SLY PARK RECREATION AREA

Pollock Pines, California

Reviews for SLY PARK RECREATION AREA

50 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

reservation got cancelled, subpar alternative spot.. 

Review by local camper on 5/24/17 10:08 AM

Stayed in Sierra #85 recently. Our normal spot got cancelled on us a few weeks prior due to residual winter damage so we were lucky to get another spot. The reservation office was quick to return my call after I got the cancellation notice. Sierra is a thoroughfare for a day use area so we'll likely never camp in that section again. Too much traffic. The staff rode by on their ATVs way too often, literally every 5 minutes. Perhaps that is necessary to police the day use area. A large group tried to leave the day use area without cleaning up and the staff quickly intercepted them when trying to leave and had them come back to clean-up. My little dog unknowingly escaped our trailer when one of the kids left the door open. The staff was responsive in trying to find the owner, but was a bit condescending with their criticism of the dog not being on a leash even after explaining it had been secured. The dog had TWO ID tags with TWO phone numbers, our address, a current rabies tag and a micro chip tag yet I was treated like an irresponsible pet owner. Maybe it was just that one ranger who has to deal with rowdy day users and one who isn't suitable for interacting with overnight camping families that have a trailer, live close by and like to think that we will continue to our regular patronage of the park. On the other hand, every single staff member that we passed driving in/out of the park waved to us which was nice.

Not Again.. 

Review by JCH on 5/23/17 7:46 PM

I would give it a zero if I could. I've stayed here for many years, always in Sierra usually at site 69 which is one of the closest to the water. This last time some total idiots from day use parked themselves right on the bike trail right in front of my campsite AND halfway into my campsite. I tracked down a park employee who said he would report it, which he did since acknowledged when I called the guard shack to be sure. They said they would send a ranger down which they did BUT he drove by and did NOTHING. THEY WERE IN MY CAMPSITE WITH CHAIRS AND COOLERS. The poor people using the trail had to literally walk through or bike through the middle of this 20 person group. They were 10 feet from a sign designating it as a trail. Unbelievable! I'm not sure who was worse, the day use people or the park personnel who did NOTHING! This park has been gradually going down hill for years. It's way over priced, the day use people are rude pigs and the park personnel are about the same.

Not Again.. 

Review by JCH on 5/23/17 7:44 PM

I would give it a zero if I could. I've stayed here for many years, always in Sierra usually at site 69 which is one of the closest to the water. This last time some total idiots from day use parked themselves right on the bike trail right in front of my campsite AND hallway into my campsite. I tracked down a park employee who said he would report it, which he did since acknowledged when I called the guard shack to be sure. They said they would send a ranger down which they did BUT he drove by and did NOTHING. THEY WERE IN MY CAMPSITE WITH CHAIRS AND COOLERS. The poor people using the trail had to literally walk through or bike through the middle of this 20 person group. They were 10 feet from a sign designating it as a trail. Unbelievable! I'm not sure who was worse, the day use people or the park personnel who did NOTHING! This park has been gradually going down hill for years. It's way over priced, the day use people are rude pigs and the park personnel are about the same.

Unreasonable….. 

Review by Nicholas K on 5/23/17 9:59 AM

We’ve been camping at Sly Park for years and even though it’s crowded, loud and smelly (if you anywhere close to the bathrooms) we kept coming back because it’s a short drive from home and lake is beautiful. But couple of weeks ago our opinion was changed… After checking into site 76 we discovered that smell from the bathroom is unbearable and there are obnoxious neighbors in close proximity, we moved further away from the lake to Hilltop area. We were allowed to move and everything seemed to be great. But, even though we were the only campers at this campground of 20 sites, we were forced to pay for 2 sites because I dared to use fire pit of neighboring site (and we haven’t touched our fire pit) because it was closer and in view of our trailer (where my small child was sleeping). We did not add any additional work for the cleaning crew, no one reserved neighboring site, and there were no other people at this campground but our weekend was made more stressful than it should have been, Sly Park lost regular visitors and received this negative review because of this very unreasonable behavior…

contemplating ...... 

