Bike Works

Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Reviews for Bike Works

50 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

Friendly and helpful.. 

Review by New to the bike thing on 4/12/15 3:51 PM

I committed to the Lavaman tri and had not been on a bike in well over a decade. Even though I called to reserve a bike two months in advance, they were already rented out. But, they kept in touch with me and were able to find a bike suitable to my needs. When I arrived they were super busy but still took the time to walk me through how to use the bike gears and made sure the bike was adjusted just right for me. They were super friendly and professional (even though they probably had a hard time keeping a straight face when walking me through everything).

Ironman Dream.. 

Review by Mel on 4/12/15 1:21 AM

What can I say? Bike Works is a fantastic store with everything a triathlete could ever need. We hired bikes over the Easter weekend so that I could experience the World Champion Ironman bike course and what a day! My Specialized bike didn't let me down. The assistance received in store for fitting was exceptional and our hire was extended to allow for a 24 hour reservation and greater flexibility. When we returned the bikes the following day, I received great advice about triathlon accessories and I was in shopping heaven! I aspire to return to Kona as a prospective Ironman one day and I will definitely be paying theses guys a visit. Thank you Bike Works for enabling my dream :)

Everything you need!.. 

Review by Susan on 4/6/15 7:37 AM

Third time renting: great bikes, friendly helpful staff, bike set up to my measurements, never an issue. It's hard to find a triathlon shop anywhere with as much selection as they have.

Will always rent from bike works.. 

Review by Larry on 3/29/15 2:25 AM

2nd year I have rented a top end bike for s portion of my stay on the island. Bikes are in great condition, staff is very knowledgable and very helpful. I have already ready made reservations to stay on the Big Idland in January 2016 and will make my bike reservations as soon as I can

Great store.. 

Review by Darryl Kropp on 3/28/15 8:33 PM

A friend and I found Bike Works online and decided to rent rather than haul our bikes over from Canada. Great decision! The staff are friendly, the bikes great, rates reasonable, etc. Generally, good folks to deal with who are fair and know their stuff. I rented a Cervelo S2 and it served me well ($25/day).

Great Bike Shop.. 

Review by Waine on 3/27/15 3:09 PM

On the big island for spring break and what better activity outside of hiking and scuba then to get in some rides. I was told about Bike Works prior to my trip and checked them out on line. Lots of options in terms of brands as well as snack bracket for bikes which I managed to reserve on-line. When I arrived the process was very easy and straight forward in getting the bike as well as fitting it. Mr Wisconsin (Sorry forgot the chaps name) was very friendly and offered sage advice on routes and hills to go explore. Staff was very friendly and very service oriented both on check-in and check-out. My only challenge was I wanted to buy some gear on my departure to capture the memory and promote the store. When I was getting my bike at the beginning of the week it was communicated to me that I could get a discount on items with the Bike Works brand and when it came to returning the bike a week later at the time I wanted to pick up some merchandise, I was told the discount only applied to Bike Works water bottles. No don't need another water bottle. So other than that small hiccup a very good overall experience. Thanks Bike Works Team!

convenience and serfvice.. 

Review by T Manzo on 3/24/15 11:51 AM

Great selection of top shelf road bikes. I rented for a short period of time and the convenience and quality of the service and bikes were very high. I will definitely use Bike Works again.

Friendly, helpful tri-shop.. 

Review by Jake and Jen on 3/15/15 5:58 PM

My fiancee and I were visiting Kona and planned on just swimming and running while on the island. Once we got here we realized not bringing the bikes was a mistake. I got on-line and found Bike Works and new this was the spot for us. When we went in the shop the next day we were very pleased with both the great selection of premium bikes and great customer service. They had everything we needed including a bike rack for our rental car. Price was very fair. We even picked up a couple new tri suits, jerseys, and swim jammer. Next time we are in Kona this is where we will be going for any triathlon needs. Again I can't say enough about how great the staff working was both knowledgeable and friendly.

Mtb rental.. 

Review by Ian on 3/9/15 2:40 AM

Helpful staff. Newest equipment. Unbeatable rental rates. I will rent from Bike Works during my next visit! Thank you for everything!!

great shop.. 

Review by alan on 3/6/15 7:59 AM

rented a cannondale evo. Excellent bike, well maintained. Great service from the folks in the store, gave me some good ideas for great rides. Highly recommend them.

Great staff.. 

