Bike Works

Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Reviews for Bike Works

50 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

Rental bike.. 

Review by Awesome shop! on 9/24/15 4:07 AM

Absolutely great experience renting from Bike Works. They took the time to make sure the bike fit and made the proper adjustments. I would highly recommend them and will definitely use their store and rental services again when my travels take me back to Kona. Thanks a bunch Bike Works!!!!

What a ride!!.. 

Review by Biker Dan on 9/8/15 8:54 AM

Arrived at the shop a little early but once the shop was opened I was met by a professional staff who helped get the bike I was renting set up for me. Although they may think that going to the left on Queen's Highway is a flat ride this flatlander from Delaware had a different opinion, in the 30 mile ride I took "Run Keeper" told me that I had almost 1500 feet change in elevation. The lava rock was hot and the winds were strong at times but the scenery was beautiful and I got to experience something that I know that nobody else on the cruise ship I was on was able to do. Trust me it was worth the effort and next time I am there I will for sure rent a bike again.

Great experience!.. 

Review by Steve on 9/7/15 9:47 AM

Rented a road bike dying my vacation. Bike Works provided a good bike for a fair price. Staff was helpful and knowledgable. They also gave me a floor pump to use. Very cool shop as well.


Review by Matthew on 9/7/15 9:29 AM

Great experience! I rented a very nice Specialized Venge with SRAM Red in a 61cm size, which is hard to find in a rental. It was a superbly maintained bike, also not easy to find in a rental. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the shop is large and well-stocked. Lastly, the rental rate was surprisingly reasonable. I was told the bike is a few model years old, so the rate was lower as a result, but it was in such fine condition that I would have believed it was nearly new.

Great MTB for Mauna Kea.. 

Review by Richard on 9/6/15 2:26 PM

Rented a MTB that worked very good for my daytrip Kona ~ Mauna Kea. I expierienced very good and uncomplicated bike rental service.

Had a great time (as always).. 

Review by Paradise Found on 9/3/15 10:19 AM

I've been renting bikes from Kona Bike Works every year for about 10 years now. Both locations (Kona & Waikoloa). The bikes are always is great shape. The staff is friendly and helpful. They adjusted and even changed the saddle that was not comfortable for me. They have accessories for rent or purchase if you need them: Bottles, repair kit, CO2 cartigdes, lock, helmet, etc. I was in Kona for a week, had a great time, loved the bike and the riding.

5 days in heaven.. 

Review by Vegas on 8/28/15 9:26 AM

Great, shop I arrived super close to closing time. The very friendly staff stayed late and I had a 5 great days of riding. Talked to some great riders and runners. Very impressed with the shop and the bikes are top notch. Mahalo from Las Vegas


Review by Yahsunray on 8/23/15 1:47 AM

Great customer service! A fantastic experience! These guys didn't hesitate to take care of any issues that there were. Very friendly and involved staff. I'll definitely be back and highly recommend "Bike Works" to anyone interested in biking!


Review by Tom on 8/7/15 10:11 AM

Wonderful, friendly staff. Bike was well maintained and well tuned.....stress free experience and fairly priced. Kudos to all.....will see you later in the month;-)


Review by Lee on 7/21/15 9:47 AM

I have been renting race bikes from Bike Works for over 5 years. They have top-end bikes and their service is fantastic. I intend to continue using their rental service for as long as I keep racing.

outstanding service.. 

Review by timetraveler on 7/20/15 9:35 AM

I have rented with Bike Works 4 times now and have to say they have been fantastic everytime. Great price and wonderful service! keep up the great work and I will be back to rent again. Mahalo!

Good bike, good service, good price.. 

Review by Kevin on 7/19/15 6:26 PM

I had a very good experience with my rental. The style I reserved was not available for my entire stay, so I got a free upgrade. The upgrade happened on the fly, and although the bike I ended up with was great, it was still dirty from the previous rider. That's my only complaint. Otherwise, the staff were attentive to my needs and I even brought the bike back to the shop to have air put in the tires and the chain cleaned after a few days of riding. I met and rode with the owner, Grant, and his wife while on a local bike club ride. They were really nice people, conscientious cyclists and very involved in the cycling/triathalon community. I left Kona wishing Bike Works was my LBS.

Road Bike Rental.. 

