Bike Works

Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Reviews for Bike Works

33 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

Good Experience.. 

Review by Gary on 9/14/14 4:27 PM

I rented a mountainbike for 24 hours. The guy I dealt with was friendly and helpful and the bike was fine. The mountainbiking was not what I am used to and because I went to a small park near Kona it was quite limited. I am told there mountain biking is better on the Hilo side of Hawaii.

Ride for MS.. 

Review by jp on 8/13/14 1:06 PM

I rented a road bike from the Kona store and was thoroughly impressed with the service (Jason), the comfort of the bike, and the store itself. Jason was in a support vehicle for the Multiple Sclerosis bike ride, and he was wonderful. He's full of information that we found extremely helpful and we are so happy to have met him and Ellie. The folks at the shop when we returned the bikes were extremely nice and let us return them prior to the store being open and for that, we are so thankful. We would highly recommend this bike shop for anyone needing a bike, gear or just good advice.

OKIE Bikers.. 

Review by snorkelman on 8/6/14 3:05 AM

This shop is great! The bikes were first class, clean & ready to go! My buddy, David & myself rode some of the Ironman route, did some downhills, climbs & enjoyed the views & nice bikes! No problems at all with the two-wheelers & they were quality rides! The staff also made some suggestions for routes & were helpful with the rack for our transport.

Very impressed!.. 

Review by Lee on 7/22/14 12:56 PM

This is the 4th or 5th time I have rented a bike from Bike Works. This last time my bride also rented a bike. I am truly impressed by the both the quality of the rental bikes and the customer service we received! Bike Works deserves the 5 stars I have rated them and then some. You wil not be disappointed by this shop and its employees.

uninterested in my ride.. 

Review by calicokid on 6/27/14 10:40 AM

The bike that I rented performed well, but the chain rattled against the rear cassette when shifting up, but not when shifting down. This was remedied by shifting one gear past where I wanted to go, then shifting down to the gear that I wanted to be in. Otherwise, the bike performed as expected. My feedback really has to do with friendliness of the staff in the Kona shop. The staff seemed generally uninterested in whether I rented a bike or not. When I asked about some good rides, I was told to go to their website. When I brought the bike back, there were no questions about how the bike performed, or even if I took it out for a single spin. I purchased a jersey and was rung up efficiently with hardly a smile, nor an invitation to come back on my next return to Hawaii. While the staff were not rude, my best way of describing it would be disinterest.

Excellent.. 

Review by Eduardo Pombo on 6/15/14 6:13 PM

Excellent service!!! From the bike picking and setting to the bike return. Nice and easy. I've never rented a bike before and I was a little concerned but these guys know what they are doing!

Impressed.. 

Review by Michelle on 6/12/14 8:32 AM

What a nice bike store! I rented a TT bike for a few days during my visit to Kona, and was impressed with how easy it was to rent a nice bike for a reasonable fee, the friendliness and helpfulness of the employees, and their product selection. If I ever do a race in Kona, I will consider renting a bike from Bike Works rather than going through the hassle of shipping/flying my bike.

Bike Works is AWESOME... 

Review by Matt on 6/11/14 7:09 PM

Rented a road bike for a 70.3 event and was blown away by how well-organized and how crazy friendly the Bike Works staff were! Once you walk in the shop, you know you're in a friendly place. I got a high-end, well-sorted bike that was set up perfectly to the specs I asked for and had a fantastic race. The whole experience was stress-free and awesome; would do again (and again!). Thanks for being awesome!

Rented a bike for the Hawaii 70.3.. 

Review by edr on 6/10/14 2:35 PM

I rented a TT bike for the Hawaii 70.3. The initial bike they had for me had a problem with the seat post that they identified. They put me on another bike that was just as good and got me a good fit on the bike. They put all my gear on the bike and made sure I was set for the race. Everything worked perfectly and I was very happy with the bike and service. Thanks for the excellent bike rental experience. Much better than shipping my own bike.

Rental bike.... 

Review by Lolly on 6/10/14 12:43 AM

Everything went smooth n the fellows were very attentive to my needs. I used a very nice bike. My race went fine couldn't have done it without the guys at Bike Works. Mahalo...

Great shop.. 

Review by none on 6/9/14 10:05 AM

Everything went great and definitely recommend them!

Terrific experience.. 

Review by Kasia on 6/9/14 1:15 AM

Rented a Specialized Shiv recently for the Honu Ironman 70.3. Pick up and fitting went really well, I had brought my own saddle and pedals. No issues with the bike on the training rides, nor during the race. Drop off went easily. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Thanks very much!

