Cornerstone Ranch

Princeton, Massachusetts

Reviews for Cornerstone Ranch

50 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

First time at Cornerstone.. 

Review by Nicole on 12/10/14 10:26 AM

I found the ranch to be very pleasant. The ride was great and everyone who worked there was really nice. The one downside is that the location is a bit out of the way but even I, who gets lost going almost anywhere, did fine with google maps. I would recommend this ranch and I plan to go back soon!

Groupon.. 

Review by Johnster on 12/9/14 9:11 AM

Had a great time at the ranch. The staff was very helpful and we had a lovely experience.

Professional, Organized, Smooth.. 

Review by Shannon on 12/3/14 7:56 PM

We went for our trail ride a couple of weekends ago and had a wonderful experience. The owners and helpers were professional at all times, courteous, friendly and full of knowledge. I especially appreciate the fact that they rescue horses from abusive situations and rehabilitate these horses to have a well treated full life filled with love. I would recommend Cornerstone Ranch and we will be back. Thank you again. Shannon and Bob

Great Ride.. 

Review by Bob on 11/28/14 5:11 PM

We really had a great time on our trail ride. First time for my grandson and he really enjoyed it. Horses are gentle and know trail. Great views of princeton, Boston and Woods. I would highly recommend this ride.

Great Family Experience.. 

Review by Robin on 11/27/14 7:34 AM

My family and I did the 2 hour trail ride. We all had a wonderful time. The views were spectacular and the staff was frfriendly, helpful and funny. We will be back!

Perfect Day.. 

Review by Brendan on 11/20/14 10:43 AM

Excellent, exactly what my girl friend and I needed. What a day, well worth the short trip out of Boston. Thank you

Karen.. 

Review by Karen on 11/16/14 7:44 PM

My son and I went on the 2 hr trail ride which was a gift from my two sons. The oldest son couldn't participate due to being out of the country but we had the best time. Everyone at the ranch is very nice! I have been on trail rides before but this one far exceeds any other. It is truly 2 hours and full of many different types of terrain. The views are spectacular and the horses are beautiful. I recommend anyone looking for a great adventure to take the trail ride at Cornerstone Ranch. This was money well spent. Fall was such a wonderful time to go. Thank you Cornerstone Ranch for a great experience.

Awsome Time.. 

Review by Nancy Martin on 11/11/14 6:35 PM

I took my daughter and her little sister there it was a gift for getting honor roll all year. Our first ride was supposed to be on Saturday Nov 8th however we were late because we got lost ..but Sue was very nice to say we could come back on Tuesday November 11 there was no school I booked that time and my girls had a great time we can't wait to go back..I would recommend this place to anyone they were very kind and caring about who rides what horse so ty to Ginger And skylor

A Good Time for Beginners.. 

Review by Marina on 11/8/14 12:19 PM

We purchased a groupon for a trail ride for two. Although, the weather was unpleasant, all of the employees were very helpful, kind, and pleasant. It was evident that they care about the horses very much and treat them well. Although the weather didn't allow for the best of views, the ride was a nice length and the horses were gentle and well-behaved. I hadn't ridden since I was young, so this was nice relaxing experience to get back into riding. I would say that if you are a more advanced rider, this trail ride isn't for you because it is a single file, slower moving ride, but if you are looking for a pleasant fall or spring activity, particularly with older children, this is the place for you.

Loved it!! .. 

Review by Stj on 11/6/14 3:53 PM

Everyone there was very nice and knowledgable! I recommend this ranch to anyone especially if you've never ridden before. I was very nervous but it was a great experience!!

Great ride!.. 

Review by Lynessa on 11/5/14 12:03 PM

I chose this ranch because of it's mission and the referral of some friends and I wasn't disappointed. I surprised my 11 year old daughter with a 1 hour trail ride for her birthday. It was her first time on a horse and she absolutely loved it. We both had a great time and I thought the trail guide was very good and the horses where gentle and calm. I would definitely recommend this ranch to my friends.

Less than impressive.. 

Review by Lisa on 11/2/14 8:21 PM

My sisters and I had been to Cornerstone Ranch about a year or so ago and had a really nice time. When the groupon came up again we didn't hesitate getting a group together for a trail ride. We showed up at least 30 minutes early before the ride as requested by the ranch but still waited quite a while for anyone from the ranch to come get us. It it took a long time to match horses to riders, and a lot of coaxing to convince the horses to set out. The guide was very nice enough but instead of riding with us she walked in front of us and texted on her phone the entire time. We didn't canter or trot, the horses seemed visibly tired and the ride was a bit short. Though I think the mission of the ranch is a good one, this was disappointment after the nice experience we had previously.