Review by RedDog on 7/12/15 4:34 PM

For several years now I have been traveling to Kona for vacation and cycling. I have always used Kona Bike Works to rent a road bike and found their staff and equipment to be great. The bikes I have rented were new and in great working condition and the service staff was most helpful setting the bike up to my measurements for a perfect fit. If I needed an adjustment later or wanted to switch and try something different it was not a problem. Kona Bike Works rates are also reasonable and they have a great shop with lots of equipment as well as cycling supplements. I will continue to use Kona Bike Works in the future.

Rental and Maps.. 

Review by Dave & Cathy on 6/22/15 4:39 PM

We had a great experience with the staff and the bikes at your store. Everyone was friendly and helpful everyday when we stopped in for new supplies and maps for local rides on the Island. We brought our own pedals and the staff set us up with great bikes (A Womens - Cannondale and a Mens Look). We had a fantastic time touring the island on our bikes with the help of Bike Works. We would definitely recommend Bike Works!

Renting a bike for a race.. 

Review by Kona girl on 6/8/15 8:17 PM

I picked up my cannondale ultegra evo race bike 5 days before my race. Andrea "Dea" was absolutely fabulous, helping my with my fitting on the bike, working with me on shifting gears and my day of race nutrition. Renting the bike saved me grief of having to pack and haul it through the airports. I liked how the bike handled during the race. It was a fast bike. Also, I want to give a shout out to the tech team that was at the race, I got a flat first thing and they had me on the road in minutes. Thank you! I'll be coming back again on my next race in Hawaii. Dea, thank you again.

Good people and service.. 

Review by Tom on 6/8/15 3:04 PM

I got to Bike Works pretty late in the day because my flight was a little late. They stayed after their closing time to make sure my bike was fitted and allowed me some time to ride in the parking lot. When I got on the bike, I realized I didn't know how to shift one way (different from my normal bike) and the guy who fitted the bike came out and showed me how to do it. Keep in mind this was all after the stores closing time. That extra few minutes was very important for me because I would have probably spent an hour on google trying to figure it out instead of 1 minute with the guy. The store is beautiful. The people are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this shop and will use them again if I need to rent a bike on the Big Island again.

Horrible Service.. 

Review by Rordog on 6/7/15 8:21 PM

Rented a bike for a race and I wanted to switch out the crappy water bottle cages that come with the bike rental for ones I use back home. When I was buying the water bottle cages the service lady told me I didn't need them because the ones on the bike were just fine. We argued back and fourth for a min about why they were not the best after I insisted I get at least one for the bike she told me that they would need to install it which I was okay with and is the reason I think she didn't want me to buy them in the first place because she didn't want to take 5 mins to install them. Needless to say I raced that weekend with one good water bottle cage and one crappy bottle cage. I lost every single bottle that was in the crappy bottle cage and my nutrition was very poor because I couldn't hold enough nutrition and liquid on the bike. On top of all this the bike tires were very very poor. I did get a flat and ended up losing by 20 secs. I can't say that the flat was due to the crappy tires but I would of never raced with them. I stayed a extra week and decided to get my bike from the other shop in town which was so much smoother and a way nicer bike. I still don't understand when I was willing to buy the extra water bottles cages why they would argue with me about it. In the end I would bring my own bike if I am racing and only rent to train. But I will NEVER be returning to this shop again!

Great Bikes. Excellent Service.. 

Review by Shane on 6/7/15 1:32 AM

I rented 2 bikes in Kona, one Specialized and one Cannondale. Both bikes were well tuned and performed without issues. Service was friendly, helpful, and efficient. Shane

Bike Works to Bike Works and back.. 

Review by Ms Elspur on 6/1/15 7:56 PM

I rented 2 bikes from Bike Works Kona, both Specialized. My riding partner brought his own pedals but I forgot mine. The bikes were of good quality and renting process was pretty easy. However I felt like the fit of my own bike was not optimized. My pedals were mountain spds which were not cleaned from the previous rental. The left pedal was screwed down so tight I could not un clip in time and I fell at a traffic light. It was pretty scarey and horrible. Meanwhile my riding partner helped me loosen the pedal so I could unclip easier. We rode to Bike Works in Waikoloa Queens market place. The whole return journey was 52 miles . I felt the bike rental should really have been better optimized for me but the staff didn't seem to care much. This seems the opposite from Bike Works in Waikoloa where I have rented before

Bikes worked very well.. 