Review by slowguy on 2/17/15 6:53 PM

We rented 3 bikes for 6 days. Bikes were ready to go when we went to pick them up. Found the staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend this company to anyone thinking of renting a bike.

good stuff.. 

Review by 3 amigos on 2/17/15 12:41 PM

We rented 3 of the mid tier bikes. 2 out of 3 worked fine, all 105 components. The 3rd was not quite tuned on the rear derailleur and the problem could not be solved while we were out riding. Closer inspection showed that the derailleur had road scratches on it, and had likely been bent at some point before we picked up the bikes. However, the next day when it was brought to the shop for correcting they indicated that it was up to us to assure the bike was in good working order before leaving the parking lot. We thought it was, and did not find the problem until later on in the first ride. So we continued to use the bike for the remainder of the week, even though it often skipped gears.I believe the customer should at least be assumed to be right in these cases, as would be good practice for any business. What we got were accusations that our rider had somehow bent the derailleur. In the end our rentals worked out fine, and the price is competitive (nearly half) when compared to other areas of the USA where we have rented. I would go back. But be careful to fully inspect your bike before taking it out on the first ride.

Nice Bikes.. 

Review by Awesome! on 2/8/15 10:54 PM

Second time around for me. These bikes are high quality and well maintained. Rode for a week and had no problems. The staff are professional and extremely competent. This is a top quality outfit and I will be back.

Specialized Roubaix .. 

Review by DD on 2/6/15 11:36 AM

I recently rented a "high-level" performance road bike from bike works. When you pay for the highest category of bike you would like to have it tuned and in good working order. The bike creaked the entire 70 mile ride and I blew a spoke with zero effort. I also needed to tune the bike, as there was not enough tension on the rear derailleur. Overall, it was a mid-level bike (~$2500 retail), that needs plenty of shop work. I did like the store, and the staff was friendly and willing to help. I would rent from them again as a bike ride on the Kona coast is truly priceless. You need to put into perspective that I am used to riding bikes in the 5k range that are kept in good working order.

highly recommended.. 

Review by tkm on 2/5/15 11:38 AM

rented specialized road bike from here for few days- I thought service, the bike quality and the price were all great- always remember to ride the bike and change gears to make sure everything is tuned up before you leave-

Bike Works Rocks.. 

Review by Ironman on 1/31/15 12:00 PM

I recently rented a tri-bike from Bike Works for a Play-Tri camp. They were awesome! I brought my own seat and pedals which they installed on the rental, then fitted the bike to my original specs. No issues. Their knowledge and service throughout the week was outstanding, answering many questions re: some of their tri gear in the store. I will definitely use them again on my next trip to the big island.

Mountain Bike.. 

Review by Shadey on 1/29/15 12:11 PM

Bike Works was recommended by our hotel concierge as the place to go for Bike Rental. I exclusively ride Mountain Bike and was told by the concierge that there wasn't much to offer on the Island of Hawaii. Boy were they wrong! Bike Works recommended some rides, I bought a trail book, and rented the 29'er full suspension Giant. Nice Bike! I ended up riding the ''Pine Trees" for a warm up on Tuesday and then rode the 43 mile Mana Road on Wednesday. It was an awesome ride that I would rate as more of an Advanced rated ride due to the length and remoteness of the terrain/road. Bike Works even provided a spare tube, tools, and a bike rack. Pretty much a full service bike shop with great customer support!

These Folks Are Great-Do Not Use Cycle Destinations (Oliver).. 

Review by Traveled From Boston on 1/22/15 9:01 AM

When Cycle Destinations cancelled my scheduled ride (on my 50th birthday) with basically no notice and unwilling to provide any alternative options (Oliver said they were the only bike shop in town, which is clearly not true) Bike Works came to the rescue with a great bike, a personal guide for the ride, and outstanding customer service. Bike Works helped make my birthday and my trip to the big island outstanding, I could not possibly give them a higher recommendation.

Great place to rent a bike to ride on the Big Island.. 

Review by Carl and Annie on 1/21/15 11:58 PM

We found Bike Works online while planning our first trip to Hawaii, called them up, and reserved a couple of bikes to ride. They have quite a selection of solid to high-end road bikes and we selected a Cannondale Evo and a Specialized Tarmac. We liked how all the rental bikes had names, Squidbilly and Sinatra in this case. The rental included helmets and a saddle bag with pump, tube, and patch kit. Having the helmets was nice, as they would have been large items to pack. Once we arrived, the service was great, including a fitting session on the trainer. Both bikes were well maintained and performed well. Although the frame and drivetrain were as advertised, the stem, handlebars, and wheels were nothing special, but perfectly functional. We were able to rent a bike rack for the rental car as well. Overall, a great experience and we would recommend Bike Works to anyone looking to ride while traveling to Hawaii.

