Cornerstone Ranch

Princeton, Massachusetts

Reviews for Cornerstone Ranch

50 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

Great Ride.. 

Review by Bob on 7/24/14 3:25 PM

This was the second ride we have made. It was a great trip, horses handle well and seem to know about horseback riding that riders. Excellent way to relax and lossen joints on a two hour ride. We have purchased another groupon already.

Fun time .. 

Review by Leigh on 7/24/14 6:26 AM

I bought a Groupon for a 4-person one-hour ride. When the code didn't work initially, Sue was easy to reach via email and quickly resolved the issue for us. My 3 friends had limited riding experience, and the horses were well-mannered and well-behaved. Good for people looking for a new experience or a beautiful ride.

Fantastic!.. 

Review by Carol on 7/23/14 7:44 PM

We took my husband and two grand daughters for Father's Day. It was a blast. We then went back a month later. Sue is very professional and helpful. Horses are gentle. We want to go back for two hour ride in the fall. Thanks!

awsome.. 

Review by Debbie on 7/22/14 8:22 AM

I would recommend this farm to anyone. The horses are very gentle and a lot of fun to ride The trail ride was a lot of fun. I went there not to sure of riding, but the staff/owner told me that I would enjoy it. I did. In fact I went back to do it again the following week. I rode a small horse the first week, the second week I rode a much larger horse. I enjoyed both trips. The horses are so friendly and very gentle. I would go back with out a doubt if I get the chance to.

awesome.. 

Review by amy on 7/17/14 9:55 AM

My husband, daughter and myself went here for the 2 hour trail ride and it was awesome! I have already recommended it to a few people and will probably be back in the fall when the weather is a little cooler. They are great horses and the staff/owner are very friendly and professional! 5 stars from us for sure!!

professional .. 

Review by From MA on 7/9/14 10:09 AM

As a customer, I would like to apologize for a misunderstanding at the ranch. However, the owner helped to resolve the issue in a professional manner by showing great attitude and concern about her customers and business.

Horses were beautiful and lovely.. 

Review by J on 7/9/14 9:56 AM

Caring people who abate concerns and anxiety in a professional manner. Horses were beautiful and lovely.

Pleasantly Pleased.. 

Review by Always and forever on 7/8/14 8:19 AM

As most of the others we purchased a Groupon for a 2 hour trail ride we showed up 30 min early as instructed in the on line site but waited 20 min before the owner or horses showed up. The horses were watered and fed and we mounted up. After a quick lesson in how not to fall off and how to turn we were off. Each horse basically followed the horse one in front of it and little knowledge in riding was needed with the exception of a few taps to the horse to pick up speed. All in all in was a beautiful day a lovely ride and a nice pace. If your looking to ride like a cowboy in the movies or think you'll be flying down the trails this is not for you. But if you would like a nice trail ride on a wonderful animal this may be what you want. I was a bit disappointed by the signs asking for donations for the horses but with all the Groupons being used I can see how it's needed. $45 with the tip for 2hours of time is not all that bad and we had fun!

2-hour trial ride bought from GroupOn.. 

Review by Cat and John on 7/5/14 3:37 PM

We bought a Groupon for a 2-hour trail ride. Sue was extremely friendly, helpful and professional. The horses were beautiful and we felt comfortable riding them. The trail was gorgeous and Sue was a great instructor throughout. We definitely recommend checking out Cornerstone Ranch!

Awesome.. 

Review by Catherine&Nik on 6/26/14 9:30 PM

I bought the groupon for the 2 hour ride. They have a professional setup and give a mini lesson before riding. It was a beautiful day and a beautiful trail. Sue was a great trail leader. The horses were great. Thanks for the nice ride.

wonderful day at Cornerstone ranch!.. 

Review by debcaroline on 6/26/14 9:21 PM

I found the Ranch online and purchased two groupon tickets. The day I went for the 2 hour ride was a beatiful one and I as well as my daughter really enjoyed the trail ride. The horses were well cared for and very gentle, doing the entire 2 hour ride without any issues. It was a long and beautiful ride and the horses followed each other and were strong and gentle. I cannot wait to do this again..thanks Sue and your family for a wonderful day.

Awesome!.. 