Review by from Houston on 5/25/15 11:51 AM

Rented two road bikes (Specialized Amira and Cannondale Evo Supersix). Picked up bikes without any problem: tuned and clean, ready to go. Rode for five days. Impressed with the SRAM RED components: precise and crisp action. Will rent again form Bike works on next trip to Hawai’i.

Average Service.. 

Review by Seattle Visitor on 5/22/15 9:24 AM

i rented a nice Cervelo bike, but the salesperson was trying to juggle three conversations (one on the phone while trying to deal with me in person) and frustrating all three. The saddle was not adjusted properly, and The salesperson was trying to upsell me to a higher end bike, which I understand, but found annoying. When I returned the bike four days later, different staff were helping me and they were responsive and helpful. I was going to rent three mtn. Bikes, but went elsewhere because my initial rental took an hour and I didn't want to be frustrated again. Also, the email I received for this review did not have an opt out feature, or Unsubscribe option. Now THAT is annoying.

great Specialized bike!.. 

Review by Arlinc on 5/19/15 8:27 AM

I rented a Specialized Roubaix SL4 and it was amazing! I had the bike for 5 days and it worked great and fit very well. They had the pedals I needed and also provided a helmet and patch kit. I was very happy with the bike and will go back to Bike Works again for sure!

Great product/service.. 

Review by SVIAN on 5/18/15 9:16 PM

Rented 4 premium full suspension mountain bikes. All bikes were in great shape and working order. staff helped direct us to the best riding in the area, and was very helpful. Thanks again!

friggin awesome!!.. 

Review by soloryder on 5/12/15 10:59 PM

these guys are absolutely top notch!! they are always taking care of you!! hooked me up with a great last minute rental big time!! thank you Bike works!! will always rent from them and so should you!!

Kept me climbing.. 

Review by East Coaster on 5/9/15 8:11 AM

Reserved a bike before my race later that week back on the east coast. Excellent service. Helpful staff.

Great Service!!.. 

Review by Dave on 5/2/15 10:01 AM

Bike works is the place to go! excellent service! they treat you great and are very accommodating! Iwill be coming back for sure!!

Friendly and helpful.. 

Review by New to the bike thing on 4/12/15 3:51 PM

I committed to the Lavaman tri and had not been on a bike in well over a decade. Even though I called to reserve a bike two months in advance, they were already rented out. But, they kept in touch with me and were able to find a bike suitable to my needs. When I arrived they were super busy but still took the time to walk me through how to use the bike gears and made sure the bike was adjusted just right for me. They were super friendly and professional (even though they probably had a hard time keeping a straight face when walking me through everything).

Ironman Dream.. 

Review by Mel on 4/12/15 1:21 AM

What can I say? Bike Works is a fantastic store with everything a triathlete could ever need. We hired bikes over the Easter weekend so that I could experience the World Champion Ironman bike course and what a day! My Specialized bike didn't let me down. The assistance received in store for fitting was exceptional and our hire was extended to allow for a 24 hour reservation and greater flexibility. When we returned the bikes the following day, I received great advice about triathlon accessories and I was in shopping heaven! I aspire to return to Kona as a prospective Ironman one day and I will definitely be paying theses guys a visit. Thank you Bike Works for enabling my dream :)

Everything you need!.. 

Review by Susan on 4/6/15 7:37 AM

Third time renting: great bikes, friendly helpful staff, bike set up to my measurements, never an issue. It's hard to find a triathlon shop anywhere with as much selection as they have.

Will always rent from bike works.. 

Review by Larry on 3/29/15 2:25 AM

2nd year I have rented a top end bike for s portion of my stay on the island. Bikes are in great condition, staff is very knowledgable and very helpful. I have already ready made reservations to stay on the Big Idland in January 2016 and will make my bike reservations as soon as I can

Great store.. 

Review by Darryl Kropp on 3/28/15 8:33 PM

A friend and I found Bike Works online and decided to rent rather than haul our bikes over from Canada. Great decision! The staff are friendly, the bikes great, rates reasonable, etc. Generally, good folks to deal with who are fair and know their stuff. I rented a Cervelo S2 and it served me well ($25/day).

Great Bike Shop.. 