Review by carebear on 5/23/17 9:45 AM

Ive been camping at Sly Park for years !!!! Its close to home, beautiful lake, great fishing ...BUT this year for the first time I'm contemplating on ever going back (at least overnight camping). If I could rate the staff separately I would give a high rating...`at checkin they were polite, prompt and explained that there was logging going on and to bear with the mess (no problem), the camp host AWESOME ! But to camp on pine cone peninsula is $45 per night to camp now, HOLY COW prices are getting ridiculous to go camping anymore but honestly the real problem was how close the other sites were to us...we were in site 28 and come Friday afternoon/evening the campground was so full it was like we were camping with our neighbors ! it was almost impossible to not see or hear everymove and we are friendly outgoing people so its not like we are prudes we enjoy a few drinks and good conversation but this was to much in your face- plus we were also next to a "group site" which is what prompted us to leave a day early. The group had all 9 sites from site 29 and down, they did not abide by the noise curfew nor did any staff come around to check or monitor....i was livid and wasn't able to go to sleep sometime after 1 am. We couldn't get out of there fast enough ! it took our trip from a 10 on Thursday to a 1 on Friday which makes us sad to think we won't come back. To leave this on a positive note the lake is full, clear and stunning, fishing was great and so was the weather...the campsite was left very clean including the grill, so we have discussed to maybe use the dat use area in the future :)

Loved it!.. 

Review by Renee and Chuck on 5/17/17 8:03 AM

Just spent Mothers Day weekend there and absolutely loved the park.The size of the sites are big enough that you feel like you still have some privacy.Park Rangers are awesome. Very friendly and made sure we had a good night when we were the only campers in the campsite after everyone else left. There is a lot of logging going on but they are trying to get rid of all the trees that died due to the drought. So be prepared for logging trucks and some noise during the week. Camp Host Virginia and her husband that were in the Sierra campground are very friendly also. We will most certainly camp here again!

Beautiful Lake.. 

Review by BL on 5/16/17 10:09 AM

This was the first time for our group of seven to camp at Sly Park. I reserved a site at Pinecone Strip that overlooked the water - scenery was BEAUTIFUL. It was the best site we've ever camped at. Rangers were incredibly nice - when my sister and I walked to dump trash, they offered to carry it in their truck bed! I will definitely return with the rest of my family.

generator hours.. 

Review by raftbetty on 5/16/17 8:16 AM

After coming to this lake for 50 years and paying for a premium for waterfront sites that are not level - they now have generator hours for RVs that make NO SENSE. We were handed a slip of paper at checkin that says we can run the generator from 7AM - 9AM, 12 - 2 and 5 - 8PM. All hours when I would normally NOT run a generator to charge my battery because people are either still sleeping or eating a meal with their families. Most campgrounds have a general rule that you don't run the generator before 8 or 9 AM and after 8 PM. Is this really what the people on patrol should be monitoring? Yet, we don't see them at night when people are making a ton of noise, playing music after 10 PM... Very frustrating.

Shocked.. 

Review by CJN on 5/16/17 7:59 AM

Spent Mother's day weekend at the lake. Camp host was very nice. We were shocked to see sites 10 and a few others down the hill in PINE CONE had recently been demolished by some large equipment, and all trees are GONE. There are now several huge piles of logs and debris. Crazy thing is that the sites that were torn up had cards on the post saying the site was reserved for that weekend, so this must have just happened. I am certain there were some dead/dying trees, but it looks like they just bulldozed entire areas and left behind a big mess. Someone who works at the park said he heard the piles might stay there until the winter when they can be burned??? I hope he was wrong and that there is a plan in place for this summer.

Great time!.. 

