Reviews for Boice Cope Park

Langlois, Oregon

50 Reviews for Boice Cope Park
Average rating
Write a review for Boice Cope Park

 Nice little park

Review by Dashmore  on 6/13/24, 10:18 PM

We enjoy this quiet little park for the sunny open field in the center, the beautiful beach and the lovely lake. It’s fun to paddle on the lake and watch the windsurfers.

Response From Boice Cope Park on 6/19/24, 9:20 PM

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us,

 Boice Cope

Review by 2GirlsonaRoadTrip on 5/20/24, 2:09 PM

We tent camped two nights at this quiet, well-maintained County Park. Our reservation was for a lake-view site. Upon a later than expected arrival due to a major auto accident above Bandon, we discovered our site (#2) was barely big enough or level enough for our tents. Fortunately, the campground hosts were able to accommodate our request for another site which better met our needs for our two night stay. Be advised, the wind coming off the lake pretty much only dies down at night. Makes tent camping a bit of a challenge and quite cold during the early part of the season. We were definitely able to see why this park is a destination for wind/kite surfers! Fun and somewhat hair-raising to watch them skimming across the lake and flying through the air. All other campers around us were courteous and quiet. The womens bathroom facilities were very, very clean. There was no hot water at the sinks for washing hands or faces which was slightly disappointing after having this luxury at the multiple State Parks we visited. Definitely a safe, lovely, well-maintained park to visit but better in an RV if it's early in the season.

Response From Boice Cope Park on 6/3/24, 1:56 PM

Thanks for the review and staying with us, it was nice meeting you both. Sorry about the hot water, hopefully when we get to do some upgrades that will be one of the improvements, hope to see you again.

 Bodice Cope

Review by 2GirlsonaRoadTrip on 5/20/24, 2:09 PM

We tent camped two nights at this quiet, well-maintained County Park. Our reservation was for a lake-view site. Upon a later than expected arrival due to a major auto accident above Bandon, we discovered our site (#2) was barely big enough or level enough for our tents. Fortunately, the campground hosts were able to accommodate our request for another site which better met our needs for our two night stay. Be advised, the wind coming off the lake pretty much only dies down at night. Makes tent camping a bit of a challenge and quite cold during the early part of the season. We were definitely able to see why this park is a destination for wind/kite surfers! Fun and somewhat hair-raising to watch them skimming across the lake and flying through the air. All other campers around us were courteous and quiet. The womens bathroom facilities were very, very clean. There was no hot water at the sinks for washing hands or faces which was slightly disappointing after having this luxury at the multiple State Parks we visited. Definitely a safe, lovely, well-maintained park to visit but better in an RV if it's early in the season.

 Bodice Cope

Review by 2GirlsonaRoadTrip on 5/20/24, 1:56 PM

We tent camped two nights at this quiet, well-maintained County Park. Our reservation was for a lake-view site. Upon a later than expected arrival due to a major auto accident above Bandon, we discovered our site (#2) was barely big enough or level enough for our tents. Fortunately, the campground hosts were able to accommodate our request for another site which met our needs for our stay.

 Sasquatch

Review by Sasquatch on 4/12/24, 1:46 PM

Nice little county park with a lake right on the beach. People like to kite surf the lake. April, quiet, clean, off season a little. Took a hike around the lake with the dog and walked the beach.

 Lovely Surprise

Review by Allison on 3/26/24, 10:01 AM

We stayed here for a week in March and initially wondered if we'd booked too long a stay since it's not especially close to any cities to visit. However, we found the park itself to be a reason to stay! It's small, but had steady guests coming and going while we were there. Local residents come and take walks around the loop, as do campers. We have four children and it felt very safe. We never interacted with the park host, but they were visibly present-- the lawn was mowed twice while we were there, change-over of sites was smooth with new reservations posted in a timely manner. I did not use the bathroom or shower, but noted that the shower is coin operated- so be prepared for that. Our rig is 38' fifth wheel and it was not too difficult to get situated. Now the location itself- beautiful! Floras like is a lovely backdrop! We learned that there are two main paths to the beach-- one goes to the left (and is the more obvious/visible path) skirts Floras Lake and is sand the whole way. This is the harder path. We much preferred taking the second path to the right of the beach warning sign that is posted after you have gone through the trees. This second path is on solid ground, shorter, and takes you on top of the dune where you've got a gorgeous view of surrounding pastures. We spent many sunrises snd sunsets out there on the beach. It's excellent for agates and shells. Our kids loved playing on the dunes and searching for beach treasures (as did parents). This beach is NOT one to play near the waves-- they come in too strong for children (or anyone, I'd say). We kept our kids well away from the surf. BUT you have Flora's lake right there with lots of beach and gentle water. I cant speak to the lake beach for swimming or children as we spent very little time at the lake. We loved just chilling here!

