so comfy, quiet, and clean. I enjoyed sitting on the deck outside my room, listening to nature. The whole experience was magical. I am looking forward to coming back in the very near future. This would be a wonderful venue for a larger group as well and I am proposing to my family that we book our next family reunion at the River Inn Resort.

 Unique experience

Review by Moonwatcher on 8/13/23, 5:34 AM

What a unique experience with hosts that are welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. This was our second visit and we are planning a third soon. This visit we also went on the dinner cruise which is well worth the cost. Really enjoyed meeting other guests and the breakfasts are delicious and well balanced. Especially liked that each room had a door to the deck. Noticed that almost all of us were watching the sunrise in quiet meditation that morning.

Response From River Inn Resort on 8/13/23, 11:33 AM

We Love the sunrise on the river too! See you soon!!!!!

 Unique experience

Review by Moonwatcher on 8/13/23, 5:34 AM

What a unique experience with hosts that are welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. This was our second visit and we are planning a third soon. This visit we also went on the dinner cruise which is well worth the cost. Really enjoyed meeting other guests and the breakfasts are delicious and well balanced. Especially liked that each room had a door to the deck. Noticed that almost all of us were watching the sunrise in quiet meditation that morning.

 Great Place

Review by NPW on 8/12/23, 10:40 AM

I had a nice time staying at the River Inn. The folks there were friendly and the room was quiet and clean, with a beautiful river view. The breakfast was fantastic. I hiked on the nearby trails and explored historic Brownville. I will be back!

Response From River Inn Resort on 8/13/23, 11:36 AM

Isn't Brownville a fantastic little Village?!!!!! We are happy you got to hike !

 Guest

Review by Traveler on 7/16/23, 3:31 PM

My wife and I shared side-by-sides riverfront rooms with my brother and his wife who drove up from KC to see a play. The rooms were very nice, the breakfast was huge, and they proprietors were super friendly. Deck could use a little dusting, but the best part was watching the river flow by. We will be back!

 Nice Place

Review by CMB on 7/13/23, 11:14 AM

Great place and good food. We will be back some time. But the bathroom floor and the deck needs to be cleaned better.

 River Inn Review

Review by Di on 7/8/23, 8:37 AM

Hospitality and customer service very good. Very nice breakfast in pleasant dining room setting. Bathroom needed more thorough cleaning in corners of floor. Tissue box only had one tissue left. Main suggestion would be to clean the outside deck. There was so much mold and dirt that one could not sit down anywhere outside to enjoy the river view. The entire exterior of the ship needed a good cleaning.

 Pennsylvania Guest

Review by Sunshine on 7/4/23, 2:19 PM

We can't say enough about this place. We arrived there around 1:15 pm, and asked for the dinner cruise, but we were a little late, but once we told them we were from Pennsylvania and wanted to stop there on our way to Nebraska they made room for us. We even stayed the night. The food was wonderful and the hospitality is out of this world. We have never had such accommodating people before. May God be with all you and your little piece of paradise. Thank you ever so much. Your guests from PA

Response From River Inn Resort on 7/5/23, 10:43 AM

We so enjoyed having you here with us! We hope that you will come see us again here in Brownville!!!!

 Pennsylvania Guest

Review by Sunshine on 7/4/23, 2:17 PM

We can't say enough about this place. We arrived there around 1:15 pm, and asked for the dinner cruise, but we were a little late, but once we told them we were from Pennsylvania and wanted to stop there on our way to Nebraska they made room for us. We even stayed the night. The food was wonderful and the hospitality is out of this world. We have never had such accommodating people before. May God be with all you and your little piece of paradise. Thank you ever so much. Your guests from PA

 Last minute check in

Review by Sunshine on 7/4/23, 2:16 PM

We can't say enough about this place. We arrived there around 1:15 pm, and asked for the dinner cruise, but we were a little late, but once we told them we were from Pennsylvania and wanted to stop there on our way to Nebraska they made room for us. We even stayed the night. The food was wonderful and the hospitality is out of this world. We have never had such accommodating people before. May God be with all you and your little piece of paradise. Thank you ever so much. Your guests from PA

 Last minute check in

Review by Sunshine on 7/4/23, 2:15 PM

We can't say enough about this place. We arrived there around 1:15 pm, and asked for the dinner cruise, but we were a little late, but once we told them we were from Pennsylvania and wanted to stop there on our way to Nebraska they made room for us. We even stayed the night. The food was wonderful and the hospitality is out of this world. We have never had such accommodating people before. May God be with all you and your little piece of paradise. Thank you ever so much. Your guests from PA

 Ms

Review by RKR  on 7/1/23, 4:49 PM

This is a wonderful treasure - a cute, clean - room on a boat. It doesn’t get any better then that. Can’t wait to come again! Thanks for everything!

Response From River Inn Resort on 7/2/23, 11:50 AM

Makes us so happy that you enjoyed your stay!!!! And you are right... Nothing better than the boat!! See you soon we hope!

 Perfect

Review by Boone  on 6/30/23, 8:50 AM

I love this place! Makes me feel like I'm at home! My blood pressure goes down when I Stay there! People that run the boat are top notch!

Response From River Inn Resort on 6/30/23, 10:50 AM

We are so glad that you love coming here!! We try very hard to make all our guests feel at HOME !. See you again soon!

 Perfect

Review by Boone  on 6/30/23, 8:49 AM

I love this place! Makes me feel like I'm at home! My blood pressure goes down when I Stay there! People that run the boat are top notch!