Review by Chappy on 5/14/17 8:17 PM

We went in the second week of may for a WED-Friday stay. We were the only ones in the campsite area which we actually really liked. We stayed in the Pinecove area, originally we chose spot 26, but we called and they allowed us to switch to a better spot. All of the staff were really friendly, and never seemed annoyed to answer any of our questions. The hike to waterfall was very easy. A deer came running down to the lake which also awesome, and we saw a Bald Eagle, about three times over the stay. Bathrooms were clean, and did not smell. Campsite had a large firepit, and there was plenty of firewood to gather. Even though logging was going on at the campgrounds, we didn't hear any of the whole time. They staff also recommended we call Sierra Outdoors to have kayak rented. Over all very please with how friendly the staff/rangers where, and the campsite was large. Also, pet friendly was great.

Beauriful.. 

Review by Sierra on 5/9/17 8:11 AM

We stayed in sierra, number 67. The view was awesome. The only problem was the picnic tables and the area around the fire pit was not level and it made it uncomfortable to sit at an angle all the time. The area needs to be flattened out some then it would be all good. Hook ups would be good!

PInecone Peninsula.. 

Review by blondekittee on 5/2/17 1:49 PM

Overall great place to camp, bathrooms are clean and fresh. Camp Host, rangers and staff are friendly. We love it up here. Only problem is noise(yelling and chopping wood) after hours, 10:00 PM and on. It would be really great if the rangers came through a little more often in the later hours. I wonder if campers are aware of quiet hours. Some are new to camping and may not know.

Wonderful.. 

Review by Just Us on 4/28/17 8:08 PM

We only spent one night on our way through but enjoyed our stay. Feel bad about the tree damage from the storms but it was a nice stay none the less.

Family of Three.. 

Review by Flawlesscountry on 4/23/17 10:54 AM

We had a great time. We wanted to spent time together and fish, which we did. It was super quiet as the season has not quite started so that was great. Rangers checked in on us the first day but never had any issues with them. They were friendly with us. Only bummer were things out of our control like wind the first day, rain during the night the first night and we didn't catch any fish. However the best part was it was a perfect next couple of days for my 5 year old to learn to cast all by himself and he fished for the next hour with a jig casting and reeling casting and reeling. He's totally HOOKED now. Greatest family time together. Can't wait to go back soon. Thank you Sly Park for all your friendliness.

Disappointed .. 

Review by Wounded Vets on 4/11/17 7:56 AM

Not enought room for everything rangers would not leave us alone they would come early in the mornings to bother our women about things done by previous campers as the men slept in and to top it all off we were all retired or active veterans not some teenage high school group. all and all beautiful but will not return

Great place.. 

Review by Neals on 11/29/16 8:56 AM

Beautiful camping. Great place to catch fish and relax.

Great Park.. 

Review by Mike on 11/18/16 11:17 PM

Well kept. Some of the nicest tent camping places I've ever seen. Only problem, I have a Fifth Wheel and the roads are narrow to say the least and if you run into oncoming traffic in certain areas...Yikes. Staff was great and would go there again.

Pinecone Strip Family Camp site.. 

Review by Greg on 11/8/16 11:30 AM

Great campsite and camping experience! Easy to check in and we located our campsite without any problems (clearly marked). We were a group of cub scouts and these camp sites are very kid friendly. The only reason I did not rate it 5 stars was because neither Sly Park nor the Rangers mentioned that the fresh running water was not operational. Had we known, we would have made provision and brought more water for drinking and washing. Other than that, great venue! We will be back!

Great place.. 

Review by Wel on 11/8/16 8:10 AM

Good price... beautiful place....

Team Camp.. 

Review by Coach_CyclingDEV on 11/1/16 10:38 AM

We had 50 of us up there for the last weekend in October. The kids had an amazing time, the location was perfect with instant access to great mountain bike trails. We plan on coming back!

Great time.. 

Review by StacyAgnos on 10/27/16 7:06 PM

This was our first camping trip in our own trailer and we are so glad we picked Sly Park to share our experience! It was clean, quiet, well kept, and beautiful! Our neighbors were awesome and we enjoyed getting to know them as well. The only complaint I have is that its a bummer that dogs can't go in the water. I understand why, but it sure was hard having two dogs there and not allowing them to go near the water. :) Our site was very spacious and we will definitely come again! :)

Stonebreaker.. 