Review by Carol on 6/26/14 7:35 PM

We purchased a groupon for four to take our grandchildren horseback riding. The horses were beautiful and Sue was awesome. We are going again with my daughter and her boyfriend. I highly recommend it. Arrive early visit the other horses, goat and donkey. The cost is extremely reasonable so tip well.we need places like this to continue on so others can enjoy it.

We had a blast!.. 

Review by Kristen & Marianne on 6/12/14 7:51 AM

I bought the 2 hour trail ride for my horse loving mom as Christmas, our ride was Sunday June 1st and we both loved every minute if it. Beautiful ride, friendly (and funny) staff and very professionally run business. All of the animals at Cornerstone are very well taken care of and seem happy to be there! Goes a long way for us as huge animal lovers. Other reviews speak to making a reservation... umm yeah of course you need a reservation. They only have so many horses! Smarten up people. The reservation process couldn't have been simpler if you read and followed the directions. Groupon is a discounted site for consumers to experience what they otherwise wouldn't due to expense. I would not only return at full price but tip as you are supposed to! Keep up the good work Cornerstone!!! Love to my girl Hope and that adorable donkey :)

I'm Going Back!.. 

Review by Sarah on 5/29/14 10:27 AM

The farm workers were so caring and knowledgeable. My only regret is that I was farther back in the line, and could not talk to Sue more about the ranch and its mission! After the first introduction, Sue knew everyone's name, and would check in with each rider personally throughout the trip. The ride was along power lines, but you hardly noticed after a little while. I bought my ticket on GroupMe for a 2 hour ride. It was very worth it for the price.

This place SUCKED.. 

Review by SHEBA on 5/26/14 7:00 AM

Very unprofessional service. I went there for my anniversary and drove 2 hours out from Boston. We bought our ticket through Groupon. My boyfriend made reservations specifically for our anniversary day and the woman Sue said we weren't on the list and basically just told us to leave even though she had 2 extra horses, AND we were already on our horses. GEE shouldn't she have looked at her reservation list before she decided to put people on the horses? And I KNOW we DID make reservations because the website even asked for our weights and once the reservation was done it said "Congratulations, see you there") What really pissed me off was that when she didn't look at her "reservation list" yet, she was WILLING to use the 2 extra ponies for two people who came late. POOR customer service and she had no sympathy that we took the time to drive 2 HOURS to ride her damn horses. I will NEVER recommend this place. And when I asked how I could get a refund all she said was "OR you can just book another day". NO I will NOT drive 2 hours again for the customer service that I received from this place. Also, check out the reviews on google. Looks like there were many more people who didn't enjoy cornerstone's "customer service" either. I should have done that before buying the groupon.

Not good for a first-time rider.. 

Review by If you've NEVER ridden, don't go here on 5/22/14 11:12 AM

Having NEVER ridden a horse before, I thought Cornerstone Ranch would be a good starting point, based on their website saying they deal with all levels of riders. Not so much. After helping me on the horse, they gave some instructions for steering the horses, which was abbreviated at best. They DID ask if anyone needed a stirrup adjustment, but having never ridden before, I did not know I needed one. In hindsight, the fact that my left foot was not in a stirrup should have tipped me off, but again – rookie. It was not until I fell off my horse that they adjusted my left stirrup, but still told me to work on my balance. What I was looking forward to an enjoyable afternoon with a peaceful ride turned out to be the complete opposite. Good thing is that I’m not deterred – I’ll try riding again, but will take some lessons first.

Excellent first experience for my son.. 

Review by bcp on 5/22/14 5:07 AM

We had a terrific afternoon at Cornerstone Ranch. My 10 year old had never ridden before, and he was warmly welcomed and put at ease. Our ride was pretty and the horses were well behaved. Sue was attentive enough to ensure that all the riders had what we needed to enjoy our ride, and also allowed us space for lovely moments to enjoy both the ride and the scenery.

Lovely peaceful ride.. 