I keep coming back.. 

Review by Jim on 1/21/15 6:13 PM

Nice bikes at good rates and prompt service keeps me coming back every time I'm on the Big Island.

Great bikes, with great service.. 

Review by Simon on 1/6/15 11:52 PM

Great bike shop with excellent rentals, good prices, and great services. Have rented there for 3 years in a row, and have never been disappointed. Highly recommend.

Good Experience.. 

Review by ShanghaiDavid on 1/4/15 8:03 PM

I used the online reservation for a 2 day weekend rental. So very easy. The Tri bike that they set up for me worked out great, no issues. Bike Works provided a loaner helmet and flat repair kit with the rental bike. I only brought my pedals and shoes. Everyone in the Kona shop that I dealt with was very friendly; at the front counter, the bike setup, the checkout experience. They even recommended some ride groups for me to join during my visit to the Big Island. I highly recommend Bike Works and I will use them again.

Great bike shop.. 

Review by KalokoTooSteep4Me on 12/30/14 11:12 AM

My wife and I rented two Cervelos R3s for three weeks. They were decent bikes; we enjoyed riding them although we did have a few minor problems: my wife's bike needed to have the seatpost replaced (it squeaked badly) and I broke a spoke on two consecutive days. The second time they gave me a new rear wheel and knocked a few bucks off our bill. Fortunately the problems we had didn't really impact our riding and the bike shop fixed us up right away. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. They took the time to give us each a good fit and showed us some good rides on the map. I would absolutely rent bikes here again, although I would try and get an 11 speed with a 11-28 or better. These hills are steep!

Tales of Zelda.. 

Review by ImLikeWhoa on 12/28/14 12:11 PM

The bike I rented was named Zelda --- She was a sleek black carbon mare with plenty of spirit and great feel for the road. Coming from my normal commuting biking on a good-enough bike, riding Zelda was a treat. The staff aims to give a top-of-the-line biking experience, and they succeed. They make sure the bike they rent you is in tune and right for you, with pedals you like. The experience was pricey but I didn't regret a dollar of it.

Good bikes but one issue... 

Review by Canadian Visitor on 12/15/14 8:07 AM

The bike shop has friendly knowledgable staff. The higher end road bikes we rented were reallly good. However, on one of them, the bottom bracket became very loose after a couple of rides. This should NOT happen. We were able to have the bracket adjusted and tightened at Bike Works satellite location without any real loss of ride time. One bike was ready for lube after three 4 days (more of an annoyance). If it wasnt for the bottom bracket issue, I would give the shop 5 stars. As it is, we will certainly rent from them again.

Satisfied customer... 

Review by Aussie TJ on 11/22/14 1:03 AM

Just concluded a 2 week bike hire. Very happy with the service. Fitted pedals, happy to help on a revisit to fine tune the seat and bars height. Willingly lent me a floor pump at no charge for the hire period. Bike performed well but cant always say the same of the rider. Would definitely hire from here again. I am a returning customer.

Great service!.. 

Review by KonaVisitor on 11/17/14 2:42 AM

I was very pleased with the bike I rented and the support from the shop. The price is reasonable and the shop was very accommodating to my needs. Making an online reservation was easy. I highly recommend Bike Works!

Awesome!.. 

Review by clinicus on 10/29/14 9:06 AM

I could not have been happier with my experience of renting a bike at Bike Works. Booking it online was easy, they sent out a reminder before I got to Hawaii, my bike was absolutely perfect (I would have bought it if I didn't already have too many in the garage), the staff was wonderful (I went there several times to get supplies and buy some clothes and probably dealt with four different people and I loved all of them!). And for all this great service and a fabulous bike they only charged $25 a day!! I thought for sure there must be some hidden fees waiting for me at the end but no, there weren't any. I will certainly go back to Hawaii and I would not think about going anywhere else other than Bike Works to rent a bike.

Great customer service .. 

Review by Cbozo on 10/23/14 11:14 PM

It was Im Kona week Impressed shop was staffed from the moment they greeted you at the door to finding your rental, fitting me we my pedals and shoes, during my stay when I needed air in the rental until last day when I returned the bike. Class act! Hana Hou! I will return as a repeat customer and refer friends. Mahalo

Bike Hire.. 

