Reviews for Racine County Campgrounds Reservation Office

Sturtevant, Wisconsin

 Cliffside Park

Review by Fitz on 10/14/19 10:37 AM

The facilities were wonderful, just what we were looking for our brief stay in the Racine Area. A heads-up on the construction on west bound 6 Mile road would have been helpful, but our stay was otherwise enjoyable and uneventful. The grounds, facilities and utility access were all in great shape. :)

 Great place

Review by Janjteach  on 10/12/19 7:52 AM

We became trailer owners last year and have come here both years. We typically stay in state or local campgrounds. This is by far our favorite in the Great Lakes area. Really nice sites that are well maintained and super clean shower houses make it so pleasant. It even has a great location near Milwaukee!

 Excellent

Review by Julie on 10/6/19 12:44 PM

Excellent campgrounds, big sites and very clean bathrooms. Will definitely go back!

 10-6-19

Review by Pat P & Rich M on 10/6/19 11:26 AM

We have been coming to Cliffside Park for many many years. Right there - that tells you that we like it here. It is a beautiful park with great campsites. We appreciate the hospitality and assistance the campground hosts have given us throughout all these years.

 10-6-19

Review by Pat P & Rich M on 10/6/19 11:26 AM

We have been coming to Cliffside Park for many many years. Right there - that tells you that we like it here. It is a beautiful park with great campsites. We appreciate the hospitality and assistance the campground hosts have given us throughout all these years.

 Can't wait to come back!

Review by Greg T on 10/3/19 5:59 PM

This is a very beautiful and clean campground. Roads are narrow and one way. The sites are spaced well on each side. But, if there is a row of sites behind your row of sites, they are kinda close. Though perfect if your camping with another family. Since it was the last week of September when we visited, the campground was less than half full. Bathrooms were very clean and had plenty of hot water for showers. The parking pad was made of small stones and had plenty of space for our 28.5 foot 5th Wheel camper and truck. The pad was also almost perfectly level side to side and slightly sloped down toward the back. The small stones did track into our camper, so I would advise a door mat if you have one. With the exception of the group site, all sites had 20, 30, and 50 amp electrical service and water. There was no sewer service at the sites. The landscaping was very pretty with soft grass on the sites. All of the sites had a large fire ring sitting on the same small stones as the pad. There was a single dump station and I can imagine that it would be very busy on a Sunday when campers are heading for home. We stayed three nights and hope to return to this beautiful campground.

 Cliffside Park

Review by WeRV36 on 9/23/19 8:57 PM

Huge sites, nice and quiet except for one celebratory group :) Cool trails to Lake Michigan bluffs (with only a few wrong turns). Nice neighbors. Only downside is the no bottle glass policy wasn’t more noticeable.

 Cliffside Park

Review by WeRV36 on 9/23/19 8:57 PM

Huge sites, nice and quiet except for one celebratory group :) Cool trails to Lake Michigan bluffs (with only a few wrong turns). Nice neighbors. Only downside is the no bottle glass policy wasn’t more noticeable.

 Cliffside

Review by Diane B on 9/22/19 12:11 PM

Great campground! Big level sites and very clean bathrooms! Love this place

 Great Trip and Stay

Review by Hawk04 on 9/18/19 11:52 AM

This stay was so much different than last year when we had a confrontation with the "host" about dumping onto the ground (we hadn't and didn't intend to-we had a small valve leak). That being said, this time we felt as though we were part of a big family-without the threat of the sheriff being involved. We spoke to so many friendly folks that didn't mind if we came and went late in the evening (for us, anyway). We extended our stay one day without hassle and we felt kinda sad when we had to leave and get back to stifling Texas. Believe me, we'll be back if you'll have us. By the way, how long is the road construction going to be going on????