A beautiful fall horseback ride!.. 

Review by Beth on 11/1/14 4:00 PM

I haven't been on a horse for over 30 years and so I wanted to enjoy a fall ride. I took my friend for a ride. We thoroughly enjoyed the two hours through the woods. The instructors were patient and professional in their handling our whole group. (There was a family of 5 there with 3 kids) They matched each horse with our personality, assisted us on getting on and off. They gave us some pointers and away we went! I would definately do this again next year!

Wonderful experience.. 

Review by linger on 10/23/14 7:54 PM

hi...went a few weeks ago with my grandson....he had never ridden and it had been a long time for me....The guides were very thorough in their explanations of how to mount and ride....The trail itself was just long enough for a good experience on a horse....Thanks to you all...be back in the spring....

Good experience.. 

Review by JimLin on 10/15/14 10:48 AM

Overall, we enjoyed our 2 hour trail ride at Cornerstone Ranch. It was a nice fall day and the trail was very colorful. The guide was very pleasant and patient. The trail was one hour out and one hour back with some very nice views. Unfortunately, the trail was quite muddy due to the recent rain and the horses were slopping through a lot of mud and puddles (no fault to the owners). We had 10 riders in our group and followed in single file for the whole ride. My experience would have been better if we were able to ride tandem so my husband and I could talk to each other during the ride. We have been on other rides and were able to ride side by side and also pick up a little pace into a gallup. Other than that it was a very pleasant day and we are glad we went.

Great experience!.. 

Review by Sarah on 10/8/14 7:59 PM

Had a great time on the 1-hour trail ride with a Groupon! The scenery was nice and the horses were calm and controlled - it was well worth the drive out from Boston!

Medicore.. 

Review by Roger on 10/8/14 5:24 AM

Been on several guided rides; by far this was the most blah; the guide was allof and really no interaction; one factor was that this was a big group( it should have been split in two

Awesome!.. 

Review by Crittercrazy on 10/2/14 8:28 AM

I have been to Cornerstone several times. Awesome trail riding! The horses are all very sweet and the owners are great with beginners and first time riders. Looking forward to many more trail rides with Cornerstone!

Fabulous Time.. 

Review by Johnson/Wells Family on 9/30/14 2:07 PM

My entire family did the two-hour trail rides on two weekends. Everyone had a wonderful time and would not hesitate for a moment to come back. We are all thinking about lessons as well as sleigh rides, etc.. Everyone at Cornerstone Ranch is down to earth and love what they do which is very apparent. They also offer Groupon coupons, but even without the prices are very reasonable! We would highly recommend to anyone. You will not be disappointed! Thank you to everyone at Cornerstone Ranch for such great times!!!!

Very Enjoyable.. 

Review by Aunt on 9/24/14 7:05 PM

Gave my 15 year old nephew a trail ride as one of his Christmas gifts. We had a great time. It was supposed to be one hour and we got a full hour ride. I had used a Groupon so the price was wonderful. I think folks will really enjoy the ranch, the people who work there, and the horses. I plan on going back in the future with my younger nephew.

Great time.. 

Review by Robin and Greg on 9/24/14 10:00 AM

We had a great two hour ride. We even saw a moose during the ride. The folks there were wonderful. The horses were well kept and well trained. We would recommend Cornerstone ranch to anyone.

Had a great time.. 

Review by 2 from Stow on 9/16/14 7:16 AM

We also purchased the Groupon for a two hour trail ride. My husband is a beginner, and I am only a little more experienced, but we both really enjoyed the scenery and our guides. It had been a long time since either of us had ridden so we were secretly grateful that we went back to the barn when we were offered to go for a longer loop that would keep us on the trails for a full 2 hours. The people handling the ranch are very thoughtful. There is a very clean portapotty at the parking lot and the helmets are all cleaned regularly. We had a great time and would go back for a sleigh ride this winter.

Great Outing.. 

Review by Betsy on 9/15/14 5:45 PM

Despite that the ride was suppose to be 1 hour and it only lasted 45 minutes we still had a great time. I took my 14 year old daughter horse back riding (she for the first time). She and I had a great time. I loved watching her on Hope. She was so excited and Hope was the perfect horse for her. I will definitely take her back again and ask for the same horse. As for me I had a great time on Malarky.

Great Experience.. 

Review by Brenda on 9/12/14 6:48 AM

We found Cornerstone on Groupon and had a wonderful time. We had the two hour trail ride. It was a gift for my daughter's birthday. We would definitely go again.