 We loved it

Review by Samantha on 3/21/24, 8:43 AM

It is very clean and mellow. There are showers and nice bathrooms, a nice playground and a market in Langlois which isn't far. A beautiful lake view and ocean trail. The host was helpful with any questions or concerns we had. We will be back!

 Boice Cope Park

Review by Kristie on 2/28/24, 1:08 PM

We had a wonderful time while staying at Boice-Cope Park. We enjoyed walking out to the ocean, touring south to a few miles past Gold Beach, and touring to the north to 7 Devils day use area. We really enjoyed the viewpoints and walking on a couple of the beaches at Bandon. We were fortunate and nice weather during our visit. There were sheep with baby lambs, and cows with calves, not far from the entrance to the park.

 Hidden gem

Review by JC on 12/5/23, 9:57 AM

Amazing campground just minutes from everything. Walk to the beach or lake. Very quiet and peaceful atmosphere. I had a view of the lake and ocean!

 Hidden gem

Review by JC on 12/5/23, 9:56 AM

Amazing campground just minutes from everything. Walk to the beach or lake. Very quiet and peaceful atmosphere. I had a view of the lake and ocean!

 Boice Cope Park for Travel Trailer

Review by Carl on 11/12/23, 1:41 PM

Really nice park, out of the way in a nice way. While a bit close together sites, it is very quiet. The only noise is the sound of the ocean waves at night with ZERO traffic noise. The reservation confirmation does not appear to allow you to pick sites, but we were happy with where we were automatically assigned

 Loved it!

Review by Brenda  on 10/24/23, 9:21 AM

This a a little jem near the ocean and river. The sound of the ocean is beautiful and the park is well kept. We enjoyed our two days. We only wished the Hughes House was open but it closed for tours in September. We will return again. 😊

 Loved it!

Review by Brenda  on 10/24/23, 9:21 AM

This a a little jem near the ocean and river. The sound of the ocean is beautiful and the park is well kept. We enjoyed our two days. We only wished the Hughes House was open but it closed for tours in September. We will return again. 😊

 Sir

Review by Hobson on 10/10/23, 1:18 AM

We found this place 4 years ago and we return every year. It is small, quiet, listening to the sound of the ocean all day and night is heavenly. Altho the facility is older, it is well maintained. The camp host is great, very friendly and helpful. It is a nice walk to both Floras Lake and the ocean - truly the best of both worlds. We will return next year again, as we have fir 4 years. It does get crowded in tge summer and since we are retired we are lucky andcable to go in tge quieter times. Lake Floras is known for wind surfing so if you don't like wind, that would be a clue this is not the place fir you!

 Review of Boice Cope campground.

Review by Allan on 10/5/23, 10:48 PM

We stayed with a 38 foot diesel pusher towing a car. We found the campground easy to find and easy to maneuver into and out of. The setting is very peaceful with the sound of waves lulling you to sleep. We would definitely stay again. We planned only a one night stay and ended up staying the second night.