 Great Trip and Stay

Review by Hawk04 on 9/18/19 11:51 AM

This stay was so much different than last year when we had a confrontation with the "host" about dumping onto the ground (we hadn't and didn't intend to-we had a small valve leak). That being said, this time we felt as though we were part of a big family-without the threat of the sheriff being involved. We spoke to so many friendly folks that didn't mind if we came and went late in the evening (for us, anyway). We extended our stay one day without hassle and we felt kinda sad when we had to leave and get back to stifling Texas. Believe me, we'll be back if you'll have us. By the way, how long is the road construction going to be going on????

 Great park

Review by Happy camper on 9/16/19 7:15 AM

We stayed here for 6 nights. The park is pretty large and has many sites. The sites are large in length and width and easy to get in and out of. There I are no sewers on the sites but there is a dump station. The bathroom was kept clean . There are showers. We'd stay here again if we were in the area.

 Outstanding campground

Review by Dearmeat on 9/9/19 8:33 PM

As far as county/state campgrounds go, this is our favorite so far. Very clean, quiet and excellent lot size. Water and 50amp electric is a total perk. Highly recommend.

 Lovely campsite

Review by Bonbly on 9/9/19 10:36 AM

We really enjoyed our camp site! Shower house is very clean! It is enjoyable to walk around the trails. Love the sounds of nature especially the rooster from the nearby farm. Very fun to hear!!! Will be back next year!! Thank you

 Cliffside Campground Review

Review by Linda on 9/8/19 8:55 AM

Campground very well maintained. Road construction was an inconvenience. Like others who reviewed the campground, I was not aware that I had an option to drive-in to get a site so I had to pay $12.50 registration fee twice since we stayed one night, left for a few nights and returned. During our second stay, the tent campers next to us were cutting down tree branches for their campfire and were drunk/loud/obnoxious through-out one night. We found that annoying considering the campground was otherwise quiet. Will most likely return when we visit relatives but will know that I don't have to pay the registration fee if a site is available.

 Nice

Review by Kathy on 9/7/19 7:20 AM

This was our first time here. Very hard to get to because of all the road construction. Once we got there the campground was clean and quiet. The bathrooms were clean. Had a really good time. Will be back!

 work visit

Review by work visit on 9/6/19 9:38 AM

Nothing fancy, your run of the mill campground. Pros: good location near milwaukee. reasonable price nice bathrooms, well cleaned. Cons: Rude campground host, unhelpful nearby roosters crow at 5am waking you up mowers cutting already very short grass before 8am.

 work visit

Review by work visit on 9/6/19 9:38 AM

Nothing fancy, your run of the mill campground. Pros: good location near milwaukee. reasonable price nice bathrooms, well cleaned. Cons: Rude campground host, unhelpful nearby roosters crow at 5am waking you up mowers cutting already very short grass before 8am.

 Great sites, so close to northwest illinois

Review by Nblaine on 9/6/19 6:00 AM

Very clean bathroom with showers.

 Ms.

Review by Abbe on 9/4/19 6:04 AM

We have stayed in the park several times and always enjoy the greenery, the quiet, and the excellent maintenance there. We will definitely return! I was surprised, however, and disappointed in the condition of the ladies bathroom and shower facility. The shower was not cleaned for at least 3 days, and there was hair all over the floor of one of the showers and the other in the same building was just as bad. I hope that this was a temporary problem and will not happen next time we're there.

 Fabulous!

Review by Kim on 9/3/19 9:22 AM

We love this campground ...immaculately clean and the spaces are huge! Just lovely! Oh, and the price is exceptional. Thank you!

 Family Rerunion

Review by Reunion on 9/3/19 7:13 AM

WOW........what a park, as a full time RV traveler this park is top 5. We selected here do to being centralized with family members. This park was clean, well kept, and everyone here helped one another.. Will we return...………. YES, when we are in the area, I will always stay here. Price is great, clean rest rooms, even the fire pits are cleaned..

 Mr.

Review by Pete on 8/29/19 8:44 AM

Very nice experience. People friendly, each site kept up, and very accommodating. One of our best places to go to for camping. You get a lot for the money. Thank you for keeping it a pleasant place to come to.

