Reviews for Touchstone Inn

Taos, New Mexico

 Run away quickly

Review by Bdub on 4/29/22, 7:09 PM

This place is awful - it was dirty, the grounds were unkept and the parking lot looked like a used car lot and we were the only guests. Stay anyplace else.

 Disappointing Stay

Review by NikkiW on 1/4/22, 9:33 AM

This hotel does not resemble the images on its website, AT ALL! It has alot of potential but is in desperate need of updates. We did not receive any check in instructions and there is NO clear signs on where to go or who to call upon arrival. We were not the only ones as others asked us for help in the parking lot as we crossed paths. The bathroom is beautiful, BUT toilet room was VERY tight, am I am not a big person. The room needs deeper cleaning and general maintenance. And there is some sort of central heating system controlled by others, so we were in a sweat box the entire time. It was WAY too hot at night. The tv didn't work and wifi reception was poor. The "fold out" couches for my kids were OLD and worn. The outside grounds need basic grass cutting, weed pulling, and cleaning up. The lighting was bad as well, didn't feel very safe at night. Having booked this based on images from the website and apparently very old reviews, it was quite disappointing. We would have booked something else for the 2nd night if available, but nothing was...

 1 Star tells the story

Review by World Traveler on 11/13/21, 7:43 PM

No reliable internet. Worn/dirty furnishings Linens didn't match - including towels Multiple day stay - NO maid service offered or provided. Coffee maker in the bathroom but no coffee/cream/sugar - really, the bathroom! Price v amenities was a poor value. Website information does not tell the real story.

 Sadly disappointed

Review by Amanda on 10/30/21, 5:05 PM

We booked two nights at the Touchstone Inn in what was advertised as the "sumptuous suite" but we were sadly disappointed. The furnishings were weathered and worn, the suite had not been cleaned recently and there were absolutely no amenities. The "one mile walk to the plaza" was along a very busy street which was dangerous to navigate. There was no one to talk to as the "concierge" didn't return phone calls. This certainly didn't measure up to its advertisement and it was expensive to boot. We had to pay-in-full in advance, a questionable business practice in lieu of the product provided. Never again!

 Not what it seems

Review by Mountain Climber on 9/27/21, 10:19 AM

This facility barely resembles the images on its website. In our case, the sliding glass door, which is the entrance to the room is dysfunctional and the locking mechanism provides little security. The room desperately needs upgrading, deep cleaning and general maintenance. The tv cable cord doesn’t reach the tv, wifi reception was poor. The outside grounds need basic grass cutting, weed pulling, and cleaning up. There are several full time residents in this small “inn.” One has a pickup truck that apparently needs to be started, revved and moved every thirty minutes or so. Having booked this based on images from the website and apparently very old reviews, it was quite disappointing.

 Not what it seems

Review by Mountain Climber on 9/27/21, 10:19 AM

This facility barely resembles the images on its website. In our case, the sliding glass door, which is the entrance to the room is dysfunctional and the locking mechanism provides little security. The room desperately needs upgrading, deep cleaning and general maintenance. The tv cable cord doesn’t reach the tv, wifi reception was poor. The outside grounds need basic grass cutting, weed pulling, and cleaning up. There are several full time residents in this small “inn.” One has a pickup truck that apparently needs to be started, revved and moved every thirty minutes or so. Having booked this based on images from the website and apparently very old reviews, it was quite disappointing.

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:38 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:38 AM

!S!WCRTESTINPUT000003%3c%3e!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:37 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001%3c%3e!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:37 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000%3c%3e!E! on 11/20/19, 7:37 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:37 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!' and '7'='2

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:37 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!' and '7'='7

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:37 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:37 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999' or '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:37 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999' or '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:37 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999 or 7=2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:37 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999 or 7=7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:37 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1' and '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:36 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1' and '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:36 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1 and 7=2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:36 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1 and 7=7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:36 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!' and '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:36 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!' and '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:36 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999' or '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:36 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999' or '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:36 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999 or 7=2 on 11/20/19, 7:36 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999 or 7=7 on 11/20/19, 7:35 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1' and '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:35 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1' and '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:35 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1 and 7=2 on 11/20/19, 7:35 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1 and 7=7 on 11/20/19, 7:35 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E!' and '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:35 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E!' and '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:35 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:35 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:35 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:35 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:35 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:35 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 Good for quaint experience on upper-middle budget or higher

Review by CB on 1/5/19, 1:09 PM

Even though I did not sleep well, this place gets 4 stars because it is run by REAL PEOPLE, directly. What a breath of fresh air to send an email or text and get a quick response from a human being! And these people are really chill, too - perfect constitution for dealing with tourists. BTW, I think my husband slept really well the whole time, and by the third night I slept pretty well. After the first night, during which I was woken up about 12 times, every time the thermostat kicked on the heat in our room, I turned the thermostat down about 5 degrees, then I was only woken up about 4 times the second night. The place is quaint, but I love historical places, so I was fine with everything that comes with an old hacienda that's been jerry-rigged/brought up to spec to be a hotel. However, I will only come back if I have a bigger budget and can stay in one of the more expensive rooms on the ground floor. I understand the Taos hospitality market, and that business people have to charge a certain amount to stay in business, but our room (the Cielo) was overpriced for its size. I hope the feedback is helpful - thanks, Touchstone Inn!