Review by kon2014 on 10/22/14 10:16 AM

Firstly I have to give a big thumbs up for Bike Works allowing me to change my bike hire dates at short notice, that was much appreciated. The bike itself was also generally excellent, I believe I was the first to ride it, certainly looked brand new although why they chose to put such an upright stem and narrow bars on it was a little puzzling. So, good bikes and easy to sort out hire. The reason for only 3 stars in the general lack of interest (and smiles) from staff members, no pleasantries exchanged, no enquiry post hire of whether the bike was ok; not rude, just uninterested. I had friends who also hired a bike (separate to me) and they said exactly the same. It was however Ironman week and they were busy, I see lots of great reviews on here so maybe it was just the stress of the week.

Rude and not interested.. 

Review by Trout on 10/20/14 2:11 AM

I recently hire a MTB from bike works and while the bike was great , the service was very average on the several occasions I visited over two weeks I wanted a couple of other issues address regrading some race wheels and spare parts I needed to do the ironman but to say these blokes (and girls)where not interested in helping or where just plainly rude would be an understatement I've been around bike shops for a long time and this shop is by far the most rude and uninformative I've ever dealt with The young bloke at the service dept was about the only person who showed any interest in helping me out Don't rush to this shop to hand over your hard earned money

Kona Ironman week.. 

Review by 3 crazy Aussie Girls on 10/19/14 8:54 PM

What a great shop and the guys were super friendly and obliging. I even cut my foot on coral and they gave me special cream which saved me from a nasty infection which could of ruined my trip. rented two bikes and our friend racing had hers built and packed up. No problems, everything was no fuss, done on time. Our hired bikes were great, ran smooth. Great range of stock to. Will definately hire from them again and recommend to friends for all things bikes. Thank you.

Kona Ironman week.. 

Review by 3 crazy Aussie Girls on 10/19/14 8:53 PM

What a great shop and the guys were super friendly and obliging. I even cut my foot on coral and they gave me special cream which saved me from a nasty infection which could of ruined my trip. rented two bikes and our friend racing had hers built and packed up. No problems, everything was no fuss, done on time. Our hired bikes were great, ran smooth. Great range of stock to. Will definately hire from them again and recommend to friends for all things bikes. Thank you.

Great rental bike during Ironman week.. 

Review by Keith J on 10/16/14 2:20 PM

I was on island to cheer on a friend who was competing in the Ironman, and decided to rent a bike at Bike Works so we could take a few rides. I was very pleased with the high quality of the bikes available (I rented a Cervelo P3, but could have had a Shiv, or P5), and the time spent dialing in the fit. Getting a great bike at a fair price was a real enhancement of my vacation.

Mahalo!.. 

Review by Spots on 10/6/14 5:09 AM

Great shop and great bikes. We rented two Cannondales with SRAM Red. The bikes performed perfectly. Shifting was very smooth and the brakes were incredible. It was our first time using SRAM and we were impressed. The shop is very well stocked and has a great variety items for road riding. The staff was super friendly. We will be repeat customers.

Good Experience.. 

Review by Gary on 9/14/14 4:27 PM

I rented a mountainbike for 24 hours. The guy I dealt with was friendly and helpful and the bike was fine. The mountainbiking was not what I am used to and because I went to a small park near Kona it was quite limited. I am told there mountain biking is better on the Hilo side of Hawaii.

Ride for MS.. 

Review by jp on 8/13/14 1:06 PM

I rented a road bike from the Kona store and was thoroughly impressed with the service (Jason), the comfort of the bike, and the store itself. Jason was in a support vehicle for the Multiple Sclerosis bike ride, and he was wonderful. He's full of information that we found extremely helpful and we are so happy to have met him and Ellie. The folks at the shop when we returned the bikes were extremely nice and let us return them prior to the store being open and for that, we are so thankful. We would highly recommend this bike shop for anyone needing a bike, gear or just good advice.

OKIE Bikers.. 

Review by snorkelman on 8/6/14 3:05 AM

This shop is great! The bikes were first class, clean & ready to go! My buddy, David & myself rode some of the Ironman route, did some downhills, climbs & enjoyed the views & nice bikes! No problems at all with the two-wheelers & they were quality rides! The staff also made some suggestions for routes & were helpful with the rack for our transport.

Very impressed!.. 