 Mr.

Review by Pete on 8/29/19 8:43 AM

Very nice experience. People friendly, each site kept up, and very accommodating. One of our best places to go to for camping. You get a lot for the money. Thank you for keeping it a pleasant place to come to.

 Mrs.

Review by Bj on 8/26/19 5:08 PM

A little hard to find due to the construction but very clean, roomy and quiet. Reasonable rates, We were there during the week so don't know about the weekend crowd. Restroom cleaning is between 6:30 and 7 a.m. so plan ahead.

 Great Experience

Review by Deborah on 8/22/19 2:28 PM

We made our reservation by phone and the person I spoke with (I believe her name was Mary) was very helpful. We didn’t get to the park until about 7pm so I was really glad we had made a reservation & didn’t have to worry about where we would spend the night. We spent 4 nights at Cliffside Park. It was beautiful, our space was very large & the bathrooms were wonderful. The only issue was some road construction & closures in the area, but it wasn’t a big problem working around this.

 Perfection in the great outdoors

Review by Canadian campers on 8/20/19 8:18 AM

Loved our week at Cliffside. Quite, beautiful and very well kept. My error we stayed an extra day and they were most understanding and accommodating. We have family a short 10 minutes from the campsite. We will be back next summer.

 Gary

Review by Nice campground, beware of reservation fee on 8/14/19 6:14 AM

Very nice quiet campground with trees. You can find a site with shade. 3 stars were given due to the $12.50 reservation fee. We could have just done a walk up and avoided this fee, but unfortunately we did not see this on the website and it was not communicated to us when calling. We thought we HAD to make a reservation. Our one night stay went from $28 to $40. That is quite an add on fee. Even though the park runs to the lake, there is no access that we could find. We rode our bikes to the nearby neighborhood and found a small park to look out over the cliff to the water. It was a very pretty spot. The shower house is very nice and clean. The campground was pleasant and clean. Lots of multiple week campers. We would definitely return if we are in the area but would do a walk up first. I would only reserve if there are no other sites of the walk up side .

 Quiet campground

Review by pegdiver on 8/11/19 7:53 AM

Very quiet campground with room between sites. Electric and water only. 1 dump station. We did not use the facilities of the park. Construction around the campground was, saying nicely, the worst! Seems you couldn't get there from here, where ever here was. Took a while to get there but thanks to someone that lives locally, we were able to get back to the interstate without a problem. Good Verizon signal and we were able to get satellite TV with our tripod. Never saw hosts but did see the local police ride around a few times in the few days we were there. Suggestions would be to add arrows to the road/site map since the one way sign can be blocked by people waiting to dump. We were glad to see the ticket on the site post with our name on it. If we pass this way again, we will stop.

 July Stay

Review by Swabbie on 8/7/19 2:50 PM

Our daughter, SIL and Grandson live in Kenosha. Past 2 years we stayed in Bristol but opted to try Racine County CG. On a positive note, the CG is quiet and shaded. But we would have liked sewer vs having to go to the dump station. Also, the water tap was way behind the coach and I ended up having to buy a 50" hose at a local hardware store. With all the construction in the area the detours are a pain making the trip to Kenosha at least 40 minutes. Poor signage and do not use GPS.