 Nice Quiet County Park

Review by Johnnie XXXXX on 9/26/23, 1:20 PM

My review is based off traveling 7 months a year in a 45 foot class A Motorhome with a tow, visiting about 400 parks in the last 10 years. We inserted this park as part of our plan this year for 3 days to just check out the area. Upon arrival my first thought driving up to the gate was will my rig fit here? They advertise 45 foot spaces and actually the do have some sites that are 45 to 55 feet long but in my opinion that didn't, doesn't make it a good site for a bigger rig. We squeezed into our site and hooked up with little effort as the site was basically level. Generally while most sites have space between them they are still small for the intended use. Note, a lot of low / stray branches to scratch the tops or sides of your rig so be careful. The lake here is very popular with sail borders and Kite boarders. Most of the people we saw staying here overnight were seniors. Also each night I saw 2-4 people sleeping in their cars overnight (not so sure they were paying customers// but definitely not homeless people). The beach is a short walk (1/4 mile) and you can hear the sound in the campground. The have restrooms, showers, laundry room, and fire wood available here. We had good 50 amp power, water was fine and I didn't use the dump station. The majority of people here had a dog, so you decide if that is good or bad. Host was friendly and helpful. My iPhone 13 on Verizon was 1-2 bars and very slow, not useful for a hot spot. Satellite service will likely work in most but not all sites. Also note Wind blows a lot here!!!! Its a nice area and super quiet when we visited in the end of September, but I probably won't stay here again as there's lots of other small campgrounds to explore up and down the coast and this one is not special. Oh, also good star gazing as the sky is pretty dark in this area.

 my stay

Review by will on 9/15/23, 2:20 PM

The camp site should have been marked reserved, but was not. I had to move after one night, but the camp host got some people to move me 3 spots over which was great.

 Ocean sounds

Review by Valdez is coming!! on 9/14/23, 1:36 PM

Great, camp host. Very nice place to stay. I will be back again. Great views. Good Blackberry bushes all around.

 Great campout

Review by BT on 9/13/23, 12:02 AM

Great campground, great location, great hosts, friendly campers. I wish we could have had a campfire.

 Labor Day Weekend

Review by Steve & B on 9/7/23, 7:45 AM

With a 40' motor home the back-in was a little tight but doable. Site was level and the utilities worked fine. Bathrooms & showers are dated but very clean and stocked. Laundry also clean. Hosts were friendly and kept up with a full park (Labor Day weekend). Walk to the Ocean via the lake was kind of hard because of the loose sand but well worth it. Yes, had to have a Hot Dog from the market and it was good.

 Love!

Review by The Blackwells on 9/3/23, 10:27 AM

We have been returning to this park for 8 years. This place is so very special. The park hosts were fantastic. (And it hasn’t always been that way). The facilities were clean, and fresh, cleaned daily. The grounds are well maintained, and the arrangement of sites is great. A big thanks for all the hard work, and for keeping our favorite play ground nice. We really appreciate it!

 Unusual shell sand

Review by Glover on 8/31/23, 7:42 AM

Two complaints: 1st, the vents in both showers are clogged with paint; and 2nd, there are way too many unleashed dogs, with many of them never being leashed. This venue is unique in Oregon, and many board sailors take full advantage... very entertaining to observe. After a long half mile walk from the campground, the surfperch fishing is some of the best Oregon has to offer. Note that cell phone service is marginal, and the offered WiFi service is often sketchy.

 Tent site 42 is the worst of the tent sites.

Review by Nala Onigirrot on 8/27/23, 11:07 PM

Site 42 is located directly at the intersection of the entrance and exit roads of the campground. The entry and exit roads meet at that point and create a very short and narrow arrow-head shaped space. That space is just two feet off the pavement and is barely large enough for a three-person tent. Additionally, if sites 41 and 43 are occupied, then there is no place to park your car other than at the parking area 100 yards to the south.

 Tent site 42 is the worst of the tent sites.

Review by Nala Onigirrot on 8/27/23, 11:06 PM

Site 42 is located directly at the intersection of the entrance and exit roads of the campground. The entry and exit roads meet at that point and create a very short and narrow arrow-head shaped space. That space is just two feet off the pavement and is barely large enough for a three-person tent. Additionally, if sites 41 and 43 are occupied, then there is no place to park your car other than at the parking area 100 yards to the south.

 Nice spot

Review by Mac on 8/25/23, 10:09 AM

It’s very nice campground right on Lake Floras, with a short hike to the beach. It was very crowded when we were there, lots of wind surfers, etc. The campground host was excellent. The one negative is the lack of bathroom facilities. One bathroom with 2 stalls in each side is not adequate for this size of a campground. Unless you have a camper with a bathroom then you don’t have a worry about it.

 Nice spot

Review by Mac on 8/25/23, 10:03 AM

It’s a very nice campground right on Lake Floras, with a short hike to the beach. It was very crowded when we were there, lots of wind

 Great coastal spot

Review by Ken on 8/24/23, 11:41 AM

We stayed here 2 nights on our way down the coast. Took a nice long hike down the beach to the cliffs, then back through the woods along the Oregon Coastal Trail. Got to see the kite boarders and foil windsurfers as they flew by close to shore on Floras Lake. Very entertaining. Campground is basic but well maintained and the people were friendly. Great sunsets. Note that it does get windy there.