Had a great time.. 

Review by Alexa on 9/10/14 8:23 AM

I went with my husband and 12 year old daughter. (had bought a Groupon). This was a bucket list item for me as I've never been on a horse, much less been on a one hour ride. We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves from beginning to end. All of the people there clearly loved the horses and were very welcoming to us. One trail guide was one of the sisters who owns/works her Mom's ranch - it was great to hear how her family is so dedicated to the horses. She did a great job of matching the horses to our personalities - it made for such a relaxing ride through the woods, open dirt roads and under the power lines. My only complaint .... I should've booked 2 hours! Next time.

A fun ride on a Saturday morning.. 

Review by :-) on 9/4/14 3:18 PM

Very nice trail ride. I took my partner. It was her first time riding a horse and it was a fun and pleasant ride for her. The horses seemed well cared for and the staff was nice. My only complaint would be that the helmets were a little dirty, but it is difficult to maintain equipment used by a number of others and it wasn't horrible. The only "rest room" facility is a porta-potty in the parking area, but it seemed clean and wasn't bad to use. I would definitely recommend Cornerstone Ranch. They are out of the way down a gravel road but this just makes the trail ride experience more of a fun adventure. I would definitely go riding there again!

trail ride.. 

Review by Ally on 9/3/14 1:19 PM

Was a good beginner trail ride. Only walked but with so many that knew nothing about horses what can you expect. The folks at Cornerstone clearly care about their horses and the animals were in good condition. Price was great. People were very nice.

2 hour trail ride.. 

Review by 2 hour trail ride on 9/2/14 7:50 AM

While the trail ride itself was fun, I am rating it a 3 overall because while it was supposed to be a 2 hour trail ride, it was only an hour and 35 minutes. Why sell a 2 hour trail ride when it isn't? I also saw reviews that read that the 1 hour trail ride was 35 minutes. For the price I paid on Groupon it was a great deal but I would never pay $70 for the same thing.

Wonderful Time.. 

Review by SteveBowl on 8/28/14 6:27 AM

My daughter heard me talking about growing up on a horse farm and purchased a trail ride for two on Groupon. I hadn't been on a horse in 35 years after owning one as a teen. We picked two that reminded me of the Palominos from my youth. The hour long ride with a dozen other folks was just right. The staff was helpful and professional and the horses were all well behaved. We'll go back with more of my family next year and hopefully take advantage of winter sleigh rides too.

Good Experience.. 

Review by Allen on 8/26/14 7:52 AM

All in all it was a great experience. Horses were well cared for and great for novice riders. Everyone in our group had a great time. Bring your own helmet. Helmets were gross.... grounds could be better kept, but once we got out on the trails it was wonderful.

Never again. Dangerous place. .. 

Review by Alex on 8/21/14 1:30 AM

Okay, where should I start? First let me say that I have been here before and I had a pretty decent experience, nothing out of the ordinary happened for me to rate it one star, until today. Because of this experience I decided to return, today actually. I am writing this as I am on my way home from this ranch. To begin, there are no bathrooms, just a single port-potty in the corner of the parking lot. Expect to bring a GPS, because trust me, you will be lost without one. Once I got there, the owner, Sue greeted us very nicely and told me to fill out a waiver. I was standing to the side and more people began to arrive (I got there a bit early). Then she once again greeted us all and told us to fill out a waiver and grab a helmet (bring your own if you have one, they are rather gross). Then Sue gave me this look because she saw that I was not doing either one of them (I had already filled out a waiver and was waiting for people to move out of the helmet bin!). She gave me this look and said "Can you do that?" as if I am some idiot who cannot follow directions. I responded, "Yes, just waiting for them to move", and she laughed sarcastically. Then she assigned each of us a horse, I got on it and had to do some "warm-ups", they seemed pretty useless, and the way she was talking to me was just as if I was some idiot who could not follow directions. (Mind you, I grew up ridding horses, so I know a thing or two about horse safety). Okay so we begin ridding, and before we even get to the beginning of the trail, a horse decides to FALL DOWN! Yes! The horse was bothered by the bugs (which there were a lot of, I understand) but there was a ridder on it! The horse fell on the ground and started kicking all over the place, thank God the ridder was not injured. But I was just in shock that this even happened, they claim on their website that their horses are very well trained, but that clearly is NOT the case. How could a horse just fall down WITH A RIDDER! Then to make matters worse, Sue starts to laugh and makes a joke out of it to not make it seem like the situation is bad. Sue also sais that the girl should continue ridding the horse, WHAT?! How is this even remotely okay? We begin the trail ride, and the horses are SO SLOW! I understand, it is a trail ride, but if you are looking for something genuine with horses, DO NOT COME HERE! This place is absolutely not for horseback ridding, its more for scenery and just saying you have been horseback ridding. During the trial all the horses kept stopping because the bugs were going insane! This ranch really needs to invest in some bug spray. So everything is going as good as it can get, when suddenly there is a horse running across the street! With a ridder running after it! Then Sue gets off her horse, and stops the running horse. The runner is out of breath (mind you she works at the ranch). So if an employee who works with these horses everyday can't handle them, then who can? The trail finally ended, they offer to take pictures which is nice. Then all the employees say bye to you at least 5x's each, almost as a reminder to leave them a tip. Like, might as well say, "Don't forget the tip!", and I would have given them one if I felt like they deserved it. But after my experience today I can honestly say that I will NEVER come back here again. I still cannot believe that the horse decided to fall over with a ridder, I am still in utter disbelief. Once again, please reconsider before you come here. There may be great reviews but please consider this one.