 Nice Respite

Review by Jill on 8/23/18, 3:42 PM

Bed was so uncomfortable I had no sleep at all first night. Bren moved us to Royale Suite, for the next two nights, and we slept much better. Peaceful place for respite. Joyful, the housekeeper was amazing and very sweet and helpful.

 Charming and quaint!

Review by Zen on 7/28/16, 8:46 AM

We stayed in the Frida Kahlo room. The room was clean and very cozy! The patio overlooked the beautiful grounds. I would definitely recommend Touchstone to everyone looking for a true touch of Taos! Thank you Bryn, for being so cordial! We love Taos and will definitely stay at your amazing Inn on our next visit! Peace always!

 The Tony

Review by Matt on 10/31/15, 10:31 AM

I think that a lot of people get confused at what to expect in Taos. I heard a group of New Yorkers complaining about the wait at restaurants, and the quality of inns. I think the touchstone inn describes it self perfectly in its description. The rooms are a bit small, but they are homey, and unique; if you want a cookie cutter motel, go stay down in the downtown motel 6. The draw to this place that it is set back from the downtown area, other reviewers complained that it was hard to find, I like that! Here are the few complaints my pregnant lady and I had. 1) out bed was a little uncomfortable, and 2) there was no internet in our room. That's pretty much it. The staff is kind.

 A Home Away from Home

Review by Donna B. on 6/15/14, 8:51 AM

Upon arriving at Touchstone Inn, I felt an immediate sense of welcome normally reserved for good friends. A note of welcome with our names was pinned to the front door and it wasn’t long before Bren Price, the owner, came out of her art studio to greet us. She walked us through the Inn and grounds, that reflected decades of her own artwork and collecting of Southwestern style furnishings, often displayed in a way that created intimate corners for visiting and dining. And as she left us at our suite, she casually mentioned that we could give her the paperwork required for check in the following morning. This set the tone for the whole visit, whether she and her friendly young kitchen staff were asking us about any food allergies, or we were enjoying her library with soft music playing in the background. The breakfasts were masterpieces that matched the art: fun and infused with creativity. We actually visited Taos, so we could stay at Touchstone. I saw it years ago and never forgot its quirky, unexpected character as a shady oasis, tucked down a magical little alleyway. Now I dream of returning again with a circle of friends to do an art workshop, or even for a special family event. With Bren’s attention to every detail, the uniqueness and warmth of the decorating, the delicious breakfasts and the convenient location, I can’t think of a better home away from home.

 Super Duper

Review by Tina on 9/9/13, 8:17 AM

My boyfriend and I had a really relaxing and lovely stay at the Touchstone Inn. It was quiet, secluded and really beautiful both inside and out. We stayed in The Frieda and spent a good deal of time in the jacuzzi tub. The view from our deck was gorgeous. We will definitely be back.

 Very, very lovely stay

Review by basil on 9/9/13, 7:24 AM

We had the run of the Inn and did not see anyone else during our four day stay. It was wonderful to use the living room and read up on Mabel Dodge. The SW theme was new to us and the adobe building kept us comfortably cool without air conditioning. We recommend this Inn highly for a relaxing stay in Taos!

 Hands down best value for your money

Review by Gaby on 7/19/13, 12:33 PM

Beautiful, tucked away location, gorgeous and very comfortable rooms made for a wonderful stay for a couple nights. Brad, the innkeeper and chef, was wonderful, and obviously an excellent chef. We couldn't pick what our favorite part of our stay was: the breakfast, our lovely room, or the inn itself. Your stay will be worth every penny.

 Excellent stay

Review by Rachel and Gary on 6/2/13, 12:37 PM

We stayed here for our wedding. It was excellent and perfect. Brad and Amber handled everything for us and made our stay warm and wonderful. We highly recommend others to stay here as well. It's nice and quiet and warming. The breakfasts were awesome as well. They are such wonderful people. We will return for our one year anniversary!!

 Nice place

Review by broccolichip on 3/13/13, 3:55 PM

Very cozy and nice little B&B. Conveniently located right in town but feels out of the way. Very laid back with area to relax and read. All day coffee and tea service. Good, interesting food and beautiful dining area. Nice owners.