Cervelo P2.. 

Review by Guglielmo  on 6/9/14 1:09 AM

Traveling from France for the Honu Ironman 70.3, I've decided to rent a Cervelo P2. This was my first rental bike experience and, being a maniac with my own bikes, I was very skeptical about the whole thing... Well, the Bike Works Team proved me wrong! Everything worked out just outstandingly: from reservation, to pickup, from bike racks to bike fitting, the rental experience was just smooth and the Team is very, very competent. Thank you Guys! I will do it again. Guglielmo

Mahalo!.. 

Review by Liz on 6/8/14 10:02 AM

Many thanks to Kona BikeWorks for an exceptional bike rental experience. My Shiv fit and rode perfectly, taking me to an AG win and a slot to Kona again in October. Friendly staff and super easy pick up/drop off. Looking forward to teaming up with the same bike again for IM world championships!

Another great experience.. 

Review by Aaron S on 6/8/14 2:34 AM

This was my second time renting with Bike Works Kona. Fantastic, dedicated staff--they bent over backwards to find me the right bike when my first choice fell through. Their service is unmatched.

Very satisfied.. 

Review by Perkwerx on 5/22/14 9:42 AM

This was my first experience in renting a bike. I either take my bike with me or ship it to wherever I’m going so I had some trepidation on my most recent trip to the big island. Bottom line? I will absolutely be a return customer. No complaints and it was a pain-free experience (which is how it’s supposed to be on a vacation).

Excellent!!.. 

Review by Camilla on 5/6/14 6:10 AM

My IM coach highly recommended this bike shop and they lived up to every good word! Don't ship your bike - rent from these guys! I came from the Midwest and brought my pedals with me. I bought some water bottles (great souvenirs) and they provided a helmet, spare tube, pump, etc for any repairs. They did a quick bike fit for me the day I picked it up and made sure I was happy with the model. The Cervelo Tri Bike was in perfect shape for a rental and with it, I was able to do the IM course from start to exhausted finish. Very knowledgeable guys here, very helpful, lots of great gear. Hope I can come back and do again!!

Way better option than Golf!.. 

Review by Bill on 4/12/14 3:31 AM

In the process of training for a summer tour, and was going to be spending a week in Hawaii. Needed the training tie and ended up deciding to rent a road bike from Bike Works vs. playing golf. Great choice! For less than 2 rounds of golf , I got a fantastic road bike ( better than my home bike ) and enjoyed 5 incredible days of riding/training! Super staff , very helpful,getting me set up and going. Might bring my own seat next time as only thing I would do different next time. Same time investment , but first vacation where I've lost 4 pounds !!!

Best Rental Bikes Anywhere.. 

Review by Lee on 4/7/14 9:41 AM

Mahalo to Bike Works! I have used Bike Works bike rental for the past few years to rent Tri-bikes Their bikes are the best - professional quality (Shiv, P3, Slice, etc.) and well maintained. All I have to do is bring my race wheels, my pedals and my helmet. They set up the bike to my measurements (which I bring) and I'm ready to race. Why bother with the hassle and expense of shipping a bike when you can rent one that's as good as what you have at home? I would give Bike Works 6 stars if that was possible!

Awesome Service.. 

Review by Jay on 4/7/14 1:58 AM

Rented a tri bike for 4 days for the 2014 Lavaman triathlon. Rental process was very efficient and the quick fitting was just enough to get me on my way. Obviously not as customized as my bike back home, but pretty close and very convenient. Service in the shop was friendly and efficient despite the expected rush of the race weekend. I would definitely rent a bike from Bike Works for my next race in Waikoloa.

Just okay.. 

Review by Cyclist on 3/31/14 4:14 PM

First off, pay attention when you rent your bike on the system. I entered the rental for 3 days on the system and received a confirmation via email that it was for 3 days. When I picked up the bicycle they told me their system is not correct and that I would only have it for 2 24 hour periods. Would suggest they fix their booking system. Took close to an hour to get the bicycle when I showed up which is surprising as I had provided all the measurements before hand. When I took the bicycle out, glad I had taken a tool kit along as they had not tightened up the seat properly which started sliding down. Not a great experience renting from Bike Works.

Great service .. 