Review by JAM on 10/25/16 7:07 AM

I think fairly priced, and good amenities in comparison with what you would have at any state or fed campground. The ONLY thing I wished they would do is open the rest of the campground up!

School Camp.. 

Review by Doug on 10/24/16 2:21 PM

Took a group of 20 students to group campsite #5 for 2 nights and it was amazing! Access to the water, open spaces, and plenty of spots to camp. The only downside was the bathrooms were located by the kitchen so you would get whiffs of the smell while you were cooking.

Beautiful jewel so close to civilization.. 

Review by Mary L on 10/11/16 1:14 PM

My husband and I spent Thurs-Sunday at Pinecone campground. Loved every second of it!!! Although we had been here years earlier somehow I had blocked that experience out of my memory until the second day then it came flooding back how much fun we had that time with our kids and dogs. We had just as much fun this time. Beautiful weather, quiet campground for the most part, all of our neighbors quieted down after 10pm, loved the huge fire we built, pretty clean bathrooms although one did run out of tp but we have our own anyway. Really close to Apple Hill so we went exploring on Friday and Saturday and beat all the weekend crowds. We had a great time and I am looking forward to coming back soon. All the staff were very friendly and where else can you spend 3 nights for $108.00??? Great deal!

Lots of bugs.. 

Review by monkeymome3 on 10/11/16 9:07 AM

We were in the Pinecone Loop #15, excellent water view campsite. The beach is really rocky and the rocks are kind of sharp. Using the lake was easy because the area was not heavily used on this late fall weekend. Not heavily used by people but heavily populated by bugs. The gnats were so bad we had to eat indoors. We had great neighbors that didn't stay up late or be loud. There are restrictions on boat flow on the lake as well as restrictions on generator use that seemed a little too extreme. I was glad no one used their generators at 7am as was permitted. The bathroom ran out of toilet paper by Saturday night. All in all, after reading reviews, I think I wouldn't come back in the heavily populated times, like the summer, for a peaceful family trip. Also the $15 a day parking for our guests who were in a tent was a little much.

Meth heads and smoke.. 

Review by KBF on 10/11/16 8:47 AM

Should have turned around and gone back home. Camped next to meth heads and drunks and no rangers or camp hosts was to be seen. The hike around the lake was very nice

Bees and Loud Music.. 

Review by TLD on 10/4/16 12:05 PM

So unhappy we turned around and went back home the same night we arrived. Bees were everywhere. Our neighbors were a group of about 8 disrespectful and aggressive-looking men (no women at all) who played their music so loud that the entire campground could hear it. The rangers and hosts (although very friendly) circled around several times for the few hours we were there and did absolutely nothing about the loud music. This place is a party hot-spot now, so if your looking for a peaceful family get away - forget it. Very sad...been going here for years, but probably not anymore.

Family Camping.. 

Review by Family Trip on 10/4/16 1:22 AM

We recently camped for two nights. The site was clean, the restrooms were clean, and the parking area for the trailer was nice and flat. I would think the area around the fire ring would be flattened out as well to prevent chairs from possibly tumbling over into the fire.

Fun 50th!.. 

Review by CB on 9/25/16 8:15 PM

We hosted my 50th birthday party at group area 2 the weekend of September 16th. The site is well maintained and the hosts were very friendly. They stopped by a couple of times to see if we needed anything. We had about 50 people there and the site accommodated everyone easily. No mosquitoes and just a few yellow-jackets bothered us. We had a blast!

Outstanding 50th--relax and renew.. 

Review by Rom on 9/21/16 10:06 AM

Spent the weekend of my 50th at sly park. Picturesque views, beautiful water, tons of activities (hiking boating swimming) all amidst the beauty and smell of tall rugged pines! The dogs loved it as much as the people! Just what I needed to start a new chapter in my life!

Hill top campground.. 