Review by Lee on 7/22/14 12:56 PM

This is the 4th or 5th time I have rented a bike from Bike Works. This last time my bride also rented a bike. I am truly impressed by the both the quality of the rental bikes and the customer service we received! Bike Works deserves the 5 stars I have rated them and then some. You wil not be disappointed by this shop and its employees.

uninterested in my ride.. 

Review by calicokid on 6/27/14 10:40 AM

The bike that I rented performed well, but the chain rattled against the rear cassette when shifting up, but not when shifting down. This was remedied by shifting one gear past where I wanted to go, then shifting down to the gear that I wanted to be in. Otherwise, the bike performed as expected. My feedback really has to do with friendliness of the staff in the Kona shop. The staff seemed generally uninterested in whether I rented a bike or not. When I asked about some good rides, I was told to go to their website. When I brought the bike back, there were no questions about how the bike performed, or even if I took it out for a single spin. I purchased a jersey and was rung up efficiently with hardly a smile, nor an invitation to come back on my next return to Hawaii. While the staff were not rude, my best way of describing it would be disinterest.

Excellent.. 

Review by Eduardo Pombo on 6/15/14 6:13 PM

Excellent service!!! From the bike picking and setting to the bike return. Nice and easy. I've never rented a bike before and I was a little concerned but these guys know what they are doing!

Impressed.. 

Review by Michelle on 6/12/14 8:32 AM

What a nice bike store! I rented a TT bike for a few days during my visit to Kona, and was impressed with how easy it was to rent a nice bike for a reasonable fee, the friendliness and helpfulness of the employees, and their product selection. If I ever do a race in Kona, I will consider renting a bike from Bike Works rather than going through the hassle of shipping/flying my bike.

Bike Works is AWESOME... 

Review by Matt on 6/11/14 7:09 PM

Rented a road bike for a 70.3 event and was blown away by how well-organized and how crazy friendly the Bike Works staff were! Once you walk in the shop, you know you're in a friendly place. I got a high-end, well-sorted bike that was set up perfectly to the specs I asked for and had a fantastic race. The whole experience was stress-free and awesome; would do again (and again!). Thanks for being awesome!

Rented a bike for the Hawaii 70.3.. 

Review by edr on 6/10/14 2:35 PM

I rented a TT bike for the Hawaii 70.3. The initial bike they had for me had a problem with the seat post that they identified. They put me on another bike that was just as good and got me a good fit on the bike. They put all my gear on the bike and made sure I was set for the race. Everything worked perfectly and I was very happy with the bike and service. Thanks for the excellent bike rental experience. Much better than shipping my own bike.

Rental bike.... 

Review by Lolly on 6/10/14 12:43 AM

Everything went smooth n the fellows were very attentive to my needs. I used a very nice bike. My race went fine couldn't have done it without the guys at Bike Works. Mahalo...

Great shop.. 

Review by none on 6/9/14 10:05 AM

Everything went great and definitely recommend them!

Terrific experience.. 

Review by Kasia on 6/9/14 1:15 AM

Rented a Specialized Shiv recently for the Honu Ironman 70.3. Pick up and fitting went really well, I had brought my own saddle and pedals. No issues with the bike on the training rides, nor during the race. Drop off went easily. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Thanks very much!

Cervelo P2.. 

Review by Guglielmo  on 6/9/14 1:09 AM

Traveling from France for the Honu Ironman 70.3, I've decided to rent a Cervelo P2. This was my first rental bike experience and, being a maniac with my own bikes, I was very skeptical about the whole thing... Well, the Bike Works Team proved me wrong! Everything worked out just outstandingly: from reservation, to pickup, from bike racks to bike fitting, the rental experience was just smooth and the Team is very, very competent. Thank you Guys! I will do it again. Guglielmo

Mahalo!.. 

Review by Liz on 6/8/14 10:02 AM

Many thanks to Kona BikeWorks for an exceptional bike rental experience. My Shiv fit and rode perfectly, taking me to an AG win and a slot to Kona again in October. Friendly staff and super easy pick up/drop off. Looking forward to teaming up with the same bike again for IM world championships!

Another great experience.. 

Review by Aaron S on 6/8/14 2:34 AM

This was my second time renting with Bike Works Kona. Fantastic, dedicated staff--they bent over backwards to find me the right bike when my first choice fell through. Their service is unmatched.

 

Back to information page


Copyright (C) 2008-2014 WebReserv.com