Review by Kim & Luba on 5/15/14 9:32 AM

Exactly as advertised, my daughter and I enjoyed a 1-hour guided trail ride on with the lovely horses at Cornerstone Ranch. It was a cool and windy day, and it rained off and on, but we knew we would be sitting atop a horse outdoors for an hour so we came prepared. It was my daughter's first time on a horse, and Dusty was the perfect horse for her! He was very gentle, followed her instruction well although she was very timid with the reins, and followed the lead horses. I've been to several places for similar trail rides, and all of them required that you walk the horse. This is for the safety of both the horse and the rider. I believe the few negative comments you see here are a result in a difference between expectation and reality - You will not be speeding down the trail atop a wild beast, as exciting as that sounds. However if you come to Cornerstone Ranch expecting that you will take a peaceful walk through the woods on a lovely gentle beast, and come prepared for the weather, then I believe you will be quite pleased with the experience. I recommend it for children or adults who want a good first encounter with horses, or for the urbanite who is looking for a peaceful afternoon in the woods.

Consistently great time.. 

Review by Corey on 5/13/14 4:30 AM

I had a horse growing up and have begun introducing my young, very timid daughter to riding. She loves it! Sue was very patient and understanding, very supportive! Needless to say, I now have a riding buddy! I have been to many horse ranches over the years and I am so impressed with how well all the horses are cared for. My daughter and I go back to Cornerstone as often as we can. It is a great time, the views from the trail are beautiful.

We're coming back!.. 

Review by Sue  on 5/6/14 10:31 AM

Bought Groupon for my niece who has had some riding experience. She loved the trail ride & Sue and her staff were wonderful with the horses and the customers. Our day happened to be an especially busy day and their schedule was a little off - but Sue's care for her animals and for providing good service to her customers was certainly evident. She ensured all riders were properly equipped AND reviewed the rudiments of properly managing one's horse prior to setting out. Thank you for a good day.

Fun time.. 

Review by Margaret on 5/5/14 7:43 AM

Sue was very accommodating to my kids when we got there and even went searching for extra gloves as it ended up being a chillier day than we expected. She took the time to make sure everyone was comfortable before heading out. The horses were very gentle. Louie refused to give me a little gallop when I wanted it, but that was ok. The only minor thing that I did not like was that my kids were at the very end of the line and Sue was in the front leading the group. They had miniature horses and were slower (though they could get theirs to gallop occasionally). We did have to cross roads (granted less travelled country roads, but still around a curve) and they were significantly behind the group and out of sight of Sue. It made me nervous that they were on their own so much. I did a trail ride with another organization in the past and when crossing roads, the leader stayed in the road to make sure everyone crossed safely and then went on to lead the group. They were also on their own when going up/down the steep hills. They felt a little bit nervous that most of the group was out of their sight during those times. Overall, I thought it was well worth it and would recommend it for the reduced price. Also, tipping was strongly encouraged which seemed a little odd to tip the owner.

LOVED IT!!!!.. 

Review by Val on 5/1/14 8:22 PM

My amazing husband knows I love horseback riding and found this place on Groupon and surprised me for my birthday in Feb. We have been to NH, ME and out on Caribbean Islands horseback riding. Yes, I love to run a horse but I understand it is a liability issue on these companies that they are not allowed to do so and that is ok with me. A trail ride is exactly what it is a walking trail ride. We always go during the spring, summer or fall but this time we went while there was still snow on the ground. There was about a foot or little more of snow and it was Awesome. The horses are so well trained they walked in a narrow 6 -8 inch path. Yeah they trip from time to time but they knew how to correct the issue quickly so you didn't feel like you were going to fall to the ground.. I would recommend this place over and over again. The 2 individuals on our tour were talkative which was very nice. We got to know a little about the place and the horses. So if you are looking to have a nice long trail ride take a chance and go to this place. You will enjoy.

Maggie.. 

Review by Maggie  on 4/30/14 9:16 AM

Super nice people and horses!

Louie.. 

Review by Jezebel on 4/30/14 9:07 AM

Always wanted to ride a horse but never had the courage to do so. One day I was on groupon and stumbled upon the cornerstone ranch, the deal was great and I said "let me scratch this off my bucket list". So I purchased it, it took me almost a year to schedule the ride but I finally did and I'm glad I was able to enjoy it with my brother and a wonderful horse named Louie. I will def go back and only ride Louie. He was so pleasant and funny too (he never wanted to step in the mud, so he would take me into the branches and wouldn't care about hurting me lol).......LOVED the day and the especially the people there.

Not Impressed.. 