Review by mfs on 9/13/16 2:36 PM

Overall we had a fun weekend camping with my workmates and family. The lake was the best part.... kayaking, floating in our rafts and sandplay for the kids. But the YELLOWJACKETS in our campground were horrible when we were cooking and eating. And I think charging $15/per night for extra vehicles was too much! On the upside....nobody got stung and there were no mosquitos!

Done with Sly Park.. 

Review by JCH on 9/13/16 11:44 AM

I've given this place many tries mostly because essentially it's a beautiful lake & close. I'm done now, after 3 years of staying 3-4 times each year, I give up. Though it's a beautiful lake, the rocky shore is horrible! The shore is covered with sharp rocks everywhere, horrible for swimming & enjoying the water's edge. The place is also definitely way over-priced. The best campsites are the ones near the day use areas which are overrun during the day with the day use people. To make it worse, this year they changed the generator allowed time. It use to be quiet time from 10pm until 8am. Now generators can be only run from 7am-9am, 12pm-2pm & 5pm-8pm. With these dictated times I have to run my weekend on a schedule, I have to plan everything within these times which may seem like no big deal but it is. Now generators are waking people up at 7am & have to be off by 9am so if you don't get your breakfast done by 9am forget it. And what if you're out on a hike or on the water between 12 & 2pm returning at 2:30pm & need to run your generator for something? You are out of luck. Fitting into a schedule when I'm camping on a weekend is not a relaxing carefree time! My generator is quiet & the day use people, boats running, etc. drown out the noise mid-day anyway so this policy change is futile & the end for me coming to this lake.

Done with Sly Park.. 

Review by JCH on 9/13/16 11:43 AM

I've given this place many tries mostly because essentially it's a beautiful lake & close. I'm done now, after 3 years of staying 3-4 times each year, I give up. Though it's a beautiful lake, the rocky shore is horrible! The shore is covered with sharp rocks everywhere, horrible for swimming & enjoying the water's edge. The place is also definitely way over-priced. The best campsites are the ones near the day use areas which are overrun during the day with the day use people. To make it worse, this year they changed the generator allowed time. It use to be quiet time from 10pm until 8am. Now generators can be only run from 7am-9am, 12pm-2pm & 5pm-8pm. With these dictated times I have to run my weekend on a schedule, I have to plan everything within these times which may seem like no big deal but it is. Now generators are waking people up at 7am & have to be off by 9am so if you don't get your breakfast done by 9am forget it. And what if you're out on a hike or on the water between 12 & 2pm returning at 2:30pm & need to run your generator for something? You are out of luck. Fitting into a schedule when I'm camping on a weekend is not a relaxing carefree time! My generator is quiet & the day use people, boats running, etc. drown out the noise mid-day anyway so this policy change is futile & the end for me coming to this lake.

Great campground .. 

Review by GMA on 9/13/16 8:54 AM

Well maintained and clean campground, beautiful lake views and the water was great temperature for swimming. Camp Hosts are friendly and visible. Only downside is the meatbees. Wish the bathrooms had lights. I will say do not pick Pinecone #8 - no parking like other sites. It's on a hill with no real flat areas. Table slopes so much things fall over. Sleeping was difficult on such a pronounced slope.

Great spot for camping or day use.. 

Review by EP on 9/7/16 10:24 PM

This was our 2nd time camping in Sly this year. The park is beautiful, water temp was perfect, the view from the campsite was amazing (pine cone strip). The only negative thing was the tons of yellow jackets flying all over our campsite!!! We will definitely come back but not before we make sure they are gone.

Sierra .. 

Review by Elle on 9/7/16 2:55 PM

Beautiful views of the lake, nice campsites and friendly hosts. Only downside was the bees.

Might not return.. 

Review by Kimitch on 9/7/16 11:02 AM

It's such an amazingly beautiful place, MOST of the gate folks are very nice,BUT the camp host parked in front of Sierra made our trip miserable. He was mean, rude, and dirty. The first time he approached my daughter and myself I was a bit scared thinking he was a weirdo. I highly doubt we will camp again, it's so expensive, for NOTHING... And they charged our son and another friend $15. A night for their cars, that made the cost of the campsite, $66. A night!! Way to much for NO amenities... I did see meat bee traps , but they must be either full or old, We COULD NOT enjoy cooking or eating in our site. It was horrilbe. They do NOT patrol at night was kept up by partiers till 3 am, 2 nights, and woke up at 7 am by some jerk with a generator! And nothing was ever said...