 Threatening Us With Prosecution

Review by Hawk04 on 7/23/19 10:42 PM

Beautiful campground, but the "campground hosts" are certainly not very hostlike at all. We came back to the campground one evening and soon after received a loud knock on the door of our 5th wheel. I opened up to find three people standing there. The "lady" in the group immediately started threatening us with criminal action, stating that our "sewer was leaking all over the ground". We had a slight gray water leak on one valve and, granted, it was dripping at the time. I attempted to explain that it was a gray water valve leak and that we would have it repaired as soon as we got back home. The "lady" became very loud at this point and once again threatened us with criminal prosecution and "calling the sheriff" if we didn't get that "sewer" leak fixed. We were also threatened with expulsion from the campground if we did not comply with their directives immediately, and "there sure won't be any refund either!". We were also told that they had been "monitoring" the "sewer leak" for quite awhile and it was definitely an environmental hazard. I subsequently got our "tote", hooked up the tote to the outlet and we continued in that configuration. I understand that there are folks that routinely dump their gray water on the ground at campgrounds, but we are not one of those, and we took great offense at the belligerent and accusatory manner in which we were approached by this woman, who never identified herself as anyone in authority. (We assume she was the campground host and the persons in the background were her husband, boyfriend, and another camper.) We love southern Wisconsin. We have relatives in the area and usually come at least once a year to visit, but this sort of treatment without even allowing us an explanation, is cause to not come back to Cliffside. County of Racine, we suggest that you terminate these unhospitable "hosts" before they give your beautiful campground a bad name in the camping community.

 Great campground

Review by Jerry B on 7/23/19 6:31 AM

We love this campground. It is quiet and peaceful even on the weekend when it is full. The sites are large and mostly level and lots of shade (not a plus if you have stationary satellite). The CG would get 5 stars if it had sewer and wifi (but we did have a good AT&T signal to use our hotspot). Water pressure was good and electric about 115 volts..

 Lovely Stay

Review by Toolezoo on 7/22/19 11:04 AM

We only stayed one night. It was easy self check in. Our spot was clearly marked. The campground is clean and when walking our dogs saw the lovely surroundings.

 Always great

Review by The Petersons on 7/21/19 12:44 PM

Been coming here for 4 yrs since we found it in 2015. Were from Illinois and this place beats anything we could find in north Illinois. Water/electric were awesome and clean bathrooms for the wife and kids are always a plus...happy wife=happy life. Parked next to hosts the 1st visit and had Ranger Rick called on us for the neighbors noisy kids the night before but no big deal. This place is clean and always pleasant. You will enjoy it, I promise. Also, check out Racine North Beach while you're there, that's always fun for the family.

 Always great

Review by The Petersons on 7/21/19 12:44 PM

Been coming here for 4 yrs since we found it in 2015. Were from Illinois and this place beats anything we could find in north Illinois. Water/electric were awesome and clean bathrooms for the wife and kids are always a plus...happy wife=happy life. Parked next to hosts the 1st visit and had Ranger Rick called on us for the neighbors noisy kids the night before but no big deal. This place is clean and always pleasant. You will enjoy it, I promise. Also, check out Racine North Beach while you're there, that's always fun for the family.

 Very good

Review by R&K on 7/17/19 7:36 AM

We were here for three nights and had a good experience. Clean and quiet. Sites are not close and you are not right up against your nieghbor. Other campers were freindly and respectful. Did not encounter any staff or management during our stay. I did see local law enforcement make a pass through the park,....nice. Fifth wheel had more than enough room. Dump station was fine. Verizon was very strong here. This is not a resort, but a nice clean campground.

 Great county park

Review by Dearmeat on 7/13/19 5:33 PM

This is turning into our go to place for get away camping. Price and location are great. electric and water on site. Bathrooms are always great when we are there. most of the lots are above average in size. I know people have said the host are harsh, but I haven't seen that. Rules are rules and every interaction we have had with them was positive or at least valid. we have had more trouble with the rare weekend party camper group then we ever have with the host. 10min from the beach and the grounds are very well kept. all that for the money we are going back the end of August and several of our camping friends feel the same way.

 Pleasant Stay

Review by Rick and Elisa Farage on 7/12/19 11:40 AM

We stayed 4 nights in a 35ft travel trailer. The water and electric hook-ups were good. The bathrooms & showers were good...hot water and clean. Each camp site had ample space, not right on top of each other. I've read some negative reviews about the host, our site was right beside their site and interacted with them several times with no problems at all, they were very pleasant. The campground is wooded, quiet and a good location, not right in town but close to Racine and Caledonia.