Review by Waine on 3/27/15 3:09 PM

On the big island for spring break and what better activity outside of hiking and scuba then to get in some rides. I was told about Bike Works prior to my trip and checked them out on line. Lots of options in terms of brands as well as snack bracket for bikes which I managed to reserve on-line. When I arrived the process was very easy and straight forward in getting the bike as well as fitting it. Mr Wisconsin (Sorry forgot the chaps name) was very friendly and offered sage advice on routes and hills to go explore. Staff was very friendly and very service oriented both on check-in and check-out. My only challenge was I wanted to buy some gear on my departure to capture the memory and promote the store. When I was getting my bike at the beginning of the week it was communicated to me that I could get a discount on items with the Bike Works brand and when it came to returning the bike a week later at the time I wanted to pick up some merchandise, I was told the discount only applied to Bike Works water bottles. No don't need another water bottle. So other than that small hiccup a very good overall experience. Thanks Bike Works Team!

convenience and serfvice.. 

Review by T Manzo on 3/24/15 11:51 AM

Great selection of top shelf road bikes. I rented for a short period of time and the convenience and quality of the service and bikes were very high. I will definitely use Bike Works again.

Friendly, helpful tri-shop.. 

Review by Jake and Jen on 3/15/15 5:58 PM

My fiancee and I were visiting Kona and planned on just swimming and running while on the island. Once we got here we realized not bringing the bikes was a mistake. I got on-line and found Bike Works and new this was the spot for us. When we went in the shop the next day we were very pleased with both the great selection of premium bikes and great customer service. They had everything we needed including a bike rack for our rental car. Price was very fair. We even picked up a couple new tri suits, jerseys, and swim jammer. Next time we are in Kona this is where we will be going for any triathlon needs. Again I can't say enough about how great the staff working was both knowledgeable and friendly.

Mtb rental.. 

Review by Ian on 3/9/15 2:40 AM

Helpful staff. Newest equipment. Unbeatable rental rates. I will rent from Bike Works during my next visit! Thank you for everything!!

great shop.. 

Review by alan on 3/6/15 7:59 AM

rented a cannondale evo. Excellent bike, well maintained. Great service from the folks in the store, gave me some good ideas for great rides. Highly recommend them.

Great staff.. 

Review by slowguy on 2/17/15 6:53 PM

We rented 3 bikes for 6 days. Bikes were ready to go when we went to pick them up. Found the staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend this company to anyone thinking of renting a bike.

good stuff.. 

Review by 3 amigos on 2/17/15 12:41 PM

We rented 3 of the mid tier bikes. 2 out of 3 worked fine, all 105 components. The 3rd was not quite tuned on the rear derailleur and the problem could not be solved while we were out riding. Closer inspection showed that the derailleur had road scratches on it, and had likely been bent at some point before we picked up the bikes. However, the next day when it was brought to the shop for correcting they indicated that it was up to us to assure the bike was in good working order before leaving the parking lot. We thought it was, and did not find the problem until later on in the first ride. So we continued to use the bike for the remainder of the week, even though it often skipped gears.I believe the customer should at least be assumed to be right in these cases, as would be good practice for any business. What we got were accusations that our rider had somehow bent the derailleur. In the end our rentals worked out fine, and the price is competitive (nearly half) when compared to other areas of the USA where we have rented. I would go back. But be careful to fully inspect your bike before taking it out on the first ride.

Nice Bikes.. 

Review by Awesome! on 2/8/15 10:54 PM

Second time around for me. These bikes are high quality and well maintained. Rode for a week and had no problems. The staff are professional and extremely competent. This is a top quality outfit and I will be back.

Specialized Roubaix .. 

Review by DD on 2/6/15 11:36 AM

I recently rented a "high-level" performance road bike from bike works. When you pay for the highest category of bike you would like to have it tuned and in good working order. The bike creaked the entire 70 mile ride and I blew a spoke with zero effort. I also needed to tune the bike, as there was not enough tension on the rear derailleur. Overall, it was a mid-level bike (~$2500 retail), that needs plenty of shop work. I did like the store, and the staff was friendly and willing to help. I would rent from them again as a bike ride on the Kona coast is truly priceless. You need to put into perspective that I am used to riding bikes in the 5k range that are kept in good working order.

highly recommended.. 

Review by tkm on 2/5/15 11:38 AM

rented specialized road bike from here for few days- I thought service, the bike quality and the price were all great- always remember to ride the bike and change gears to make sure everything is tuned up before you leave-

Bike Works Rocks.. 

Review by Ironman on 1/31/15 12:00 PM

I recently rented a tri-bike from Bike Works for a Play-Tri camp. They were awesome! I brought my own seat and pedals which they installed on the rental, then fitted the bike to my original specs. No issues. Their knowledge and service throughout the week was outstanding, answering many questions re: some of their tri gear in the store. I will definitely use them again on my next trip to the big island.