Great Camping Experience.. 

Review by Ken and Bonnie on 9/6/16 3:04 PM

Came up on Thursday and stayed until Tuesday. Had a great experience. Camp Host's are great and WILL BE MISSED...Sorry to see them leave...

Fun weekend!.. 

Review by Camper Girl on 8/30/16 9:19 PM

Yes the meat bees/yellow jackets/aggressive flying jerks were an issue but we came prepared after dealing with them at a different camp site. Put a screened tent over the picnic table and placed some food on a plate away from the campsite, and we were pretty happy for the most part. The lake is beautiful but pretty muddy in the area we were. Next time we'll choose a different area at a nicer part of the lake. We were at he Rainbow site. Plenty of room, beautiful scenery, wish the creek had some water running to fall asleep to. Saw the Rangers drive by a lot. It was crowded, and this is a family campground so I'm surprised some posters are complaining about kids. Id say it's a wash. Many stay up late partying keeping the families awake at night, and then the pint sized, early risers wake their hungover butt up in the morning. Hey that's camping. Definitely more pricey than some nicer campgrounds I've seen. The bathrooms were pretty clean though. No showers, use the lake. Over all a fun place to camp that's relatively close to home.

not on the wknd again.. 

Review by me and my pal on 8/30/16 8:05 PM

Had major aggravation w/ the yellow jackets and small flies, compounded by happy screaming kids starting at 7:30am and then oh yeah, the parents screaming at the unhappy kids. Don't forget the poor tiny baby who cried all night (why are you camping?) and the guy who kept his truck idling all night long after being told not to by the ranger. On the bright side, rangers were all very nice and came around often. Lake is lovely and hiking trails well-marked and maintained. Heard owls and frogs at night (not the night of the idling truck of course)! Was at this park about a month ago and had similar experience (fun in lake on canoe but neighbors ran generator just for the heck of it - outside of generator hours). Have concluded that weekends are too full of inconsiderate campers so may go back during week... but no more weekends for us.

Loved it.. 

Review by Jomama on 8/30/16 11:06 AM

Very clean sites and restrooms. Our host brought us a very long hose and helped us hook up to water to fill our rv water tank. He checked on the area many times only making sure everything was going well not ever being too nosy. Our host took immediate action when I mentioned someone was at the beach shooting a bow and arrow at a target. The ranger sold us fire wood and even carried it from the street to our fire pit. Very nice! Good times I will come again.

Awesome Sly Park Trip.. 

Review by FamilyOfSeven on 8/30/16 9:42 AM

We came up Thursday - Sunday and it was amazing. Yes the bees and flies make you feel crazy but next year we'll come prepared with more traps and probably a screened in porch. Overall this was a great spot for kids - we had 4 running wild and our site was nice and big and allowed for them to roam. I won't tell you where our site was because then you'll take it. Lake time made up for the no showers, the bathrooms are clean for vault toilets and the Rangers frequently drive by. I agree with everyone else that $15 per extra car is steep but overall and in comparison to other campgrounds we've been to in Northern California Sly Park was a hit. We'll be making this an annual trip and next year probably stay a week!

Nice lake, but...... 

Review by starfish galaxy on 8/29/16 12:59 AM

When we arrived there was someone using our campsite for day use, even though there were at least 4 signs that we saw saying it was not for day use. This person seemed upset that we were asking her to move, even though the actual day use was right next door..... Campground host was very friendly. Yellow jackets were terrible! Also, day use is allowed until 9pm. There was a large party in day use until 9pm on the dot-think next time we won't camp near the day use area. Joggers, bikers, try to cut through the campsite, despite the signs. Other than that, a nice peaceful place. Lots of stars at night. Wear water shoes to swim in the lake.