 Bad hosts

Review by Jimmy John  on 6/30/19 3:33 PM

The campground hosts are the only downfall that I have. If you’re anywhere around them beware that they have absolutely nothing better to do than to find something to complain about. When you go camping with your family and friends you should be able to enjoy the time outside together. Not having to get bothered by one or two individuals that think they are the law.

 Bad hosts

Review by Jimmy John  on 6/30/19 3:33 PM

The campground hosts are the only downfall that I have. If you’re anywhere around them beware that they have absolutely nothing better to do than to find something to complain about. When you go camping with your family and friends you should be able to enjoy the time outside together. Not having to get bothered by one or two individuals that think they are the law.

 Great campground

Review by Victoria &Keith on 6/26/19 1:09 PM

What a pleasant surprise! We had a great stay and would definitely come back again. Pros: spacious sites, quiet and clean showers. Cons: roads are a bit tight (but manageable), especially around the dump station. We have a 45 ft 5th wheel trailer

 Very Nice

Review by Allyson on 6/23/19 6:08 AM

The campground was clean. My campsite was level. The water and electric were good. The dump was easy to use. It was quiet. Campers were enjoying themselves but quiet and considerate.

 No compassion

Review by Unhappy camper on 6/22/19 8:29 PM

I will never camp there again. The people running it are rude disrespectful and have no comparison for campers. My brother and I spent 6 nights there. We fished on lake michigan most nights until midnight and it was 1 am by the time we got back to camp. We were very quiet out of respect for other campers. Not the camp people. 8am mowing the lawn next to our tent. I got upset asked what the f@$#&. Instead of saying sorry maybe we should wait until like 9 or 10 am to mow they called the police on me for using the F word. Really.... camping is supposed to be relaxing. It wasn't there. Again will never camp there again...

 Great Campgrounds

Review by Scott on 6/21/19 9:15 AM

Well spaced level sites. Restrooms were very well maintained as was the entire campgrounds. I highly recommend.

 We enjoyed our stay at Cliffside.

Review by Gary on 6/21/19 7:40 AM

We spent 5 days in Cliffside Park with a group of 12 camping units. We had a great time and enjoyed many of the things that Racine has to offer. We appreciate the efforts of the park staff in keeping the facilities and grounds in tip top shape. We'll be back!

 Beautiful Campground

Review by Cindi on 6/21/19 6:01 AM

We had a group of 12 campers from several Midwest states arrange to stay here for 5 days. The 22 people loved the quiet and the beauty of the area. They appreciated the well maintained and clean bathrooms. They have this campground noted as an excellent place to stay.

 Beautiful Campground

Review by Cindi on 6/21/19 6:01 AM

We had a group of 12 campers from several Midwest states arrange to stay here for 5 days. The 22 people loved the quiet and the beauty of the area. They appreciated the well maintained and clean bathrooms. They have this campground noted as an excellent place to stay.

 Wonderful

Review by Fishbone on 6/18/19 9:04 AM

This was a beautiful week for us. The park is quiet and clean and BEAUTIFULLY landscaped. We will be back! The only reason we give it a four and not a 4.95 is because (we were not given that option) and because there is not full hook up. But that is the only reason and it it so beautiful and quiet that we WILL BE BACK!!! Thank you so much We recommend this park.

 Great place to camp

Review by Cindy Rick on 6/16/19 3:44 PM

Sites are level and large. Bathrooms were among the cleanest I have seen in a campground. Shower stalls huge, with lots of hooks and a large bench to set items on. Only 30 minutes to Miller Park. Group tent sites had a large group with lots of kids and they were loud and didn't respect boundaries of campsites but overall a "5".

 Great Facility

Review by TDog and Q on 6/15/19 4:28 PM

We have traveled a lot in out motorhome and this place is in my top 5 ever. Easy drive to see a Brewers game, grounds are clean, quiet, and restrooms were spotless. I highly recommend this for anyone.