Review by ak on 4/24/14 8:51 AM

I purchase a Groupon for a 2 hour ride, as mentioned in several other reviews it was along the power lines. We walked the whole time, very long & uneventful. I have rode horses several times over the past 10 years, I enjoy running and galloping, trotting not a favorite. It was a very muddy day, the trail conditions were pretty horrible, the horses were matted, & wet. Looked like they could use a good brushing. The experience was lack there of, I would have been very disappointed to pay full price. The should categorize the runs with each persons experience, so it would be more enjoyable.

Nice peaceful ride...Highly Recommended!!.. 

Review by Cheryl on 4/23/14 8:52 AM

I bought a group on for a 2 hour trail ride for 2 people at 1/2 price. I am not an experienced rider, although I have been on horse back a few times before. My ride was on a spring Sunday morning. It was a lovely peaceful walk through the woods and under some power lines. The horses were spaced nicely about 3 lengths from each other and the pace was at a walk. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was a very enjoyable experience.

Cornerstone Ranch.. 

Review by NH on 4/16/14 1:03 PM

First off this place is about 2 miles down a bumpy dirt road.I bought a 1 hour trail ride on groupon so I expected to be on the trail for 1 hour,but it was only about 35 -40 min on the trail so it SHOULD NOT BE CALLED A 1 HOUR TRAIL RIDE.Total RIPOFF.They tell you to get there a 1/2 hour early to sign in and fill out paper work for liability,but no one was there until 3:30 the time the trail ride was supposed to start. The 1 hour is getting helmets and getting on the horse and doing exercises so our ride didn't start until 3:50.Also a VERY SLOW ride.Save your money or find some place other than Cornerstone.Will never go back or recommend them to anyone.The only positive was the weather it was beautiful.Also the trail was very muddy so if you do want to waste your money and go wear old clothes.

GREAT afternoon on the ranch.. 

Review by Pam & Connor on 3/31/14 12:45 PM

A wonderful experience of riding through the snowy trails. My son'ts first time on a horse. Sue was very friendly and helpful and fun. Sometimes with Groupons, I don't feel people are treated the same as those paying full price. I did NOT feel this way this time. I highly recommend this ranch and hope to go back again sometime.

Great Experience .. 

Review by Valbear on 3/8/14 1:06 PM

My husband & I went on a group sleigh ride on Feb. 22nd and I had given this to him as a Christmas gift. Sue & Doug were so hospitable & Doug was our driver. The horses are beautiful & gentle, so you could have pics taken right next to them;while resting the horses, Doug gave a wonderful story about why these horses where the bells around their necks-you gotta go just to hear that! The ranch does rescue horses & we gave a gratuity for the care of them-it touches your heart to know they take in these animals & now they are safe & cared for. Go & enjoy!!!!

Not too bad.. 

Review by RB on 3/5/14 8:36 AM

I purchased a groupon for a two person, 1 hr AWESOME horse ride. Scheduling was made easy through the online reservation. Getting there was a tad difficult, and parking was tough as it is a very small parking lot. Cornerstone ranch is pretty efficient, so if you are patience, there are always cars leaving and going. The people working were very friendly, informative and very welcoming! My girl is an experienced rider and I've rode horses a few times. There was only walking done by the horses, that was sort of a bummer. Its like an experienced cyclist riding a child's bike with training wheels. We both still enjoyed ride! The horses and ranch look well taken care of.

romantic evening.. 

Review by Stephanie on 3/3/14 9:29 AM

My husband purchased a groupon for a group sliegh ride. Scheduling was made easy through the online reservation. Getting there was slightly difficult. We were told that the signage put up by farm to assist you on the back roads keeps getting taken down. Recommend GPS to get you there. The horses and equipment seemed well cared for. The dusk ride was beautiful and romantic even though it was a group ride. The serene backwoods of Princeton deliveried the atmosphere. only con: paths from parking to carriage very slippery.

Surprise Sleighride.. 

Review by Black Beauty on 2/17/14 8:54 AM

Yesterday (Feb. 16th, 2014) I surprised my Mom with a Private Sleigh Ride at Cornerstone Ranch. It was her 70th Birthday and something she has wanted to do for a long time. The property is beautiful and all the horses are well cared for. The staff was pleasant and answered all our questions. My only disappointment was the Private ride followed the Group ride so it really wasn't private. I was expecting more of a carriage and it is actually 2 bench seats facing each other. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone looking for a nice way to spend some time outdoors in a tranquil setting. This is a great way to enjoy nature!

