Reviews for Chewonki's Big Eddy Campground

Millinocket, Maine

 Great place

Review by Eric  on 10/4/21, 6:57 PM

The entire campground is always very neat, clean and obviously well looked after. Very few of the campgrounds I frequent are as welcoming as this one.

 A small piece of heaven off the grid!

Review by Kelly on 8/24/21, 12:28 PM

I have been visiting Big Eddy Campground for the past 7 years and have never been disappointed. Sarah and her staff are super friendly and accommodating. Waterside tent sites are where my friends and our dogs stay each year for peaceful camping as well as some first class fly fishing! The allure of this place is no cell service, being disconnected out in nature, and being truly relaxed! Big Eddy is a true off the grid getaway that is totally worth the drive every year for us!

 August Getaway

Review by Jimbo on 8/20/21, 5:38 PM

This was was my 3rd stay at Big Eddy over the last 16 years and I had a wonderful time. The sound of the West Branch lulled me to sleep every night and I'm still thinking about the salmon that busted me off on 2x in the Big Eddy.

 Magical Place

Review by Sue on 8/14/21, 5:31 AM

We spent two nights at Big Eddy with family and friends in the group site. Sara and Julie were great hosts. The site was clean and spacious and gave us privacy for a larger group. It was so nice to be able to take a shower after a day of hiking.

 Great campground

Review by Randy on 6/29/21, 3:55 PM

Well managed and maintained campground. Staff were friendly and helpful.

 Solstice Weekend

Review by Steve on 6/25/21, 6:23 AM

As always my trip to the Big Eddy Campground was fantastic. You will be hard pressed to find a better run campground any place. It has all the amenities you could want from a remote campground. The staff is always so helpful with a smile on their face. It is clearly run by a staff who loves to be there and enjoys what they do and it shows. The campsites are immaculate and raked/cleaned when you arrive, They have firewood, fresh drinking water and the privy's are clean, and always well stocked with TP and hand sanitizer. All you could want in a privy... as those things go. I go for the fly fishing in June mostly but have been in September as well. I have had some slow days, and some days that will live on my PR list where the fishing has been so hot it doesn't seem real. 15-20 salmon on dry flies... Add to the fact that you are in a remote beautiful wilderness and Big Eddy is as good a campground as one could ask for. I can't wait to go back.

 Big Eddy

Review by Josh on 6/16/21, 7:46 AM

I've been camping my whole life and can say without hesitation this is by far my favorite summer campground. The staff is very friendly, each wild side site differs enough to make you want to try them all out, and the others guests tend to be very respectful, quiet, and friendly. I go to Big Eddy 4-5 times a summer to flyfish and the camp provides access to numerous great spots both right out the front door (or tent flap) or within a 5 minute drive. I highly recommend Chewonki's Big Eddy Campground to any and all!

 Tough road but worth the ride!

Review by Mike on 5/31/21, 8:28 AM

The campground was awesome and we really enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for luxury camping this is not the place but it you want to be away from it all this is definitely the spot. The staff were friendly and happy to answer any questions. The privies and showers were spotless. Not being from the area the directions to get there were rather vague and we were unaware of what a logging road could be like and almost tuned back a couple of times. Definitely glad we didn't!

 Great Off the grid getaway

Review by Marcy on 7/30/20, 1:19 PM

We stayed in POC 1 Cozy Cabin and it was super cute, bare bones cozy and very private. Most of the cabins and camping tent and pop area were private with a nice chunk of woods in between. Price was good per person. Fishing and boating good too. Not crowded at all even with it being more than half full. Very clean and friendly people and staff. This is for a seasoned camper or outdoorsy person as they are off the grid. So no electricity in the privys(very clean and basic). The shower house had specific hours and sometimes the light worked. But just bring your lantern or shower before 8pm and there is plenty of window light. This is such a peaceful place in the middle of the woods. We will go back.

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTINPUT000003%3c%3e!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001%3c%3e!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000%3c%3e!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!' and '7'='2

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!' and '7'='7

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999' or '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999' or '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999 or 7=2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999 or 7=7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1' and '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1' and '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1 and 7=2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1 and 7=7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!' and '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!' and '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999' or '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999' or '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999 or 7=2 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999 or 7=7 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1' and '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1' and '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1 and 7=2 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1 and 7=7 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E!' and '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E!' and '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:05 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 Corporate getaway

Review by Mandy on 8/8/19, 7:58 AM

Our company stayed at Big Eddy for a small corporate retreat and everyone had a great time. The most outstanding part to me, as the organizer, was the help Chewonki staff gave me from staff at the reservation center, to the staff at the campground. Sarah was my main contact, and all of her communications were timely and on point, answering my many questions. We were able to able to physically preview the campground and determine where our group would fit best. Staff gave us pointers on where to go locally for activities our group was interested in, and there is a lot to do near the Big Eddy from rafting to spin casting to fly fishing to moose cruising. The facilities and campground were clean, and we would do it again.