 Great little getaway

Review by First timers on 6/25/23, 7:14 AM

This was our first visit to the Inn. It wasn't really what we were expecting, but such a happy surprise. If you are looking for a low key, out of the way place to go relax, this is your stop! The owners and staff were so nice and helpful. Breakfast was awesome and you got a chance to visit with other guests. Then there was the dinner cruise. Such a great way to end the evening. Dinner and a leisurely ride up and back the river. I really liked that this was a small enough place not to feel crowded and overwhelmed with lots of other people. We had such a nice time. We will be back and do recommend it. Thank you all for your hospitality.

Response From River Inn Resort on 6/25/23, 5:03 PM

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again real soon!!!!!

 Special

Review by Pam on 2/22/23, 4:02 PM

My husband and I stayed the night before our anniversary. When we opened the door to our room and walked in, I couldn't believe my eyes! There was a long stem rose, rose petals, a heart shaped box of candy, and a beautiful note wish us a happy anniversary that had been signed by all the staff on our bed! The next morning when we got up, we went to the dining room for breakfast and it was so wonderful! They went that extra mile to make our stay very special! We will definitely be making a return trip.

Response From River Inn Resort on 2/26/23, 12:04 PM

We are so happy you choose the River Inn to spend your anniversary! We try our very best to make each of our guests feel special when they stay with us. Thank you so much . Hope to see you again soon!

 Comfy

Review by CE on 1/10/23, 9:50 PM

We stayed there on New Year's Eve and attended the New Year's Eve event with great food and fabulous music. The entire staff was very gracious and accommodating. We also very much enjoyed our interaction with some of the other guests. Breakfast was great food and company with an enjoyable view over the river complete with bald eagles. I don't think I've ever stayed in a perfect place and the minor imperfections here did not detract from the experience. The room was in great condition and very comfortable. Look forward to visiting again when able to enjoy more of the river ambiance.

 Comfy

Review by CE on 1/10/23, 9:48 PM

We stayed there on New Year's Eve and attended the New Year's Eve event with great food and fabulous music. The entire staff was very gracious and accommodating. We also very much enjoyed our interaction with some of the other guests. Breakfast was great food and company with an enjoyable view over the river complete with bald eagles. I don't think I've ever stayed in a perfect place and the minor imperfections here did not detract from the experience. The room was in great condition and very comfortable. Look forward to visiting again when able to enjoy more of the river ambiance.

 1 night stay for Christmas concert.

Review by John on 12/20/22, 2:44 PM

We stayed on a Saturday night to be in town for the Brownville Christmas concert. We arrived about 4, check in was fast and easy. Coffee, tv, and frig in room. Bathroom was good size, room a little small but manageable. Breakfast in the morning was home cooked and plenty of it. Very nice stay, staff and owners very nice! I look forward to staying again!

 River Inn is Awesome

Review by Peaches on 12/19/22, 11:11 AM

We stay at the River Inn any time we go the Brownville Concert Series shows, and we look forward to our stay every time no matter what season. Even on a cold day, it is fun to watch the river. The rooms are always neat and clean, the check-in is friendly and they are ready to assist with anything you might need. We don't usually make it up for breakfast, but have always heard it is a wonderful meal. This time (December), the river had dropped quite a bit, so we were sitting lower and couldn't see over the breakwater, which was interesting. Stepped out on the deck in the morning, and there was hoar frost for most of the way back to KC. It was a beautiful wintry scene! Definitely reccomend the River Inn and it would be a great place for a family reunion or gathering.

 River Inn Resort

Review by Reggi on 12/17/22, 1:24 PM

We did not know what to expect, considering our stay was in the month of December. But we were delighted! We were the only visitors that day and evening. Our host made us feel special and pampered. The room and bed were very comfortable. The weather was cold and cloudy, but the hospitality was so warm, we didn't notice. Breakfast was delicious, and served in lovely fashion, matching the holiday decor in the dining room. Brownville is a small mecca for arts and performance. The River Inn Resort is just as surprisingly perfect in every way.

 Always enjoy our stay

Review by Tim on 11/25/22, 2:55 PM

Another excellent get-away trip for my wife and I. We enjoy floating on the river and seeing the change of the river during the seasons. It was too cold this trip to play scrabble out on the deck (river side) watching the river flow by us.

 Unique setting

Review by Moongazer on 11/15/22, 5:36 AM

Can't tell you now how we found this place just in time for the lunar eclipse, but luckily for us we did! Had there been clear skies all night it would have been perfect. But, our room was comfortable and accessible, accommodating our devices. Watched the sunrise in the lovely dining room followed by a full breakfast with the best muffins. Already planning our next trip. Sleeping on the Missouri River was a unique experience, that I would highly recommend to anyone.

Response From River Inn Resort on 11/15/22, 12:50 PM

We are so glad that you DID FIND US! We so enjoyed having you stay with us! The Lunar eclipse was wonderful to see as I told you at 6:30 am with my morning coffee on the news! Tee hee hee. Hope to see you again real soon!!!!

 Nice accomodations

Review by HikerRogers on 10/30/22, 9:23 PM

We stayed here overnight after hiking around Indian Cave State Park because it was fairly close about a 10 min drive north of the park. Brownville is an art town with lots to do, but lacks a good eating place. You can drive over the river about 5 minutes to Missouri to have a couple of choices. Rooms were in great condition and had a neat view of the river if you stay on that side of the boat. Offer a nice breakfast in the morning. Popcorn and a movie area available and nice to walk around the boat. Would stay here again.