Mountain Bike.. 

Review by Shadey on 1/29/15 12:11 PM

Bike Works was recommended by our hotel concierge as the place to go for Bike Rental. I exclusively ride Mountain Bike and was told by the concierge that there wasn't much to offer on the Island of Hawaii. Boy were they wrong! Bike Works recommended some rides, I bought a trail book, and rented the 29'er full suspension Giant. Nice Bike! I ended up riding the ''Pine Trees" for a warm up on Tuesday and then rode the 43 mile Mana Road on Wednesday. It was an awesome ride that I would rate as more of an Advanced rated ride due to the length and remoteness of the terrain/road. Bike Works even provided a spare tube, tools, and a bike rack. Pretty much a full service bike shop with great customer support!

These Folks Are Great-Do Not Use Cycle Destinations (Oliver).. 

Review by Traveled From Boston on 1/22/15 9:01 AM

When Cycle Destinations cancelled my scheduled ride (on my 50th birthday) with basically no notice and unwilling to provide any alternative options (Oliver said they were the only bike shop in town, which is clearly not true) Bike Works came to the rescue with a great bike, a personal guide for the ride, and outstanding customer service. Bike Works helped make my birthday and my trip to the big island outstanding, I could not possibly give them a higher recommendation.

Great place to rent a bike to ride on the Big Island.. 

Review by Carl and Annie on 1/21/15 11:58 PM

We found Bike Works online while planning our first trip to Hawaii, called them up, and reserved a couple of bikes to ride. They have quite a selection of solid to high-end road bikes and we selected a Cannondale Evo and a Specialized Tarmac. We liked how all the rental bikes had names, Squidbilly and Sinatra in this case. The rental included helmets and a saddle bag with pump, tube, and patch kit. Having the helmets was nice, as they would have been large items to pack. Once we arrived, the service was great, including a fitting session on the trainer. Both bikes were well maintained and performed well. Although the frame and drivetrain were as advertised, the stem, handlebars, and wheels were nothing special, but perfectly functional. We were able to rent a bike rack for the rental car as well. Overall, a great experience and we would recommend Bike Works to anyone looking to ride while traveling to Hawaii.

I keep coming back.. 

Review by Jim on 1/21/15 6:13 PM

Nice bikes at good rates and prompt service keeps me coming back every time I'm on the Big Island.

Great bikes, with great service.. 

Review by Simon on 1/6/15 11:52 PM

Great bike shop with excellent rentals, good prices, and great services. Have rented there for 3 years in a row, and have never been disappointed. Highly recommend.

Good Experience.. 

Review by ShanghaiDavid on 1/4/15 8:03 PM

I used the online reservation for a 2 day weekend rental. So very easy. The Tri bike that they set up for me worked out great, no issues. Bike Works provided a loaner helmet and flat repair kit with the rental bike. I only brought my pedals and shoes. Everyone in the Kona shop that I dealt with was very friendly; at the front counter, the bike setup, the checkout experience. They even recommended some ride groups for me to join during my visit to the Big Island. I highly recommend Bike Works and I will use them again.

Great bike shop.. 

Review by KalokoTooSteep4Me on 12/30/14 11:12 AM

My wife and I rented two Cervelos R3s for three weeks. They were decent bikes; we enjoyed riding them although we did have a few minor problems: my wife's bike needed to have the seatpost replaced (it squeaked badly) and I broke a spoke on two consecutive days. The second time they gave me a new rear wheel and knocked a few bucks off our bill. Fortunately the problems we had didn't really impact our riding and the bike shop fixed us up right away. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. They took the time to give us each a good fit and showed us some good rides on the map. I would absolutely rent bikes here again, although I would try and get an 11 speed with a 11-28 or better. These hills are steep!

Tales of Zelda.. 

Review by ImLikeWhoa on 12/28/14 12:11 PM

The bike I rented was named Zelda --- She was a sleek black carbon mare with plenty of spirit and great feel for the road. Coming from my normal commuting biking on a good-enough bike, riding Zelda was a treat. The staff aims to give a top-of-the-line biking experience, and they succeed. They make sure the bike they rent you is in tune and right for you, with pedals you like. The experience was pricey but I didn't regret a dollar of it.


Back to information page

Copyright (C) 2008-2014