Awesome Experience 8-14-16 - 8-19-16.. 

Review by chris on 8/24/16 6:13 PM

Great campsites and lake was clean, weather good and lots of sunshine. On the down side there were some noisy drinkers that partied into the night (4am) but I simply told the camp host and they promptly dealt with it (within minutes) This is a very well run camp w/ rangers and camp hosts that will help you with just about anything. Yellow jackets and meat bees were an issue (bee warned) lol , but camp host told us to how to make trap out of water bowl / stick and meat.. very effective over 5 days there. (drowned over 70) with the reduced numbers of yellow jackets it was ok. Rented kayaks from SIERRA OUTDOORS , and they delivered to lake at campsite. frequent dips in lake made it possible to do the trip with no showers. Overall this was a kick ass camping trip. THANKS SLY PARK AND THE EXCELLENT CAMP HOSTS .

Pro's and Con's.. 

Review by CJC on 8/23/16 11:49 AM

Pros: Sites are clean Cons: Sites are little on top of each other and law enforcement on water harrassed swimmers and stand up paddle boarders, yet allowed multiple boats to go beyond 5mph marker at high rates of speed, as well as one boat which was flying across the lake Friday 8-19-16 after dark. Every boater should know 5mph after dark and what a 5mph marker means.

Great place to camp usually.. 

Review by Slimurbanite on 8/21/16 10:07 AM

We have been coming here for years and love it's proximity to Sacramento. The camp sites are always very clean and they do a good job of keeping the restrooms clean. There is only one problem , the yellow jackets and small flies. They made it unbearable to just sit and enjoy the camp site. We had to resort to eating in our tent. The lake is awesome and fun to fish.

great time.. 

Review by baddad1962 on 8/20/16 1:54 AM

came in on a sunday by monday very very quit and nobody around!! outhouses well taking care of!! yellow jackets were an issue but set up traps and was better but should of brought my inclosed screen room would have been better. lake was nice bike trails were not for begginers (elevation) didnt help that.lucky to see the falls on tuesday cause went back wednesday no waterfalls.camp host very helpfull.need to go earlyer in the year to catch me some trout..

I love Sly Park.. 

Review by Maria and Steven on 8/18/16 11:48 AM

I came to sly Park 3 years ago with my camping Group and I fell in love then.. The surroundings the Lake and just the place itself. I immediately compared it to Lake Tahoe, just a smaller version of it.. I just was there this past week with my Fiancee.. I had told him how I loved this place and how I wanted him to see what I loved about it. We came Sunday and stayed thru Tuesday so it was a bit quiet and couldn't of been better. We hiked through the trails, and my Fiancee highlight was able to actually see a nice flowing Waterfall.. I truly enjoyed it too, as in the past it was a bit dry...my over all experience yet again.. WONDERFUL.. I have recommended this place to family and friends.. they also loved SLYPARK too.. so I will be back before winter and as often as I can..

Night in Rainbow site.. 

Review by camper from Davis on 8/18/16 9:21 AM

Stayed 1 Monday night in August with my teenage daughter, her friend and another mom. I am glad we came after Sacramento schools were back in session and on a weeknight because the campground was quiet and mostly empty. The sites were very close together so a crowded site would not have been as nice. The bathrooms were clean, the lake was lovely and we had a great time. I think the trail junctions on the way to the waterfall could have been marked more clearly. And for this August, the yellow jackets were really problem. We didn't have a netting tent for over our table, but if I came again I would. And we were not even cooking meat and everything stayed in containers and in the ice chest. You can't beat the ease of the location, but I wouldn't go during summer on the weekend. Way too cramped if full. We enjoyed it and timed it right though.

Been going to Sly Park over 20 years. . . .. 

Review by Tammy on 8/17/16 12:10 PM

Our family loves Sly Park. We swim, fish and hike. It has something for us, our kids and grandkids.. Rangers and Camp Host were nice. The cost of the 2nd car ($15) is a little steep though.

 

Back to information page


Copyright (C) 2008-2014 WebReserv.com