 Great Boice Cope Park

Review by Sammysmtnmama on 8/18/23, 12:22 AM

I tried to give Boice cope park 5 stars and it came back with 4 - so I’m resubmitting my review - again….. sorry.

 Great campground

Review by Sammysmtnmama on 8/18/23, 12:15 AM

Boice cope park is a great campgound. It is nice to have the big play area for kids as well as adults - we played Bocce ball, and there are horse shoe pits there as well. Watching the sunsets are nice also. I also loved being able to do a quick load of laundry there as well- although the change machine runs out of quarters weekly. The camp hosts are very nice and helpful also! And Amy at the county who worked on reservations was above and beyond helpful in helping us to get a reservation without having to change our spot several times during our stay. And having Floras Lake so close by to play on is a bonus. Would definitely like to rerurn!

 Great campground

Review by Sammysmtnmama on 8/18/23, 12:14 AM

Boice cope park is a great campgound. It is nice to have the big play area for kids as well as adults - we played Bocce ball, and there are horse shoe pits there as well. Watching the sunsets are nice also. I also loved being able to do a quick load of laundry there as well- although the change machine runs out of quarters weekly. The camp hosts are very nice and helpful also! And Amy at the county who worked on reservations was above and beyond helpful in helping us to get a reservation without having to change our spot several times during our stay. And having Floras Lake so close by to play on is a bonus. Would definitely like to rerurn!

 Great campground

Review by Sammysmtnmama on 8/18/23, 12:13 AM

Boice cope park is a great campgound. It is nice to have the big “play area” for kids as well as adults - we played Bocce ball, and there are horse shoe pits there as well. Watching the sunsets are nice also. I also loved being able to do a quick load of laundry there as well- — although the change machine runs out of quarters weekly. The camp hosts are very nice and helpful also! And Amy at the county who worked on reservations was above and beyond helpful in helping us to get a reservation without having to change our spot several times during our stay. And having Floras Lake so close by to play on is a bonus. Would definitely like to rerurn!

 Great campground

Review by Sammysmtnmama on 8/18/23, 12:12 AM

Boice cope park is a great campgound. It is nice to have the big “play area” for kids as well as adults - we played Bocce ball, and there are horse shoe pits there as well. Watching the sunsets are nice also. I also loved being able to do a quick load of laundry there as well- — although the change machine runs out of quarters weekly. The camp hosts are very nice and helpful also! And Amy at the county who worked on reservations was above and beyond helpful in helping us to get a reservation without having to change our spot several times during our stay. And having Floras Lake so close by to play on is a bonus. Would definitely like to rerurn!

 Kayaking New River

Review by Ted on 8/13/23, 9:14 PM

The most peaceful campsite ever, we will return! A group of us decided to float the New River after seeing the write up posted on the kiosk located by the boat ramp. It would have been helpful to have additional information noted about this 'adventure'. We discovered that it is best to start this float from the North and have the wind push you along this North flowing river. We launched just outside of the New River Nature Center. There was a short jaunt to the boat launch as the gate was closed not allowing us to take our kayaks to the rivers edge ( this is due to it being the Snowy Plover nesting season). Nice 8 mile, 5 hour trip. Sunscreen, sunhat, sunglasses, aqua socks and water are a must! Finding the Flores Lake outlet stream at the bridge was tricky and we had to carry our kayaks a short distance through the mud from New River. There are TWO beaver dams that you are unable to go around and you must scale.

 Boice Cope Park

Review by ak on 8/7/23, 11:28 AM

One of the quietest campgrounds we've stayed at! Camp host was super friendly and helpful. Perfect place for wind sports, easy access to lake and ocean. Planning a return trip now!

 Boice Cope Park

Review by ak on 8/7/23, 11:28 AM

One of the quietest campgrounds we've stayed at! Camp host was super friendly and helpful. Perfect place for wind sports, easy access to lake and ocean. Planning a return trip now!