Review by Rich on 3/30/14 9:34 PM

Hired a road bike from Bikeworks. Great service from the staff and the bike was a really nice bike. Would hire from them again. They have a lot of stock of all things bike and tri in their shop. Worth a look.

Thank you.. 

Review by Steve T on 3/24/14 8:22 AM

Great full suspension rental for my trip to Hawai'i. I really enjoyed the bike and the staff provided great service. Thank you for the excellent guidance on trails.

Good work!.. 

Review by Steve  on 3/3/14 1:46 PM

Yet another good experience from the Bike Works people in Kona. Highly recommend this shop. Great service, sales and rentals.

Repeat Customer.. 

Review by Rockin' Rick on 2/14/14 11:39 AM

Another great experience with Bike Works. Brought in my fit guide, peddles and seat. Within minutes my bike was set up to match my fit. The even changed the stem out and I was ready to roll. I didn’t have to even adjust 1mm. The bike and service are as always, top notch. Enjoyed the group ride while there as well. Thanks…1st class!

Great Experience.. 

Review by Utah Cyclist on 2/8/14 1:16 PM

Very nice road bikes and friendly expert service. The bike was all ready and only required minor fine tuning after arrival. I would recommend the repair kit as I had two flats on the road in a weeks time ~300 miles. I brought my own seat along with pedals which they mounted quickly for me. Next time I will bring new tires as the ones on my bike were quite worn. Would highly recommend their service and I will certainly be back.

Repeat Customer.. 

Review by Mike on 2/6/14 11:17 AM

2nd time I have rented from Bike Works. Both times I have rented a Cannondale Super 6. The team at Bike Works has had the bike ready to roll when I showed up. They are committed to make sure that the bike fits properly and even changed the stem for me in order to get the fit right. A few tweaks to the seat position and I was rolling on my first ride straight from the shop. The shop also has a great selection of nutrition and supplies. I don't even bother to bring bottles as a couple of shop bottles make great souvenirs. Will definitely continue to rent from them each time I return to the big island.

Quality Bikes.. 

Review by Joe Sortais on 1/27/14 2:42 AM

The Bike Works rented me a quality mountain bike for a ride around the island, and it performed perfectly. I give them a 4* because they only seem to really have available mountain and road bikes, with hybrids with a more upright riding position not readily accessible. So I just brought my own tires and put them on the Mountain bike rims and it worked out, but it would be easier if they had a few hybrids in stock. What they do have in road and mountain choices is quality at a fair price, with nice folks running the place.

I'll go back to Bike Works everytime!.. 

Review by CO Cyclist on 1/19/14 8:50 AM

Excellent experience. Caring, professional people.

Fantastic Service.. 

Review by JWJ on 1/5/14 11:51 AM

I rented a Cervelo R3 for the Christmas holiday week in Kona and was extremely impressed with the bike and the fantastic service from Bike Works. These guys are very deserving of a 5 star rating!

Nice bikes.. 

Review by Lee on 12/20/13 9:58 AM

Rented in early December. Nice carbon Cannondale with Sram Red. Much better opyion renting than flying your bike over for a one week trip. Good service, rates and product.

Rental TT bike.. 

Review by Player on 12/9/13 2:35 PM

I was thrilled with the help and sincere care all of the bike works employees gave me. I rented a P3. They offered to swap the seat and peddles to accommodate my needs. They also included a spare bag with tubes, CO2, and tools. They could even accommodate a schedule change as I wanted to pick it up a day early and return it a day earlier. The bike was in excellent condition. I put over 290 miles on the bike. I loved it so much I wanted to buy it and they offered to allow the rental fee to go toward the purchase. I will never ship my bike when I can ride a better one (leased) for cheaper cost. I would suggest others do the same.

Thank You.. 

Review by julie on 2/10/10 1:30 PM

Aloha I'd like to thank the shopfolks for the very nice bike that I rented for the week of Jan 29-Feb 5, 2010 to tour with Womantours. I had the 48 inch Cannondale Six and was very happy with the fit and comfort of the bike. After 267 miles and 21,000 vertical feet of riding in 5 days, I felt great overall which is saying a lot for a bike I'd never ridden before ! The staff I dealt with were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. I also LOVED the Specialized lightweight yellow and grey jersey I purchased at the shop and only regretted not having two for the tour ! Thank you again for helping to make my trip to the Big Island truly wonderful. Of course I will not hesitate to recommend your shop to friends visiting the islands in the future. Sincerely Julie Phillips

 

Back to information page


Copyright (C) 2008-2014 WebReserv.com