Perfect.... 

Review by Dragonfly on 8/20/14 10:47 AM

My husband took our 11 year old, she had been on a horse before, but he had not. They had a fabulous time and can not wait to go again. Clean, professional, horses well taken care of, just perfect...

Great time.. 

Review by LG on 8/15/14 9:05 PM

My 11 yr old daughter and I went on a trail ride at Cornerstone ranch. Everyone was helpful and put our minds at ease. The horses were lovely and well taken care of. We will go back with the rest of the family in the Fall.Great place for family time.

Serene.. 

Review by Jayjay on 8/14/14 6:24 AM

I stumbled upon this on groupon and thought what a good surprise mini vacation for my girlfriend. Us and two of our friends all trooped to northborough and spent the weekend in motel 6, not recommended, and then early Sunday morning made our way to cornerstone ranch. We made it there 30 min before like instructed. They have a beautiful set of land and many corrals and open spaces for the horses. It had rained the day before so it was a bit muddy. We checked in and did our exercises and then we were off. It was so much fun. My girlfriend and I as well as our friends had such a blast and would return. We just wish there was a place closer to us that offered the same service.

Great for beginners.. 

Review by Jess on 8/13/14 1:59 PM

My mom expressed interest in riding again sometime in her life after not having ridden for many many years. So I bought a Groupon for a 2 hour trail ride at Cornerstone Ranch as a present for her 70th birthday. Although my mom was apprehensive about actually getting back on a horse after so many years, the horses at Cornerstone Ranch are very gentle and very accustomed to being ridden on these trail rides. You can tell that all the horses are very well taken care of, and the staff was great. I will say that as someone with a lot of riding experience, it was not all that exciting. Even my mom was wishing that there had been a chance for a little trotting or at least a slightly faster pace (very slow walk, with lots of stops for horses that started grazing on the side of the trail with inexperienced riders that couldn't keep their horses' head up!). ONE VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: Be sure to bring/wear bug spray and/or sunscreen! The horses got fly spray, but there was none for the humans and we got bitten alive while in the woods! In sum, great ride for a beginner/novice to horseback riding, and a fun activity to do with someone that would like to experience just being on a horse.

Awesome experience.. 

Review by Cornerstone Ranch on 8/6/14 4:17 PM

Definitely recommend Cornerstone Ranch for horseback riding. I took my 17 yo daughter for her first ride. Bought Groupon 2 hour ride. It was very easy to redeem and plenty of reservation times were available. We plan to go back soon. Wooded trails were well maintained and horses were gentle. Stff was extremely patient too. Thank you very much.

Great experience.. 

Review by Michael on 8/5/14 6:36 PM

My wife and I took advantage of an Amazon 2 for the price of 1 offer and we went on the one hour ride. It was a lot of fun. The horses are well cared for and easy to ride. We had some issue redeeming our deal code online, but when I contacted Sue at Cornerstone Ranch, she was extremely helpful and took care of the issue. We would recommend this to anyone. My wife had never ridden a horse before and would certainly go again after the wonderful experience we had.

1 hr. ride - Cornerstone.. 

Review by Maxie on 8/5/14 7:32 AM

Did this ride because of finding a groupon - had not known about Cornerstone. My granddaughter and I went for a one hr. ride because she was very apprehensive about horse riding. Horses were just sweet and we had a really great trail ride. Staff was friendly and helpful. Horses pretty much followed each other so having no riding experience is not a problem. I will go back another time -- so glad I found this ranch.