 "My little piece of heave"

Review by Robbin & Rob on 4/7/19, 8:48 AM

We have gone to The Big Eddy for the Past 2 years.I just made Reservations for this year. Funny. .my husband Rob talked me into going camping with him 2 years ago for the first time..I was really not feeling it ..But I desided that since he likes fishing..and I did go camping as a young child and enjoyed it... I figured sure ,okay..we will try it..at least that once. Well !!! when it was time to come back home I really didn't won't to.I had relaxed and felt very comfortable and really enjoyed our time there . We traveled the Golden Road and some of the side roads ,to See if we could see some wild life...deer ..moose..etc. We did see deer..we didn't see a moose but did hear that a few had been seen a few on the Golden Road in the boggy areas.We did some fishing ..swimming. Traveled to A very small town.. Kokadjo "Population Not Many" which is a beautiful spot in the Park area ..and went and watched the white water rafting ..also on the golden Road...Off of our wonderfull campsite we could go fishing, (which my husband went early in the am..and braught me 2 salmon to cook for breakfast... mmm that was very tasty. I also found time to do some reading ..quiet relaxing time for me!!!! There is canoeing and kayaking on the river with..a boat launch on the office side of The Big Eddy.!!! We really enjoyed watching the kayakers and their guides coming down the white water..in front of our campsite.!! There are open fire pits to cook on or to just enjoy a fire in the evening.And plenty of wood at the office..or pick up the fallen and dead wood to use.The coffee porch at the office, for that wake up cup and great conversation or just to relax and read. Is awesome as well !!!- A n outdoors stone pizza oven fireplace on the office side property if you want pizza outdoors.. We find that the prices to stay at The Big Eddy are very reasonable..and easy to reach for anyone that wants a very enjoyable ,inexpensive commune with nature get away.!!!!! As For the Staff...on a scale from 1-10, I would give them a 12..lol..they are awesome and very pleasant..very knowledgeable about the area and very helpful.Could not ever ask for better hosts... I recommend The Big Eddy Camp to Everyone..The Area as I said in my opinon is awesome and Like a. "A small piece of Heaven"!!!!!

 The cathedral of the universe

Review by Paulette on 7/6/17, 6:36 AM

Have been coming to the Big Eddy for years. A wonderful place to rest, relax and recharge your batteries. The many and varied sites are great and are completely off the grid.The staff could not be better and make every effort to ensure an enjoyable stay.

 Great staff, even better fishing

Review by Dom on 7/1/15, 1:11 PM

A few friends and have stayed at Chewonki Big Eddy Campground year after year on annual trips up from Mass to fish this amazing stretch of river. Lots of smaller brookies, a few bigger ones. Salmon very cooperative this year. All sizes. Sometimes in a cabin, mostly on a tent site. Always have a fantastic time. The tent sites offer easy access to the river with most right on it. Some of the best fishing we have had is in the campground. The staff this year was particularly helpful. Gave good fishing advice, help locating the right tent site, and even helped us with a dead battery. Can't say enough about how pleasant and helpful the staff was. Highly recommended.

 Out of your mind!!!

Review by Johnny O' on 1/21/15, 7:33 AM

If you want to experience the most fantastically peaceful and relaxing time of your life then Big Eddy is the place to be, at least it has been for me for the last 10 years +++. It's an out of your mind experience everyone should try at least once and if you have kids share it with them also. This is my first review EVER for Big Eddy and honestly that was because I was a little selfish & protective of this very special place. I didn't want the whole world to know how special this place is and overcrowd and take it over like so many other places so I kept my mouth shut. Well I finally decided to write a review. I just booked two trips again this year and decided to write a review. This will be short and sweet. Peaceful = 5 Stars - Natural Beauty = 5 Stars - Cleanliness = 5 Stars - Staff = 5 Stars - Value = 5 Stars - Bathroom/Toilets = 5 Stars (for where you are) remember you are in the boonies!! - Sites = 5 stars but some I would give a much higher rating and I'm not telling which ones... ;-) - Booking process = 5 Stars - Overall = 5 stars ++ Remember folks your are in the boonies here so if you are expecting another run of the mill campground with all the amenities then this place is NOT for you. But if you are looking for a peaceful electronic free time with your family/friends or by yourself then you have struck gold with this wonderful place. You need to plan your stay with regard to food as you will need to bring ALL your supplies with you except for possibly water. Each site has a fire ring, cooking grate and picnic bench at a min and that's it!! Some sites have running water and electric hook up but I have never stayed at one of these sites. I hope you decide to stay here as you will not be disappointed and if you bring your kids they will have a blast as mine have over the years. To simply sit around a campfire and have your kids just talk to one another and to you with no electronic distractions or to play cards or board games under a camp light is a truly magical time and one they or you will never forget.

 Another satisfied visit

Review by Happy Camper on 7/28/14, 6:55 PM

My daughter and I have been to TheBig Eddy several times, the last being about 4 years ago. This year we decided to head back up and were very happy we did. The campground has changed very little over the years. The sites are clean and well spaced, the self- composting outhouses were as clean as they could be in the middle of the woods, the shower house was well lit and clean also. We chose to hike several of the shorter trails aroundBaxter State Park and were not disappointed. We came home today and have already planned for next years trip and plan on climbing Katahdin!

 Rhode Island Visitors

Review by Allan & Heather on 8/15/13, 11:46 AM

The best peaceful getaway! Leave your radios and TV's behind and get back to enjoying nature. Of the 3 campgrounds we have stayed in the south entrance Baxter State park area, they have the best showers and bathroom facilities, hands down the best customer service, and the quiet sound of water rapids to sleep to each night. They also have a wood fired pizza oven and the best fishing around right on site. There web site could use a little work for more details (each camp site is different) however, unless they are fully booked, they will work with you to find the site that is right for you. Email seems to be the best contact option. Don, the manager, was extremely helpful and always went the extra mile to ensure our stay exceeded our expectations. If you are use to tenting or camping without hookups and your blue tooth ear piece and your tablet in front of you, you'll love this place. However, they do have limited electrical and water hookups if you need them on the RV sites. Showers are on the office side. The wild side (other side) just has out houses. This place really is a gem for nature lovers!