Fun, Snowy Wagon Ride.. 

Review by Buzzy on 1/26/14 1:10 PM

Enjoyed a fun wagon ride yesterday! While hoping for a sleigh ride (lots of snow is needed) the light covering of snow on the ground plus a few flakes beginning to fall set the same atmosphere. The owner drove and was very informative, while putting the tandem horse team through a variety of maneuvers and terrain! My friend and I were early for our Groupon time slot and so we enjoyed making smores by the campfire and sipping hot cocoa with a volunteer staff member. This was a gift and we thoroughly enjoyed it! I would suggest to follow the directions on the website rather than rely strictly on GPS.

Sleigh Ride.. 

Review by Deb Mattison on 1/20/14 11:24 AM

I purchased a Groupon for a private sleigh ride for four. The purpose was for a romantic proposal for our friends. Sue could not have been more responsive to my requests or more accommodating. She went out of her way to make sure the ride was beautiful and taught us all about her ranch and the horses. Her son came along on the ride and was full of sweetness and personality. We had a great time, made great memories and it was very romantic. Thanks to Sue for ensuring a fantastic ride. We appreciate it.

Gift.. 

Review by Gift for Grandparents on 1/20/14 9:18 AM

My son paid half price from a sponsored site. After multiple cancellations they finally went yesterday. Even at half price it was not worth it. The ride lasted 15 min, the free donuts and hot cocoa were outside in 30 weather. The donuts were cold, there was no place for them to keep warm while waiting for the ride except in their car. They were very disappointed, Definitely not worth the $48.00 for two.

1 hour horseback ride.. 

Review by Briana  on 1/2/14 3:14 PM

Me and my best friend recently did the hour long horseback ride. From the minute we got there to the minute we left we had a blast! They were very friendly, informative and welcoming! My friend is an experienced rider and it was my first time but we both equally enjoyed it! They help you as much as they can see what you need and make you feel very comfortable! Awesome place to go with kids, friends, family or spouses!!!!

Wagon ride.. 

Review by Sandy & Bill on 12/28/13 7:30 PM

We had a wonderful afternoon on our wagon/sleigh ride. Beautiful horses, scenery coco and smores, Was great day to be outdoors. Very enjoyable, would like to come back in the fall.

Outstanding!!.. 

Review by Lily on 12/28/13 6:01 PM

Outstanding ride today! First trail ride at Cornerstone but certainly not my last. Owner/Trail Master Sue was so very friendly, professional and helpful; made the experience enjoyable. The horses were great, the trails and area was/were beautiful and the overall experience was very nice (complete with campfire and hot cocoa). What Fun! Perhaps I will be back for riding lessons in addition to future trails even with an hour drive still worth the trip. Thank you!! Lily

Lovely winter ride.. 

Review by Mandi on 12/13/13 10:01 PM

This was a great way to celebrate the season. Sue was a wonderful guide and Angus the dog was so welcoming and cute. My friend and I had a peaceful ride on the one hour trail. It was snowy and beautiful. If you love being outside and don't mind bundling up...go in December...it was magical. I can't to go again in the spring. Thanks so much!

Chilly Ride.. 

Review by Olive on 12/10/13 9:46 AM

The horses and staff were nice. As it being my first time ever on a horse I felt comfortable and would definitely go again.

Cornerstone Ranch.. 

Review by NH horse folk on 12/6/13 9:09 PM

The horses were sweet and even tempered. The staff was pleasant. As an experienced horse person, I was appalled that the horses did not have winter shoes on. The terrain we traveled on was extremely icy and my older mount was having trouble with her footing. She nearly went down a few times. I mentioned my concern early on in the ride and it was shrugged off. I considered just turning around. It was not fair to myself or the horse. If I had not been experienced and balanced in my seat- I easily could have fallen off. At one point the mare slipped so abruptly, she began limping on her right front leg. She eventually loosened up, and her gait evened at bit more. But the whole eide she was fighting to keep up and keep her footing. The ride should have been canceled due to poor ground conditions. I understand that you can't predict when a freeze will come, and when to fit studded shoes (which are more expensive) but the situation should have been addressed when presented.

Great Ride - thanks!.. 