Great Ride.. 

Review by Bob on 7/24/14 3:25 PM

This was the second ride we have made. It was a great trip, horses handle well and seem to know about horseback riding that riders. Excellent way to relax and lossen joints on a two hour ride. We have purchased another groupon already.

Fun time .. 

Review by Leigh on 7/24/14 6:26 AM

I bought a Groupon for a 4-person one-hour ride. When the code didn't work initially, Sue was easy to reach via email and quickly resolved the issue for us. My 3 friends had limited riding experience, and the horses were well-mannered and well-behaved. Good for people looking for a new experience or a beautiful ride.

Fantastic!.. 

Review by Carol on 7/23/14 7:44 PM

We took my husband and two grand daughters for Father's Day. It was a blast. We then went back a month later. Sue is very professional and helpful. Horses are gentle. We want to go back for two hour ride in the fall. Thanks!

awsome.. 

Review by Debbie on 7/22/14 8:22 AM

I would recommend this farm to anyone. The horses are very gentle and a lot of fun to ride The trail ride was a lot of fun. I went there not to sure of riding, but the staff/owner told me that I would enjoy it. I did. In fact I went back to do it again the following week. I rode a small horse the first week, the second week I rode a much larger horse. I enjoyed both trips. The horses are so friendly and very gentle. I would go back with out a doubt if I get the chance to.

awesome.. 

Review by amy on 7/17/14 9:55 AM

My husband, daughter and myself went here for the 2 hour trail ride and it was awesome! I have already recommended it to a few people and will probably be back in the fall when the weather is a little cooler. They are great horses and the staff/owner are very friendly and professional! 5 stars from us for sure!!

professional .. 

Review by From MA on 7/9/14 10:09 AM

As a customer, I would like to apologize for a misunderstanding at the ranch. However, the owner helped to resolve the issue in a professional manner by showing great attitude and concern about her customers and business.

Horses were beautiful and lovely.. 

Review by J on 7/9/14 9:56 AM

Caring people who abate concerns and anxiety in a professional manner. Horses were beautiful and lovely.

Pleasantly Pleased.. 

Review by Always and forever on 7/8/14 8:19 AM

As most of the others we purchased a Groupon for a 2 hour trail ride we showed up 30 min early as instructed in the on line site but waited 20 min before the owner or horses showed up. The horses were watered and fed and we mounted up. After a quick lesson in how not to fall off and how to turn we were off. Each horse basically followed the horse one in front of it and little knowledge in riding was needed with the exception of a few taps to the horse to pick up speed. All in all in was a beautiful day a lovely ride and a nice pace. If your looking to ride like a cowboy in the movies or think you'll be flying down the trails this is not for you. But if you would like a nice trail ride on a wonderful animal this may be what you want. I was a bit disappointed by the signs asking for donations for the horses but with all the Groupons being used I can see how it's needed. $45 with the tip for 2hours of time is not all that bad and we had fun!

2-hour trial ride bought from GroupOn.. 

Review by Cat and John on 7/5/14 3:37 PM

We bought a Groupon for a 2-hour trail ride. Sue was extremely friendly, helpful and professional. The horses were beautiful and we felt comfortable riding them. The trail was gorgeous and Sue was a great instructor throughout. We definitely recommend checking out Cornerstone Ranch!

Awesome.. 

Review by Catherine&Nik on 6/26/14 9:30 PM

I bought the groupon for the 2 hour ride. They have a professional setup and give a mini lesson before riding. It was a beautiful day and a beautiful trail. Sue was a great trail leader. The horses were great. Thanks for the nice ride.

wonderful day at Cornerstone ranch!.. 

Review by debcaroline on 6/26/14 9:21 PM

I found the Ranch online and purchased two groupon tickets. The day I went for the 2 hour ride was a beatiful one and I as well as my daughter really enjoyed the trail ride. The horses were well cared for and very gentle, doing the entire 2 hour ride without any issues. It was a long and beautiful ride and the horses followed each other and were strong and gentle. I cannot wait to do this again..thanks Sue and your family for a wonderful day.

Awesome!.. 

Review by Carol on 6/26/14 7:35 PM

We purchased a groupon for four to take our grandchildren horseback riding. The horses were beautiful and Sue was awesome. We are going again with my daughter and her boyfriend. I highly recommend it. Arrive early visit the other horses, goat and donkey. The cost is extremely reasonable so tip well.we need places like this to continue on so others can enjoy it.

 

Back to information page


Copyright (C) 2008-2014 WebReserv.com