 Boice trip

Review by Ron on 8/3/23, 8:36 PM

Bathrooms not cleaned Thursday till Sunday July 30th restocked but sink, floor, mirrors and lights were out. Grounds needed better maintenance little mowing and no weed eating. Over 15 years of visiting seems up and down. Park host non existing and when you found one they keep stating they have not been informed of what to do. Surfers that parked over by the corner site and 12 thru 18 by the gate to kite school were very obnoxious rude blocked entrance to couple of the sites in corner walked thru our sites not cool

 Boice trip

Review by Ron on 8/3/23, 6:58 PM

Bathrooms not cleaned Thursday till Sunday July 30th restocked but sink, floor, mirrors and lights were out. Grounds needed better maintenance little mowing and no weed eating. Over 15 years of visiting seems up and down. Park host non existing and when you found one they keep stating they have not been informed of what to do. Surfers that parked over by the corner site and 12 thru 18 by the gate to kite school were very obnoxious rude blocked entrance to couple of the sites in corner walked thru our sites not cool

 Infrastructure needs

Review by Timmy on 7/31/23, 11:45 AM

They are putting in new amenities but need to prioritize maintaining the existing infrastructure. Fences around the campsite are rotting and broken down creating a hazard. The stairs to the boat launch are old, and unstable. They put a child play structure 20 feet away from the rv dump. Seriously!?!

 Infrastructure needs

Review by Timmy on 7/31/23, 11:45 AM

They are putting in new amenities but need to prioritize maintaining the existing infrastructure. Fences around the campsite are rotting and broken down creating a hazard. The stairs to the boat launch are old, and unstable. They put a child play structure 20 feet away from the rv dump. Seriously!?!

 This Park Has It All

Review by RD on 7/18/23, 2:24 AM

This park is a great location for outdoor activities. Hiking, biking, wind sports, swimming, SUPing, exploring the beach and more. The camp is well run by the friendly hosts. The bathrooms are clean and the park is well maintained. It is one of the most beautiful destinations I have been to and have been coming here every summer for the last ten years. My few complaints are the internet although strong, cuts in and out. Also the lake side sites are away from the WAP so they have no signal. This was very frustrating especially because wifi was advertised. The path way to the lake has been improved but it could use a little more. The county took the time to make a boardwalk to not walk in the mud but the boards are moving around and could be an ankle breaker. A more permanent walk would be nice for safety. I am told by several campers that they cannot find the pay station. Either relocating it or signs pointing to it would help. The reservation system is not wind sports friendly. I spoke with people who lost hundreds of dollars because of cancellations due to lack of wind for the sport they enjoy. Wind lovers make up about 70% of the park and it should be friendly to those folks who make up most of the park's business. Aside from a few complaints I would highly recommend this camp to anyone.

 Wind chasers blow

Review by Steve on 7/17/23, 3:20 PM

On the road for 40 days. Worst park ever! Wind surfers are bullies. Use the park for more than 14 days. In a row. Move from spot to spot I reserve a spot for 2 nights got switched out of my spot to accomadste a surfer only to be harassed by 3 other surfers on being in there spot and when I was leaving so they could move into my spot. Also on check in my spot was still occupied after the check oiut time. Host says” oh they are surfing and are just moving to another spot. Well his spot was the steeet for Boondocking which he could have moved there before the wind surfing seeing this group doesn’t do anything early. Lazy Bulllies. In a park that is run terrible from the Reservation system yo the misleading times on the web for check in and out And a host and security for a small park that are useless Especially when campers just bang on your rig and Yrlll your in my spot and you are not. Especially when the one right next to me is open. Worst park in the whole state. When the wind bullies are in town

 Wind chasers blow

Review by Steve on 7/17/23, 4:30 AM

On the road for 40 days. Worst park ever! Wind surfers are bullies. Use the park for more than 14 days. In a row. Move from spot to spot I reserve a spot for 2 nights got switched out of my spot to accomadste a surfer only to be harassed by 3 other surfers on being in there spot and when I was leaving so they could move into my spot. Also on check in my spot was still occupied after the check oiut time. Host says” oh they are surfing and are just moving to another spot. Well his spot was the steeet for Boondocking which he could have moved there before the wind surfing seeing this group doesn’t do anything early. Lazy Bulllies. In a park that is run terrible from the Reservation system yo the misleading times on the web for check in and out And a host and security for a small park that are useless Especially when campers just bang on your rig and Yrlll your in my spot and you are not. Especially when the one right next to me is open. Worst park in the whole state. When the wind bullies are in town

 We loved it!