Review by Katie on 12/4/13 10:54 AM

My friend and I found Cornerstone Ranch through a Groupon - it was very easy to book with them, and they were very accommodating, even though we believed we were running late. Sue led our group ride and was kind enough to ask our names and check in with us as we were riding to make sure we were comfortable. The ride was pleasant, if a little cold, but the scenery was worth it.

good time.. 

Review by lori on 11/27/13 11:26 AM

I treated my friend for a Birthday ride at Cornerstone. It was a nice way to spend time together and a great birthday gift! We had a really fun time with Sue and the horses. Sue answered numerous questions, I am very inquisitive, and she was very gracious!! We will do it again some time. It was a little bit cold, but otherwise a wonderful time!!

loved it.. 

Review by y on 11/25/13 9:59 AM

It was an awesome time, cold outside but we were dressed for the weather and nobody else had booked a ride so there was just two of us. The horses had great temperaments and were very easy to ride especially after the details and great set of instructions given by the guide. I have been horseback riding to a bunch of places before and this was by far my favorite. Extremely friendly staff, awesome horses, beautiful view, and a great overall experience

Date day ride.. 

Review by jlynn on 11/20/13 7:26 PM

This was a fantastic daytime date for me and the hubby. The staff was fantastic! I would probably go a different time of year as it was pretty cold out when we went however the scenery was beautiful. As I read in a previous comment the power lines did take away from the the serenity of the ride. Overall I would highly recommend this place for a peaceful relaxing day date!

Great for a Group.. 

Review by Colleen on 11/20/13 11:35 AM

I went with a group of friends of different experience and they were very helpful at matching us with horses that suited out comfort levels. The ride was pretty long and worth the drive and the money even though it was a bit cold in November. Gloves were a good choice! I would love to go back when it's warmer.

Great experience with a little room for improvement.. 

Review by Midfiguy on 11/13/13 7:05 AM

First off, the staff is fantastic. When we got there, we were early so we were just hanging around playing with a few of the horses and getting to know other members of the group we were riding with. Once it was time for our group to head out, Sue and the rest of the staff were great in giving us instruction and a little detail about what she was doing and some information about the horses. When all was said and done, for the 2 hour ride, we rode for about 1.5 hours, which may not sound like a long time, but it actually is. The ride is very pretty, with some of it going through woods while other is in an open trail area along some powerlines (the powerlines are not very pretty, but it's not all that bad). We did a few steep climbs and descents as well. The only area I think could use some improving is the way the ride takes place. All of the 10-15 horses ride behind one another with a decent amount of space between them. I believe they said its done this way because some of the horses are male/some are female and they sometimes don't play well together/get aggressive. Therefore, if you go with a group of people, you really don't get a chance to talk with anyone. I was maybe the 7th/8th one back in the group and I didn't get to chat with Sue at all. I spoke minimally with my family (in front and behind me). Perhaps they should break the group up into two groups with two leaders where the horses get along more so that people can ride closer or side by side, or something like that so you have someone to chat with. Otherwise, the ride can sometimes seem a bit long. However, this shouldn't detract you from doing it if you love horses. The scenary is beautiful, the horses are beautiful and the staff is great. Give it a try!

An awesome autumn activity!.. 

Review by Kris on 11/7/13 8:02 AM

Everyone at the ranch was so helpful and friendly and had a great sense of humor. I'm so glad I found it through Groupon! The trail was beautiful and the 1-hour ride had a really nice pace.

A lovely ride.. 

Review by Deb on 11/6/13 10:56 AM

This was a lovely 2-hour ride that felt like 1-hour but upon checking my cell phone at the end, indeed the time flew by! It was chilly but we bundled up. Sue was very friendly and helpful and the horses were sweet and well-behaved. This was a nice way to get "off-line" for a couple of hours and simply enjoy the outdoors. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because Sue is impossible to get ahold of. I had a groupon that had expired and wasn't able to use the amount we'd already paid toward the new cost. They need to find a way for their phones to be answered and their emails returned!

Cornerstone Roanch.. 

Review by Susan on 11/6/13 9:37 AM

Had a wonderful fall trailride with friends! The one hour was just enough with the loop allowing for various scenery. Will definitely be planning more rides!

 

Back to information page


Copyright (C) 2008-2014 WebReserv.com