Review by K Joy on 7/12/23, 3:50 PM

What a hidden gem! I was nervous reserving the site unseen, as the map does not do the site justice. Though there is not much privacy, I had zero complaints, as the grounds were beautiful and well shaded, the bathroom well kept, quiet and friendly campers and the location next to the lake and ocean absolutely perfect! We had a lucky low wind day, but I'm not a wind sport person, so good on me. It was perfect!

 What a nice park!

Review by Mid-June vacation on 6/24/23, 10:05 AM

Our 11-person family group camped three nights at Boice-Cope County Park in mid-June, 2023. The weather was a bit nippy and the wind somewhat blustery, but we found the camp host and other campers very friendly and helpful, and we loved the facilities. We noted that the wind was less severe on the side of the camping loop away from Floras Lake, and would opt for that side the next time we come. The bathrooms and showers were clean and well-maintained. The RV hookups were good. The paved parking pads were long enough and wide enough to accommodate multiple vehicles. The nice grassy area in the middle of the campground was a little uneven for walking, but was mowed and well-maintained. We were disappointed that the RV waste dump was out of order during our stay. The camp host apologized and said a service call had been made, but that the septic tank pumping company hadn't responded.

 County needs to wake up

Review by Wsr M on 6/24/23, 1:24 AM

Dump station out of order for days is unacceptable. New site numbering appears to have been created by someone that had no clue. Site numbers on posts looks temporary & tacky. (They are all crooked) Maintenance & trimming of grass around sites is lacking. Tables are years past the need for paint.

 Keep it natural

Review by Paphman on 6/21/23, 1:11 PM

I have been coming to Floras Lake for years. This year I am happy to see they are letting the vegetation grow back between the camp sites along the west side. This creates a much more aesthetic experience for those of us who enjoy a little privacy and respite from the wind that these sites create. I hope the county continues to allow the natural vegetation to return, but they need to make an effort to control the English Ivy (noxious weed). It is choking out some of the trees. Thank you

 Fabulous Campground

Review by Cheryl on 5/31/23, 3:28 PM

We loved this campground. Very pet friendly and nice RV neighbors. The only concern we had was some of the tent campers towards the front of the campground looked as if they were homeless and taking refuge while they could. The camp hosts were awesome though. Very nice and checked on everyone in the campground daily. I would definitely recommend for anyone that is going through the area. The coast is breathtaking and it's only a short walk to enjoy.

 Tent camping

Review by Traveler on 5/17/23, 2:55 PM

The host Wayne & Debbie are amazing. Tent site not very private but for the amenities, price, & cleanliness - I am giving it 5 stars. After being at another campsite for 2 nights with only sound of highway traffic, I miss not being at Floras Lake. The sunset is beautiful and the access to beach and miles of walking is a treat.

 love this campground

Review by Regular wind camper on 10/29/22, 5:14 PM

Winter camping at Boice Cope is a wonderful experience, not crowded the weather is a bit fickle but a foggy AM means a windy afternoon. And the new winter rates are awesome, $20 for hookups? Fabulous! I noticed the campground got a real cleanup, painting etc. Looks amazing. Nice to see the camp host, Meghan, is back on her own, the place is always spotless, and she interacts so well with the different types of people that come here. The summer host they had on was never around to help and when she was around she was a bit annoying and not helpful, if you had a question she would just send you to Meghan anyway. Regardless, we camp there at least once a month year round to get some lake time. My only complaint is the bench from the ladies room is gone. How are we to get out of our wet suits if we can't sit down, I don't think a picnic table is the proper place to do this and inside our RV is a big no go. The smell of wet neoprene never goes away. Please put the bench back.

 One of our Favorites

Review by Bill & Dianna on 10/26/22, 5:14 PM

Great Park close to the beach, quite, and relaxing. We stayed three nights mid October. Weather was overcast with sun breaks and a light to no breeze. We visited the Bandon boardwalk area and walked around Floras Lake to the beach. The camp host was extremely nice and welcoming. Services were clean and the dump station was very clean and convenient. Definitely a place to visit.

Back to Boice Cope Park